We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room was nice enough but no wifi”
Review of Campanile Arles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Arles
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The room we had was not in the same building as the reception. In fact it was the furthest building away from the reception, which meant although our room was nice and newly decorated, we had no wifi signal whatsoever.

Room Tip: ask for a room which is close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mshuttleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 177 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Good:
Very friendly staff. Good buffet dinner (if you prefer cold food) and nice choices of deserts. Didn't try the breakfast so not sure how that one is.
Clean Room. Quiet location. The long desk along the window provides lots of room for small items to be placed there. Enough charging power outlets. Free kettle in the room. The "closet" area has nice design that can fit quite few items as well. The standing shower is roomy.

The Bad:
When we arrived in the afternoon, the room has a stinky smell, it's like somebody just had their business in the toilet. The beds (single ones) are very uncomfortable, feels like you can roll off it any minute. You need to be absolutely still while sleeping.
One strange thing is, the room key needs to be updated every time we come back. It's such a hassle to walk 3 floors (no elevators) and realize the room key isn't working, and have to drag your tired feet all the way to the front desk. The lady at the front desk seemed to be used to this, so I am not sure if it's written somewhere that this is normal.
The internet is not stable. You might have to reconnect (the whole log in process) every 20 min or so.
Even though we enjoyed our buffet dinner there, we wish there could be hot food available. There's absolutely none. There's only 2 people running the show for the entire evening, and one of the have to attend the front desk as well. Feels like they are a bit understaffed. Comparing this one to the one we stayed few days before in Carcassone, this one is definitely not as good.

If you are not driving, I suggest not to stay at this hotel if you plan to explore Arles.

I would give it 2 star but the friendly people at the front desk bump it up to 3.

Room Tip: Call them early and ask for a ground floor. The upper floors are such a hassle to get to with those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michsyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This hotel is between two roads in a fairly quite location. It is reasonably new with nice clean rooms. It offers breakfast if you desire. The staff were very nice!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was a new style Campanile, nice rooms which are brighter than the older style ones. Had an excellent nights sleep even though the hotel is near a main road. Good car park and a bit of grass to walk our dog in the morning and evening. Drove into Arles, probably could walk if had more time available. Next to plenty of shops. Ate in campanile restaurant, staff let the dog in too, which was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcress79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Directly off the motorway on an industrial estate. 60's style accommodation reminiscent of Butlins during that era. Room small but clean. Tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Restaurant offers an evening meal however getting served is unlikely a staff did not appear to acknowledge guests. Buffet breakfast available at an additional cost; choice limited. The hotel is more geared up for business trade rather than tourists. The town is approximately a 20 minute walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonnepritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Just wanted to give an update to the last review. I had a reservation at the Campanile Arles for July 12, 2009 and was very worried after reading the last review. I couldn't change my hotel because there was a photography exhibit in Arles and all hotels were full, so I had no choice. I checked the sheets and mattress and they looked brand new. I have no doubt that the previous poster had problems with bed bugs. I just wanted to let people know that I did not see any and it looked to me like the hotel took measures to alleviate the problem. They were also very nice and helpful with a tour that I had scheduled. The hotel is a taxi ride away from the train station, so it is not central, but there is a restaurant there and I liked my meal very much.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Planejane955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We were 2 couples only for 1 night, a room to each couple.
The rooms where with a heavy cigarettes smell.
After We asked to change the room to a non smoking rooms, we've got other rooms, non smoking rooms, but with the same heavy smell.
Then we thought," Oh-well only one night, let's take a shower and go to sleep…".
We wished… after we fell asleep we woke up scratching. When we turn on the light we saw bed bugs all over.
We wanted to change the room immediately, but the hotel was full. The chambermaid, (didn't speak a word in English, of course..) gave us a germicidal and changed the sheets but we couldn't, of course, sleep all night. In the morning we told the reception clerk about the bugs he agreed to give us only 15% discount(?!?!?!?). We didn't want to pay at all, but after showed him the bugs photos In my camera, he changed his mind.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eliahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Arles
Ibis Arles
#29 of 56 in Arles
406 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Arles Palais des Congres
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Atrium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Arles Palais des Congres
5.2 mi away
Best Western Le Val Majour
Best Western Le Val Majour
#3 of 8 in Fontvieille
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Arles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Arles

Address: Rue Charlie Chaplin Zad De Fourchon, 13200, Arles, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Price Range: $62 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Arles 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking extérieur gratuit Réception ouverte 24h/24h Facilité pour les personnes à mobilité réduite Espace séminaire Espace "Lounge" Restauration en terrasse possible Proches commerces et accès voie rapide Restaurant jusqu'à 100 places assises Accueil groupe Hotel Climatisé ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Campanile Arles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing