We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel close to the center”
Review of Hotel Constantin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Constantin
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Europe
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Okay hotel close to the center”
Reviewed June 6, 2009

The hotel Constantin is an okay hotel for a few nights. You can reserve a parking spot but be aware: if you have a bigger car it is not possible to use this parking as it is small and the street is packed with other cars... There is a free parking right next to the hotel and luckily nothing happend to our car there. It's about 10 Minutes walk by foot to the city center. If you have a room to the backyard it is quiet. The room has an airconditioning and TV. Otherwise rather old; especially the bed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    79
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
38
104
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Russia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Great location, very cosy and nice hotel, friendly staff and good value for money, ideal for exploring the city and the region. Rooms are decorated in Provencal stile, rather small but with a good view and in suite bath and interesting decor, no elevator though. Free parking outside the hotel is handy and safe for the hotel.
The hotel owner was supplying the free umbrella in the rainy day.

Overall great for Arles, nice for the region, easy to find and not too crowded around.

Perfect stay

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VitPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Pretty, family run hotel five minutes walk from the historic centre of Arles. The owner was very friendly and helpful (advice about restaurants etc) and spoke good English. The rooms are simple but very clean and have modern heating/air conditioning. Delicious breakfast (charged extra as usual in France) with homemade jams. For the price this was an amazing hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing really!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

A wonderfully friendly family run 2 star hotel. Situted adjacent to Arles historic area, it is convenient. The owners provide a well run, clean & hospitable facility. We had a double room on the 1st floor. Thankfully, the room had airconditioning which we were encouraged to use. The double glazed windows also help insulate from the summer heat and humidity. Like the rest of the hotel, the room was clean and beautifully maintained. The bed was firm and very comfortable. There is no room safe for valuables, but was very confidently told that the hotel in itself is safe and secure, which it is.

Arles is a terrific small town full of history but not overwhelming. It is a nice spot to relax and enjoy. A favourite restaurant for us was restaurant L'Andaluz (far side of ampitheatre) has great views, food and service.

We wondered about the Bull Races, thought maybe would be for tourists only. However, hotel owners urged us to go, even provided some cushions to take (stone seats). And what a good fun night it was!

Museum Arlaten is worth a look. Gives a good indication to the history of the region.

We can recommend Hotel Constantin with confidence to anybody on a budget, or without a budget, for that matter!

  • Liked — Friendliness, great service, nice breakfast and well priced
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Westbrook_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2007

I researched extensively before booking this hotel in Arles. A friend and I decided to take a little trip to France over winter break and we had to make sure that we got all the bang we could for our buck.

The Hotel Constantin was a very nice place to stay. After a few nights in Paris in a rather dirty little place, it was very nice to open the door, after a long day of traveling, to a clean, neat, and well decorated little room. The young woman at the reception desk was friendly and helpful, the bathroom looked somewhat new and was actually rather large as compared to the others we experianced in Europe over the course of the trip. We rented a Single/Double room, which was, if I remember correctly 2 euro less then the true Double room. For us, two students who were basicaly only in the room to sleep, this was fine, but I can certainly see older couples complaining that the room would be too small- for them I would recommend a true Double. The hotel is also well located, not quite in the old town, but only a street over.

A very pleasent stay for a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — The light coming through the curtains in the morning
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sydneyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#6 of 56 in Arles
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arles Plaza
Hotel Arles Plaza
#12 of 56 in Arles
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Regence
Le Regence
#13 of 56 in Arles
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Constantin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Constantin

Property: Hotel Constantin
Address: 59 boulevard de Craponne, 13200, Arles, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Constantin 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Constantin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantin Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing