We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting hotel, but remember to ask which room you are booked into...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel, but remember to ask which room you are booked into...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night here in June. The hotel is situated in some narrow street. We used GPS and passed it by the first time. Our room is on the top (fourth) floor, and there is no lift, which can be a problem if you got heavy luggages, which is our case. So remember to ask when you book the room.

Our room is split into 2 floors, the the bathroom at the lower floor and bedroom on top. Quite interesting really, although some may find it troublesome going up and down.

Good location to explore the town. We did not take the breakfast at hotel and there are plenty of cafés and restaurants within walking distance to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    251
    31
    13
    2
See reviews for
109
472
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was among the best accommodations we had on a 3-week journey around France. The hotel is centrally located, very near to the Roman ruins and the city center (also a quick walk from the train station). The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room was exceptional - spacious, tall ceilings with wood beams, large windows, comfortable furniture, and a clean modern bathroom. The breakfast is probably the weak link (pastry/carb-heavy with little protein), but the OJ was fresh-squeezed. If you find yourself in Arles - this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ContinentalWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel lies in the smack dab center of Nimes very near the Roman amphitheater. The hostess helped us find parking in the adjacent public parking lot as well as help us upstairs with our luggage. The rooms are very clean, but contain no frills or decorations worth speaking of. Our hostess helped us find good restaurants for dinner and with other creature comforts. While this is not the place one goes for a romatic get-away, it is conveniently located to the major tourist features.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Once upon a time (well in the 1980's) the term "boutique hotel" was used to describe a small hotel with a unique character and style - ideally the vision of its owner or designer. Now it simply denotes a small property with and underlit lobby, over-sized sofas and a receptionist with aspirations of becoming a model. This small hotel is true to the original idea of a boutique hotel. The warren of public rooms reflect the personal taste of the owner and the rooms are stylish... even eccentric. You may not like every element of the hotel, but you will certainly feel the character rather than the corporation behind the enterprise.

Room Tip: Access by car is not easy and parking unreliable. The large car park in Bvd des Lices is probably th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorinthianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The buildings are interesting and decorated to the owners' personal taste. I don't share that taste. In particular I did not like the "arty" photograph on the wall by my bed which was of a woman in stockings and suspenders apparently pleasuring herself, and yes, I do appreciate that for many people that sort of imagery will be a real selling point, so view it as a pro or con as you wish.
I did not find the staff helpful or welcoming.
The room was spacious and comfortable. The location was in the heart of the characterful old town and a few steps from the arena and theatre. While it is legally possible to drive to the hotel it is better not to if you value your wing mirrors. Park in the Parking du Centre on the Boulevard des Lices and walk through the park. The Boulevard is also the place to find the widest choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a fab hotel, room 28 is brilliant.
The location is superb. Decor is really lovely. Staff very helpful.
The parking is a problem, would suggest parking your car in the public multistorey car park on Boulevard des Lices then walking the 5 mins to the hotel, don't attempt to drive to the hotel!!!
Saying this, I would stay here again for sure as its a very nice hotel :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 120jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This has to be one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. Hôtel de l'Amphithéâtre is in the old town of Arles, a short walk from the Roman amphitheatre. The owners have turned what used to be a grand family house into a lovingly restored hotel, with a stunningly high quality.

We had the suite, with a terrace looking over a medieval rooftop scene -- quiet and beautiful. The room was furnished to a very high standard. Lovely.

French breakfasts consisted of freshly baked rolls, freshly squeezed juice, home-made jam and good coffee, with a soft background of opera in an elegant dining room (though the team will deliver it to your own room).

A great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite -- a bedroom with a separate sitting room and a terrace -- for not much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burkittg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atrium Arles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Property: Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Address: 5 rue Diderot, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#2 Business Hotel in Arles
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arles
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De L'Amphitheatre 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre
De l Amphitheatre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing