We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, interesting decor, an excellent base from which to explore Arles by foot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
263 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, interesting decor, an excellent base from which to explore Arles by foot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I strongly recommend staying at Hotel De L'Amphitheatre when exploring Arles, especially on foot (which is really the way to do it).

We drove to Arles and our GPS had us at the Roman amphitheater insisting we turn left onto Rue Diderot which was one-way in the wrong direction. It then offered another route when we turned around but we decided not to try for the hotel by car any more. We were fortunate to find parking right there in the small parking lot between the Roman amphitheater and the open-air theater ruins. We were able to park there overnight. Just be sure to put a new parking stub after 6PM or so and you can stay there until 09:59 then a 2 hour limit applies, I believe. We just rolled our luggage along Rue Diderot to the hotel passing the small open square mentioned by another reviewer that had a few parking spots (all occupied when we were there) and found the hotel down the street from the plaza. We were glad to be rolling only carry-on sized luggage.

The hotel occupies 2 buildings and you will see the signs on opposite buildings on Rue Diderot. Coming from the amphitheater the reception is in the building on the left. After you enter, immediately to your right, you will see the office. Check in was efficient and friendly. Across from the office is a lounge (or salon) and a passageway beyond that leads to other parts of the hotel The breakfast area is straight ahead down a stone-walled hall with large stone tiles underfoot and heavy wood beam ceiling above. We stayed at a suite but not the Belvidere suite. There is no elevator and so we carried our luggage up the stairs; the staff did offer assistance but we didn't need help. The stone and marble staircase was surprisingly wide and not too steep; we've experienced hauling luggage up flights of stairs far more challenging than these.

The suite was exactly as portrayed in the virtual tour on the hotel's website. You enter a living room with writing desk tucked away in the far wall. Interestingly although there is a large armoire for hanging our coats in it stands across the living room next to this desk, in stead of being right next to the main door. There is a couch and coffee table looking out onto the large picture windows opening onto the large balcony. The balcony has patio furniture and tables to relax at. The view is that of neighboring buildings but it does not seen that there are any windows looking onto the suite. We stayed out there for a little while but being March it was still too cold to remain there too long in the evenings. I can image how pleasant it must be to have some wine out there in the summer. Not facing the street would made for a quiet stay, though Rue Diderot was not a bustling street.

Turn right after you enter the suite and you then pass through a short hall into the bedroom. The bedroom window looks back at the balcony. We had a queen-sized bed that was comfy, A flat-screen TV was mounted on the wall across from the bed. There were end-tables and lamps on both sides of the bed. There is a sizable bathroom with separate bath tub and shower stall. Note, however, that the shower hose/head come from the bathtub and not from the shower stall. Fortunately you don't have to reach over very far. It was a little surprising, at first, but the system worked just fine. There were bathrobes available. Water pressure was good.

The wifi, however, was unreliable

Breakfast was a continental affair served efficiently to you at your table. There is no buffet, but there was enough to eat and drink - a pot of freshly-brewed coffee, milk, fresh fruit juice, small baguette, Viennoiseries (pastries), butter, jams, small madeleines, yoghurt - to keep you fueled for an entire morning. If you have the time you should walk around town and find a place for breakfast (consider browsing your way through the open-air market - more on that below), but at €8.50 and the convenience of eating at the hotel we had no second thoughts having breakfast at the hotel.

We were happy with a restaurant recommendation given us one night for dinner: "Le 16" The restaurant was a short walk away, at least once we found our bearings. The Roman amphitheater and antique theater are just down the block. The Plaza de la Republique with city hall and the church of St. Trophime is nearby. The large public parking structure is down the hill by the Blvd des Lices and is a good option for guests especially those with larger cars (I found the Ford Focus a little too large for the narrow streets in the center of Arles)

Let me throw this in: go the the market. On Wednesdays and Saturdays the open air market (Le Marché d'Arles) takes place along the Blvd des Lices. We were simply lucky to come upon the market on a sunny early spring day and it was a blast browsing in a true "French Market" As mentioned earlier you could make this your breakfast, buying bread, cheese, fruit and eating it all at a park across the boulevard (between Blvd des Lices and the Roman theater).

For those of you still into snail mail and sending postcards, the post office is across from the park.

I can see how Hotel De L'Amphitheatre technically rates 2-stars in terms of the lack of an elevator, room service, restaurant, fitness center or pool, and a dedicated car park among other amenities. If you want all of that look elsewhere. What you will get when you stay here is friendly and helpful service and, if you book the suite, very good accommodations, as well as a good breakfast. The hotel is quaint and interesting. Thrown in the central location to this mix and you have a a combination that can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImmerWandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    249
    31
    13
    2
See reviews for
108
471
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canet-en-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Looked for a hotel that would put us right in the centre of Arles so we could park the motorbikes for the night. A small open square next to hotel meant we could chain the bikes up and no parking fees.

Walking into the hotel and you get a good feeling, warm welcome and very nice lower floor in the hotel. As others have said, no lift so bear that in mind if you require it.

We had room 10, standard double, which is on the second floor (overlooking the square where our bikes were sitting which was a bit of comfort).

It was only when we went into the room that you get the reminder that this is a 2• hotel. Don't get me wrong, if the public areas were not so well done it would have been in keeping with the 2• rating. The public areas lure you into thinking you are in a higher grade hotel.

Basic room and facilities but clean and comfortable so no complaints from me. The amphitheatre is about a minute walk so would imagine at tourist periods there would be noise outside but this was winter so all calm.

Breakfast was a little on the expensive side for a continental but all the items were brand names so no corners cut. It was not a buffet style but were asked if we wanted anything else during breakfast and left well fed and watered.

I always like to try other hotels if I go somewhere more than once but it's good to know you have a good place you already know should you not find anything else that takes your fancy. This is my second time in Ales and second time I have had a hotel I would return to if nothing came up I thought might be worth trying.
One good parting shot from the hotel was a name and number to call if we wanted to book again with €30 off the superior room prices high or low season. Guess most people would be travelling through so never use it but I live 2-3 hours away so always possible I will be here again. Nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is tucked down a narrow street, although there is no parking don't be put off, it was possible to squeeze the car up close to the building, take our luggage into the hotel and book in. As we had requested a parking space in the nearby car park when we booked we were given a card for the machine and a map with directions to the car park (8Euro per night pay at the Hotel on departure) which was on the main street - so easy to find, and only a short walk back to the hotel. The hotel was super, very grand, our room was large and clean with a sitting area and coffee table. The staff we spoke to were happy and helpful. We arrived by car from Montpellier (N572) and with the aid of our sat nav found the hotel which is a turn left off the main street between the line of cafes, if you are lucky you will see the sign to the hotel on the wall at the entrance of the street. Nice hotel recommended we did not have breakfast so cannot comment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggbap47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a great hotel with excellent staff complimented by a great breakfast. Getting to the hotel by car through narrow streets interesting if you have a big car. Use the hotel option of parking at the central car park on the boulevard des lices. Book via the hotel, their rate is cheaper than parking ticket at the entrance. Car park shuts 2000 and all day Sunday and Holidays. You can get your out. Secure car park. Rooms well kitted out as are the public rooms. I would stay again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard187257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The room is very confortable. The place is extremely well located. A few steps from the amphitheatre of course, but also in the heart of the old city, near the Van Gough sites.

The breakfast is ok. There are no fresh stuff, like fruits or juices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleksvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in the Belvedere Suite at hotel De l'ampitheatre for 4 nights in Feb 2013. The room is spacious and has great views. The heating worked ok and the shower was fantastic- surprised how good the plumbing was and wifi connection was fast and reliable. However, the bed was not as comfortable and only blankets provided (not duvets). The bathroom of this suite is down a spiral staircase and in the middle of the night, it could get tricky- I missed a few steps but luckily held on to the railing and only got bruised on my arm. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room, and bottled water is charged euro 1.50. The breakfast is fantastic at euro10, breads, egg, juice, cheese and yoghurt...all in a peaceful setting- the waitress was also friendly and efficient. One of the men at reception was welcoming but the other two (I believe are the owners) were unfriendly. You would also have to lug your luggage up staircases since there's no lift, and narrow streets means a challenge finding parking. But overall, the charm of the hotel, the fast wifi, great breakfast and location won me over.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LooseFruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Comfortable room. Bathroom was a few steps up, which was odd, but still very nice. Huge decorated lobby. Great location. For tour groups, the restaurant served poor food. All in all a nice experuebce,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MellowTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Jules Cesar Arles MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#5 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atrium Arles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Property: Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Address: 5 rue Diderot, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#2 Business Hotel in Arles
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arles
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De L'Amphitheatre 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel De L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre
De l Amphitheatre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing