We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in the Belvedere Suite at hotel De l'ampitheatre for 4 nights in Feb 2013. The room is spacious and has great views. The heating worked ok and the shower was fantastic- surprised how good the plumbing was and wifi connection was fast and reliable. However, the bed was not as comfortable and only blankets provided (not duvets). The bathroom of this suite is down a spiral staircase and in the middle of the night, it could get tricky- I missed a few steps but luckily held on to the railing and only got bruised on my arm. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room, and bottled water is charged euro 1.50. The breakfast is fantastic at euro10, breads, egg, juice, cheese and yoghurt...all in a peaceful setting- the waitress was also friendly and efficient. One of the men at reception was welcoming but the other two (I believe are the owners) were unfriendly. You would also have to lug your luggage up staircases since there's no lift, and narrow streets means a challenge finding parking. But overall, the charm of the hotel, the fast wifi, great breakfast and location won me over.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LooseFruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 837 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Comfortable room. Bathroom was a few steps up, which was odd, but still very nice. Huge decorated lobby. Great location. For tour groups, the restaurant served poor food. All in all a nice experuebce,

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MellowTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great location just beside the ampitheatre (obviously!) and within walking distance of everything. lovely decor, friendly staff, great price. can't fault the hotel, would definately go back if we ever returned to Arles. Parking was a bit of a nightmare.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaisyDaisy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the hotel itself is very nice esp in the common areas which are a stylish mix of old and new.
very conveniently located, prices are fair, people there are very helpful and welcoming so it really makes sense to go there!

Room Tip: the bigger the room the better: we had the last available room which was smallish but we heard amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gianfausti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

What a lovely hotel in a magical town. Spotless rooms with a french flare, walking distance to everything. Great hosts and decent breakfast for a nominal fee. We stayed there in early September and would definately go back. Arles was special and made even more fantastic by staying at this character hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor had a view over the rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stokolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

In the middle of a warren of narrow streets, many of them pedestrianised. Contrary to reports elsewhere, the hotel does not have a parking garage. Clients are advised to park (free) on the boulevards, but not when the mid week or Saturday markets take place. There is a secure (paying) multi storey nearby. The hotel occupies 2 buildings which have been modernised recently. The annex has one room on each of four or five floors, and no elevator. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Breakfast is excellent. WiFi signal in our room was often so weak as to be useless.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My fiance and I stayed in L'Amphitheatre for just one night in early September. We booked Belvedere suite as was recommended by our friends who stayed here previously. We arrived really late but the hosts left us the keys and directions at the reception so we had no trouble getting in. Going up to the 3rd floor without the elevator with heavy bags was no mean feat but at the end we were rewarded by one of the most awesome hotel rooms we've seen so far! The bathroom was at the lower level and was clean, beautifully decorated, with fluffy towels and two bath robes (always love this nice touch). Then up another small staircase and... we are in a huge room with 9(!) windows literally making it look like we're at the top of a castle tower :) And then there is the gorgeous view over Arles and red roofs - amazing both at night and in the morning. Perfectly romantic... and all of this for only 125 euros, quite cheap in comparison to a lot of other hotels we stayed at
The hotel has free Wi-Fi, and there is paid parking available on the street nearby or at a paid public parking several blocks away. L'Amphitheatre is in the heart of the old city so everything is within walking distance.
We would love to come back soon and would definitely stay in Belvedere again - thanks for a great experience!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend Belvedere room - it's unique, beautiful and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arles Plaza
Hotel Arles Plaza
#10 of 56 in Arles
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Acacias
Hotel Acacias
#17 of 56 in Arles
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Address: 5 rue Diderot, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#2 Business Hotel in Arles
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arles
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range: $77 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De L'Amphitheatre 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel De L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre
De l Amphitheatre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing