We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place To See Historic Arles”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Maison des Carmes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salon au rez de chaussée Maison Des Carmes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Salon au rez de chaussée
Maison Des Carmes
Chambre au rez de chaussée avec: 2 lits en 90cms et salle de bain avec douche italienne +wc
chambre 1er étage avec: 1lit pour 2 personnes et une salle de bain avec baignoire
chambre sur mezzanine au 2ième étage: donnant sur la terrasse
Salle de bain du rez de chaussée
Salle de bain du 1er étage
terrasse sur les toits
maison des Carmes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
JefF12311...
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place To See Historic Arles”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and our best man, with his wife, spent 8 great days in Patrick's home. We had plenty of room since we could use the loft bedroom for storage. The kitchen is great! It is big and we had several lunch sessions there. We always went to the corner bakery for bread, combined it with cheese and meat for breakfast. Patrick has an honor system coffee/ cafe maker and we had wonderful cups of coffee for .5 Euro. It was also a great meeting place at the end of the day for wine and cheese..

There is a two star Michlen restaurant within 50 feet. The Saturday market starts within 100 meters of our front door. It is within minutes of all the important stops in Arles.

The ground floor has a large bedroom, toilet and a separate large shower. The next floor has the kitchen, a Toilet, a bedroom with a bath tub and shower.

There is a loft bedroom on the top floor and a balcony with a nice table for a picnic. There is also a great washer and dryer connected to the balcony..

The decor is definitely Patrick's. There are several Madonnas Statues in the kitchen, for example

If we were coming back to Arles, this is the place to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Needed more shelf space
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtcamper
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this wonderful house for a week in early September to explore Provence from Arles and also enjoy the Feria de Riz in Arles. Patrick was a perfect host. Met us at the house, got us unlimited parking for the week at a nearby garage (€50), went with s there to ensure it worked, it did with his assistance.

The house is completely furnished in every detail. We were careful to replace used items, but there seemed to be no requirement to do so. The wifi works great on the ground floor in the living room, spotty elsewhere.

The ground floor consists of the entry, living room, bedroom and bath (great shower). The stairs to the second floor are a bit scary, as there is no handrail on the inside of the spiral staircase. We mastered it after a day or two and were taking groceries up it with relative ease once we got the hang of it.

The second floor has a bedroom, bath and powder room and the kitchen and eating area. The oven should have some directions for it, but other than that, it was completely stocked and perfectly functional. We Did figure out the oven, but. It took a little time.

The third floor is a loft bedroom, with another set of stairs without an inside bannister. The bedroom there looked very nice. From there it is only a few steps to the rooftop and views of the city, and a washer & dryer in its own closet.

The decor is all Patrick. There are Madonnas, statuary, wood carvings, Hindu gods, mannequins (or parts of them), and all of them entertaining, at least to us.

Location- Perfect!!!! In the heart of Arles, a block from the weekly (Saturday) marche, steps (less than ten) from a. Michelin starred restaurant, two minutes from one of the finest bakeries I found in all of France, and the street is relatively quiet at night.

It was the nicest place on our three week trip in Spain and France and we will always have fond memories of it. Seniors with mobility difficulties should likely not stay here, as there are many small steps even on the ground floor. For all others it is truly PERFECT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey W
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, fantastic home, fantastic host! Perfect for a family or small group of friends!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

My family and I totally enjoyed our stay here! It was a true home away from home. Lovely area, close to all the important sights and we always found parking for our car close by. The appartment is located in a quiet corner of a street so there is no noise to wake you up at night but with plenty of nice restaurants near and a grocery store, too, in case you prefer to stay home and cook. Not only the kitchen but the whole place is amply supplied with everything one could need to enjoy their stay there and in Arle. I would highly reccomend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: mi ha piaciuto tutta l'apartamento ed l'arredamento dentro
Liked least: non c'era niente che non mi ha piaciuto
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmfc2
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“perfect place to spend Christmas”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We like Arles and this property is right in the middle of the old town - metres away from the main square. The house was traditional but full of the owner's interesting features. The sleeping arrangements were fine for five of us adults; kitchen was modern, all reasonable features were available. Beds were comfortable, rooms were warm and spacious. We would return without hesitation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pia T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Ausstattung und Lage
Liked least: Wirklich rein gar nichts!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc...
Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la décoration
Liked least: l'endroit manque un peu de livres pour les intellectuels
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing