We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel for Gladiators” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Canet-en-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hotel for Gladiators”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Looked for a hotel that would put us right in the centre of Arles so we could park the motorbikes for the night. A small open square next to hotel meant we could chain the bikes up and no parking fees.

Walking into the hotel and you get a good feeling, warm welcome and very nice lower floor in the hotel. As others have said, no lift so bear that in mind if you require it.

We had room 10, standard double, which is on the second floor (overlooking the square where our bikes were sitting which was a bit of comfort).

It was only when we went into the room that you get the reminder that this is a 2• hotel. Don't get me wrong, if the public areas were not so well done it would have been in keeping with the 2• rating. The public areas lure you into thinking you are in a higher grade hotel.

Basic room and facilities but clean and comfortable so no complaints from me. The amphitheatre is about a minute walk so would imagine at tourist periods there would be noise outside but this was winter so all calm.

Breakfast was a little on the expensive side for a continental but all the items were brand names so no corners cut. It was not a buffet style but were asked if we wanted anything else during breakfast and left well fed and watered.

I always like to try other hotels if I go somewhere more than once but it's good to know you have a good place you already know should you not find anything else that takes your fancy. This is my second time in Ales and second time I have had a hotel I would return to if nothing came up I thought might be worth trying.
One good parting shot from the hotel was a name and number to call if we wanted to book again with €30 off the superior room prices high or low season. Guess most people would be travelling through so never use it but I live 2-3 hours away so always possible I will be here again. Nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    243
    30
    13
    2
See reviews for
107
458
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is tucked down a narrow street, although there is no parking don't be put off, it was possible to squeeze the car up close to the building, take our luggage into the hotel and book in. As we had requested a parking space in the nearby car park when we booked we were given a card for the machine and a map with directions to the car park (8Euro per night pay at the Hotel on departure) which was on the main street - so easy to find, and only a short walk back to the hotel. The hotel was super, very grand, our room was large and clean with a sitting area and coffee table. The staff we spoke to were happy and helpful. We arrived by car from Montpellier (N572) and with the aid of our sat nav found the hotel which is a turn left off the main street between the line of cafes, if you are lucky you will see the sign to the hotel on the wall at the entrance of the street. Nice hotel recommended we did not have breakfast so cannot comment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggbap47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a great hotel with excellent staff complimented by a great breakfast. Getting to the hotel by car through narrow streets interesting if you have a big car. Use the hotel option of parking at the central car park on the boulevard des lices. Book via the hotel, their rate is cheaper than parking ticket at the entrance. Car park shuts 2000 and all day Sunday and Holidays. You can get your out. Secure car park. Rooms well kitted out as are the public rooms. I would stay again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard187257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The room is very confortable. The place is extremely well located. A few steps from the amphitheatre of course, but also in the heart of the old city, near the Van Gough sites.

The breakfast is ok. There are no fresh stuff, like fruits or juices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleksvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in the Belvedere Suite at hotel De l'ampitheatre for 4 nights in Feb 2013. The room is spacious and has great views. The heating worked ok and the shower was fantastic- surprised how good the plumbing was and wifi connection was fast and reliable. However, the bed was not as comfortable and only blankets provided (not duvets). The bathroom of this suite is down a spiral staircase and in the middle of the night, it could get tricky- I missed a few steps but luckily held on to the railing and only got bruised on my arm. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room, and bottled water is charged euro 1.50. The breakfast is fantastic at euro10, breads, egg, juice, cheese and yoghurt...all in a peaceful setting- the waitress was also friendly and efficient. One of the men at reception was welcoming but the other two (I believe are the owners) were unfriendly. You would also have to lug your luggage up staircases since there's no lift, and narrow streets means a challenge finding parking. But overall, the charm of the hotel, the fast wifi, great breakfast and location won me over.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LooseFruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Comfortable room. Bathroom was a few steps up, which was odd, but still very nice. Huge decorated lobby. Great location. For tour groups, the restaurant served poor food. All in all a nice experuebce,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MellowTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great location just beside the ampitheatre (obviously!) and within walking distance of everything. lovely decor, friendly staff, great price. can't fault the hotel, would definately go back if we ever returned to Arles. Parking was a bit of a nightmare.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaisyDaisy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 59 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#5 of 59 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atrium Arles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Property: Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Address: 5 rue Diderot, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arles
#2 Business Hotel in Arles
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De L'Amphitheatre 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre
De l Amphitheatre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing