We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location, parking not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a fab hotel, room 28 is brilliant.
The location is superb. Decor is really lovely. Staff very helpful.
The parking is a problem, would suggest parking your car in the public multistorey car park on Boulevard des Lices then walking the 5 mins to the hotel, don't attempt to drive to the hotel!!!
Saying this, I would stay here again for sure as its a very nice hotel :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 120jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 828 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

This has to be one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. Hôtel de l'Amphithéâtre is in the old town of Arles, a short walk from the Roman amphitheatre. The owners have turned what used to be a grand family house into a lovingly restored hotel, with a stunningly high quality.

We had the suite, with a terrace looking over a medieval rooftop scene -- quiet and beautiful. The room was furnished to a very high standard. Lovely.

French breakfasts consisted of freshly baked rolls, freshly squeezed juice, home-made jam and good coffee, with a soft background of opera in an elegant dining room (though the team will deliver it to your own room).

A great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite -- a bedroom with a separate sitting room and a terrace -- for not much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burkittg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been renovated with incredible taste and style but in a low key way. Nice lounge and breakfast room beautiful staircase. Room was reasonably sized but had a very high ceiling that made it seem airy. Beautiful bathroom.

Owners are lovely and very helpful. Breakfast is expensive for what it is but of a good quality and standard. Jams and cheeses were fantastic. You have to let the owners know by 8 pm if you are going to have breakfast in the hotel the following morning. Hotel location was excellent.

This hotel is not for everyone. It is under stated and classy. It is intimate and private and I really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiswickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I really loved my stay at this charming hotel!
Ideally located just few meters from the Arles Amphitheatre (the huge Roman arena) this fantastic building has a very nice atmosphere, it's charming and has a great feeling (especially for a romantic gateway).
The room that was given to me was a standard double room. It was a little small, but still manageable and with all the comforts (air conditioning for summer, LCD TV and safe deposit box, free Wi-Fi). The bathroom is large and clean.
Breakfast (not included in the room rate) is very good, so consider to spend the 8,50 euros and get it. You will be offered viennoiseries, brioches, bread with marmalade, yogurt, fresh fruit juice and hot beverages.
Unfortunately there is no elevator in the hotel, so elder people should consider that.
The area is very nice and safe. A municipal parking could be easily found near the arena and costs less than 10 euros per day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silverino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our first hotel on a fairly long trip to Provence, so we had little to compare it to. But now having stayed in a half dozen hotels in the area, we can say that while we enjoyed our stay here, the hotel was over-priced (compared to other two-star hotels). That having been said, we had a great experience. The hotel is very centrally located in Arles (literally meters away from the amphitheatre), and we were surprised that some people said it was hard to find. It's on every map. The room was large, the air conditioning and wifi worked, and breakfasts were delicious and served in a lovely room. The bathroom was enormous, which compared well with others we experienced on this tour. We asked the hotel to recommend a restaurant and they made a terrific recommendation. Arles is a fantastic place to begin to explore the Camargue from, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank erictlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel in a great location.
Very pretty old building nicely furnished. It feels two stars above the current rating. Room are spacious and bathroom are modern. Great atmosphere. We did not have breakfast. Go for it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiovanniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Don't be put off by the very low key exterior to this hotel. You can walk right by it without knowing but when you go inside you are greeted with a really charming interior. We were looking for character in a hotel and got it. Room was of a good quality but a little small. Great location and able to walk to almost everything. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arles Plaza
Hotel Arles Plaza
#10 of 56 in Arles
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#9 of 56 in Arles
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Address: 5 rue Diderot, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#2 Business Hotel in Arles
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arles
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range: $74 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De L'Amphitheatre 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre
De l Amphitheatre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing