We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Staffed with a sprinkling of American students, the hotel could not be more perfectly situated, with everything you would want to see within easy walking distance. Right next to the Roman arena. Lovely inner courtyard. Accommodating staff. Good food. An interesting variety of rooms (traveled with a group). What's not to like? You could do worse. I'm not sure you could do better. They create a great atmosphere. When I think of this hotel, I smile.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wonderful hotel located in the heart of town within an easy walk to all the sights and good restaurants. Our room was large, clean and overlooked the forum. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of items and the garden was a quiet oasis in which to sit in the evening and enjoy a glass of wine. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danish07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you first of all for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the time among us and appreciated your room and the quality of service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in the oasis of the Hotel Le Calendal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Unfortunately, we stayed only one night because we had a family emergency and had to return home. Even with this short stay, we were charmed by this quaint hotel. The staff, especially Barbara, was extremely helpful and understanding our situation. We had to leave at 4:30am the next morning and the staff who was setting up breakfast made coffee just for my wife and me and provided us with fresh baked croissants. The room was clean with a small sitting area and a small patio with a comfortable bed. The garden patio looked very invited with a soothing sound of a water fountain. The location of this hotel is perfect. You can walk to most areas on the map and with many restaurants close by. I would recommend this hotel to any visitor to Arles who wants to make this town a base for visiting Provence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azadhusain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for posting your comment on the website Trip advisor.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short time with us and that you appreciated our services and our staff. We will share your comment with the team.

The location of the hotel is in the heart of the city between the arena and the antic theatre.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in the hotel Le Calendal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed three nights in August and had a very good experience. Everything said about the staff is true--they are extremely helpful and work hard to make your stay enjoyable. The location of the hotel can't be beat, but know that the central town of Arles is very small and EVERYTHING is in walking distance wherever you stay. The only thing keeping us from rating our stay a 5 was the room itself. The room was clean, the size was fine by European room standards and the bathroom was entirely adequate, BUT we had an interior room facing other rooms up two winding flights of stairs at the end of a dark hallway and we felt sort of trapped. It was hard to keep the shutters open because other rooms could see right in. If we had stayed in a room with an exterior view of ANYTHING, we would have been much happier. Stay here, but be very specific in your choice of rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior facing room. Ask NOT to have a room facing other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank park60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for taking the time and posting a comment about the
Hotel Le Calendal.
It ‘s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the city, that everything is walking distance, the hotel and its services.
But most of all thank you for leaving a comment about the staff. It’s always a pleasure to read that the staff is helpful and works hard to make your stay enjoyable.
They will be notified right away.
The hotel is built in old buildings which explains that the rooms can seem smaller to American standards.
The hotel offers different views, the garden, the arena, the antic theatre, and small street close to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

When we arrived we were offered the choice of three different rooms. There were no lifts so we chose the one with a small courtyard and on the ground floor adjacent to the courtyard used to seat people for breakfast and lunch. The entire staff was welcoming, very helpful, and not intrusive. One even rode with us to the off-site parking garage to make sure that we returned without difficulty. We ate breakfast and lunch there. Both were well priced and substantial. The lack of liveried servants at a Ritz-Carlton was made up by the attentiveness and helpfulness of the staff. It also was well priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights on business in this charming hotel just next to the Forum in Arles. Had wonderful view of Forum in the evening light from room, comfortable bed. Nice clean bathroom. And run by really kind helpful staff. The courtyard is a delight with sound of water in the fountain, and shade of palm trees. Good simple breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranelaghandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Calendal for 3 nights before going on to our rented house near Carpentras. We received a great welcome from the staff at reception who gave us detailed instructions about parking the car which turned out to be very easy. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and very quiet. The hotel is in a perfect location and has a lovely, friendly atmosphere. We would recommend the Calendal to anyone wanting to stay in Arles.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arles Plaza
Hotel Arles Plaza
#10 of 56 in Arles
402 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range: $110 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. The Comptoir du Calendal is the perfect place to have simple homemade soups salads quiches gratins .... and wonderful organic bread sandwiches some even available for vegetarians. The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . Home away from home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing