We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very small room but in city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor ratings. The positives: It is in the heart of the city, close to everything; the public areas (lobby, courtyard, dining room, etc) are very charming and nicely decorated; it has been renovated. I had high expectations due to all the good reviews I read. However, upon arrival, we found that our room was somehwat disappointing. It was tiny, fit only a double bed (not a queen bed) and that's about it. It's good that both my husband and I are skinny people, or I would imagine there would be trouble fitting two people comfortably on that bed. There is no extra space to maneuver in the room otherwise. The bathroom was also very small, and it had a tiny shower with curtain that does not keep water in, so the whole bathroom floor gets wet when you take a shower. Hot water is plentiful though. This room was the smallest of all of our hotel/B&B rooms we booked on our 16 day trip to France and Italy, and it was probably the least comfortable. Its size was equivalent to the tiny hotel rooms we find in big cities like Seoul or Tokyo, where space is premium. If you are only staying one or two nights in a room this size, it is probably ok. Otherwise, get something bigger.

Although the hotel is in the city center, it is located on a quiet street, and the windows are double paned. We did not have any trouble with noise at all even with the window open all night. The room gets quite stuffy when the windows are not opened.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentFlyerAlso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 842 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Would stay again. Clean, friendly, spatious. For the price it is a no-brainer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrotonastick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a very charming and characterful hotel with an artistic ambience, very much in keeping with the area of Arles in which it is situated. I felt at home as soon as I arrived for a 6-night stay, and comfortable throughout. The B&B hotel is a stone's throw from the Place de l'Amphitheatre which has a good choice of affordable restaurants for dinner. There is no side street parking close by, and arriving in what seemed like a maze of narrow streets was a bit daunting; but front desk advised me on where there is free parking within walking distance except on market days. French breakfast is 8 euros. The staff were pleasant and helpful, room very clean with nice en-suite, and free wi-fi was a plus. The only minus point for me was no tea or coffee making faciilities in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLP184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed at Hotel De L'Amphitheatre at the first week of May. The hotel is situated at the center of the old city and is a walking distance from the main restaurants area and from the local sights. The hotel loby and dining area is classy although can be a bit stuffy at night. The room I slept in was small, suitable for one person but crowded for a couple. The shower was also very small for my taste. the room was very clean and nicely furnished.
Altogether a very nice and decently priced hotel for your stay in Arles.

Just a heads-up. It is preferable not to aproach by car as the city streets can be very narrow. There are good parking locations a walking distance away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmirArnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We spent 5 nights and were very happy with our choice. The location is excellent making super easy access to sights, restaurants, etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful, probably my number one criteria for a hotel. I quickly forget a bed, but remember smiling faces. Our room was huge, with spacious bath and separate toilet area. Quite comfortable and well .and supplied each day. Breakfast or coffee is available. I would recommend without hesitation. A great value for the money. Reduced parking in the city garage for guests. Arles made a good base for train and car travel around Provence

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DguyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel was lovely. The staff were absolutely superb and polite. We took the last room, which was small as they warned us but we were happy with it as we were tired, especially with lower cost too. Lobby makes you feel like you are living in a 1500s castle. Such a pleasant surprise in the heart of gorgeous Arles. We will surely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed for two nights in March 2012 in "Belvedere" - which as the name suggests is a good room for views over the rooftops of Arles. It had windows on all sides, which might make it a bit hot in summer, but it seemed to have an air-conditioning unit. The room was decorated simply but well and it felt very clean. The room is accessed by its own staircase up from the second floor, finishing with a wooden spiral staircase (so not a room to choose if you don't like steps). The bathroom is on a mezzanine level under the bedroom. It was very quiet (the street outside was also quiet).

The hotel is well located for the main sights in Arles (including the Amphitheatre from which it takes its name). It was also easy to get to from the motorway. Negotiatiing the narrow streets round the hotel was a bit tricky and the hotel does not have any parking. We left the car briefly outside to unload and then parked in the local multistorey carpark, 5 minutes walk away. The hotel has a special daily rate there. We had problems with the card the hotel gave us for this and the staff refunded the extra we had paid without us asking.

I expect that some of the rooms on lower floors may be a bit dark and not have much of a view as the buildings are all close together. We didn't use the common areas, but there appeared to be computers and free wifi access.

This is not a luxury hotel, but we found it clean, comfortable, well-priced and the staff were helpful. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: "Belvedere" is at the top of the hotel with windows on all sides, accessed by its own stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMLQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Atrium
0.3 mi away
Hotel Acacias
Hotel Acacias
#17 of 56 in Arles
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#11 of 56 in Arles
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Address: 5 rue Diderot, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#2 Business Hotel in Arles
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arles
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range: $86 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De L'Amphitheatre 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel De L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre
De l Amphitheatre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing