We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our four nights at Le Calendal. The hotel staff is excellent and very friendly, as noted by other reviewers. Our room (# 43) was spacious and comfortable, with two small balconies overlooking the Roman arena across the street. The bathroom in our room was a bit odd in that you had to step up at the entrance, and up again to get to the toilet . . . not a problem for us but could be challenging for those who have difficulties with stairs. The common areas of the hotel were very inviting and there was a lovely landscaped outdoor courtyard with tables and chairs. The buffet breakfast was very good and there was a separate small cafe with lunch and snack items available at other times of the day. There are several good restaurants immediately adjacent to the hotel (try Le Criquet and Chez Felix, in particular) and the central commercial area is a short walk away. Arles is a very pleasant town and Le Calendal serves as an ideal home base from which to explore it all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestEndTraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We has two nights at this hotel. It is in a superb location so everything is walkable.

Rooms were comfortable.

The main reason to stay is the wonderful welcome you receive, the customer services is most certainly excellent.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SotoPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent location and value. Close by all the sights and walking distance to restaurants. Natalie was a sweetheart who helped us with everything and all staff we encountered were just the best! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankhugus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Le Calendal makes an excellent choice for a relaxing and memorable visit to Arles. We stayed for 3 nights and wished we had stayed longer. It is equipped with modern comforts while retaining it's cozy charm. There is a 24 hr. counter where we ordered tasty pastries, hot chocolate, coffee, sandwiches, and fresh quiches on several occasions. The Spa is wonderful! I was very excited to have such a nice place to soak in and unwind after a long day of sightseeing, especially with the fantastic view to the Coliseum. The staff were all very helpful and could speak great English. I had several loads of laundry done by the hotel and everything was done well. The room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. We used Le Calendal as our home base and where able to easily catch the train to nearby places like Avignon in 45 minutes or so. The train station is only a 10 minute walk away. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were so thankful to have found Hotel Le Calendal because the place we reserved originally,Le Galerie Huit was a huge dissapointment (dirty and unkept) and we were thankful to get out of there and lucky we had no deposit. Lucky for us Le Calendal had a room for three available for the two nights. It is more of a typical hotel like you would find in the USA, and probably only a 3 star but in Arles it was I think one of the nicest you could find. Arles, as Rick Steves suggests is a gritty work a day place and I am not sure we would make it our base town if we ever go again. The location of the hotel to the town is perfect because it's just across from the coliseum which was having a parade and annual celebration the night we happen to be there. The staff was most helpful too. Our room on the opposite side away from the coliseum was quiet. Loved the courtyard seating for breakfast too. They also have bikes ( I think) that you can use, but I am not sure. Arles is a central location for visiting the hilltowns and its big enough to have something to look at and explore as compared to many of the smaller towns in Provence.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirsttimeinItalyFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of it- it has a variety of rooms from singles to doubles all the way up to small apartments at great prices. It's a nice, cozy hotel in an excellent location with knowledgeable staff that are French but speak great English and are more than willing to help any way they can. It's not a new, not fancy but it is clean and has everything you want. We looked at other hotels that were very fancy and about 3x the price and they lacked breakfast buffets and wifi in every room. Our wifi here was very reliable and FREE- imperative for traveling in this day an age where we used the internet to plan our daily treks through provence, buy tickets and investigate stuff. Bonus craziness was that this place has a free spa- sauna, steam room and heated pool. Its a great respite after local travel or just to chill.

Pros- staff is helpful and speak English, reliable wifi all over that is free, printing station, decent buffet for easy ams, cheap sandwiches, good location in Provence, great views
Cons- not the newest but for price, the rooms are way above average

Room Tip: Inquire about what types of rooms they have available. We had an amazing view of the arena but other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed two nights this week and loved Calendal. The staff truly care about their guests and offer continuous supportive service. Room #2 was very large with high ceiling and with a view over the Antique Theatre. We had a Sunday night special which included two back massages and breakfast buffet....well worth the price for our tired traveling backs. The spa is amazing with a large deep whirlpool and a great temperature; I.e., not too hot so we were able to relax and stretch for quite a while. The steam room and shower rooms just as wonderful. Towels and bathrobes included and sitting in the whirlpool overlooking the Arena was priceless. Dinner at Querida was worth the entire trip, try the chicken with roasted peppers, chorizo and manchego cheese. Delicious!

Room Tip: Bed was very comfortable with new mattress and a good size. Room 2 was quiet at night, but was busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
380 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arles Plaza
Hotel Arles Plaza
#10 of 56 in Arles
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range: $112 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. The Comptoir du Calendal is the perfect place to have simple homemade soups salads quiches gratins .... and wonderful organic bread sandwiches some even available for vegetarians. The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . Home away from home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing