We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good italian restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Pizzeria La Mamma

Restaurant Pizzeria La Mamma
Ranked #52 of 255 Restaurants in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Very good italian restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Really nice and charming place run by two sympathetic italians. The pizza is excellent and if you wanna try a dessert give the homemade tiramisu a try.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dschank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    84
    23
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, UK
Level Contributor
193 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good pizzas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We ate here three times out of our six nights in Arles. Pizzas are very good if you like the real, thin Italian-type pizzas. I had the vongole each time (seafood) although I requested it without cheese. The papeton of aubergine was also very good as a starter. Total cost was €47 for one starter, two pizzas, one dessert & one coffee and a litre of house wine. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Voigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming, wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This cozy little spot had some of the best food we enjoyed in the course of a week-long trip to Provence. The (I think) owner spent quite a bit of time chatting with us and telling us about how she'd moved from Italy and opened the restaurant -- it was like dining at a good friend's house rather than a restaurant! Hope it's still there when we go back again!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DancesWithWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Hosts, Speedy Service, Great Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I'd assume that any retaurant within whistling distance of the Amphiteater would be a tourist trap, but this little Italian owned pizzaria was a find on a number of fronts. The owner/waistaff were great hosts, naturally slow with their French that would break into Italian with few misunderstandings as an odd result. And speed: it seemed we had hardly ordered when it came fresh and hot from the oven. We had pizzas – mine a delicious salty combination of anchovy, tuna and capers, my friend's a gorgous arrangement of tomatoes and round slices of mozzarella. The crust is crispy and thin, shattering in cracker like bits that are impossible to leave behind. We left our ample plates empty. There are plenty of pasta dishes on the menu to choose from as well.We made reservations for our large group to have our last meal here and they were able to set a table several night later for a party of 16. Intimate, crowded and happy with the same expert, fast, and congenial service.

The small alley leading into Douhey Plaza is lined with tables and chairs on each side for the various restaurants, and while hunting for food that would reflect the full geography of Arles – beyond tapas and sea bass and goat cheese and tomato taretine – we spied platters of hummous and pita and cucumbers on tables outside a restaurant called P ____________. I opted for the larger platter, “Degustation” for 13 euros and welcomed generous portions of all that and more: potato, eggplant, and the best falafel I have ever had (having been a vegetarian for nearly 10 years, this is meaningful). Reasonable, well presented in a charmingly crowded lane in the northwest quarter of the city center.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rambleandwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best pizzeria in Arles, and maybe in all of France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

My wife and I asked a local resident for a pizza recommendation and the man said try La Mamma. The place was listed neither in TripAdvisor nor in our Rick Steves or Fodor's France guides.

The owner is from Milan and greeted us with a warm smile. Fresh bread and olive oil were brought to the table right away as well as a bottle of chilled tap water. We ordered the pizza with artichokes, onions and mushroms (freshly cut and prepares) and it was stunningly good and authentic. We literally savored every bite. The pizza was accompanied by a bottle of olive oil infused with fresh peppers that we were told is for dripping on the pizza. Both my wife and I could not remember ever having pizza this fresh and yummy in in Italy or in France.

After the meal, we ordere a slice of tiramisu made on the premises. Again, stunningly good.

We spent time in Paris, Arles, Vaison-la-Romaine and Lyon. Both of us agrees that La Mamma was one of our two best meals in France (the other being A Cote in Atles)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jzimme6084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Pizzeria La Mamma also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Fontvieille, Arles
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Restaurant Pizzeria La Mamma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing