We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“All you could ask for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spa Le Calendal to your Saves list
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All you could ask for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Entering Le Calendal is entering home space: things look familiar and everyone is friendly. The multi-roomed first floor is reception, coffee bar and sit-down cafe. Upstairs the rooms are cheerful and certainly not tiny. Of particular pleasure (if it's your thing) is the Spa with its steam room, massage options and the huge Jacuzzi with windows looking at the roman amphitheater.

The location of the hotel is tops. You're in the middle of the amphitheater, the theater and a block away from St Euphemia. And you are on the same block with four or five of the top restaurants in Arles (see Tripadvisor for these.)

Not enough? Well there's Natalie who, apart from being charming and efficient, is a superb source of touring advice for the region, far and wide.

Don't think twice about staying at Le Calendal. I promise you'll like it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Czacharowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. All of us here at Le Calendal are delighted to hear that you found our establishment and staff welcoming! We are also content to hear that you made good use of our spa and steam rooms which we make freely available to each of our guests from 8am-8pm.
Furthermore, we are very lucky to be situated next to such beautiful historic Roman monuments and are always happy to hear that our customers enjoyed this aspect!
Natalie is very glad to hear that she was a good source of information to help you with your visit and would love to be able to assist again if you choose to return!
All of us here at Le Calendal hope that you will return to Provence to stay with us again.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    384
    75
    22
    9
See reviews for
225
588
62
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel and its terrasse overlook the Roman theatre. The welcome is warm and friendly. We arrived a bit early so we had a coffee on the terrasse. A little later, our luggage had been carried up to our room which had a view over the theatre and towards the cathedral. It was bright and furnished in Provencal style. The bathroom functioned well and we enjoyed our sessions in the hotel spa at the end of long, site-seeing days. There is a choice of a light breakfast or something more substantial. Light meals and snacks are provided at lunchtime in the ground-floor café. The public spaces are big with comfortable chairs and reading material and there is a charming garden at the back of the hotel. The rooms have wifi and several Internet posts can be found in the lounge. An excellent choice for a stay in Arles.

Room Tip: Ask a view of the Roman theatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments about Le Calendal. We take pride in delivering the best service to each and every one of our guests, whether that be taking your baggage to your room or returning a forgotten item home. We are also happy that you found our light dining service to your liking along with our free and fast wifi for all our guests at any time of the day!
We hope to see you again soon in Provence at Le Caldendal.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I were staying outside of Paris in order to attend a trade show. On a whim, we decided to get a TGV ticket and head to Provence. Best decision of the entire trip by far!

Arles in February is not "happening", but there was plenty for us to do. We were there for only Friday and Saturday nights, and the Friday night was decidedly a good idea, as Sunday there is precious little to do besides soak up the light and architecture (which is enough for me - but the shops etc. on Saturday, as well as the larger selection of places to have a coffee, meal, or drink, were very welcome!) Sadly, most of the sites we would have seen were closed for winter renovation, so we will have to come back. And we certainly will!

As for Le Calendal: excellent location, right next to the Amphitheater, which is obviously recently-cleaned, a beautiful golden color. We walked around many of the historic sites easily from the hotel, and had quite a good meal a couple doors down at a typical Provencal restaurant (l'Escaladou). There are few other good places to have a bite or a drink within a few minutes' walk (we wanted to hit Le Criquet, but it was closed for the season), as well as the main pedestrian shopping street in this part of the city (where I picked up a wonderful bright orange hard suitcase to house the various souvenirs we managed to pick up in spite of the low season and limited time we were there).

I loved the lobby and cafe - spread out in an organic, evolutionary fashion, well maintained, cluttered slightly with stuff of interest to various parties (kids toys, games, books, souvenirs ...) - comfortable, atmospheric (but not kitschily so), a place I would have been happy to laze around for the majority of the day, especially since there is free and fast WiFi. The cafe serves both the hotel guests and non-guests readily, has quite tasty fare, Leffe Blonde on tap, and seemed at least during the time we were there to be very well frequented. Possibly because all the employees were So Friendly.

We didn't sample the spa (the entrance to which is outside in the very nice - and reasonably large - enclosed patio), but perhaps will when the weather is warmer.

Our room had a nice rooftop seating area (overlooking what was once a courtyard but now has a modern pyramid-glass rooftop), adjoining one other room. The room was big enough, exceedingly quiet, with comfy beds and a good shower.

Highly recommended for any type of travel - business, tourist, kids, etc. Nothing fancy, but everything I would ever want. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to a sitting area outside - non-street-facing rooftop, or street-facing b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cschuyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments on your stay here in Provence. We also believe that you made the right decision! Of course the best time of year to visit would be summer and we would love to have you again here at Le Calendal when you return.
We are very happy to hear that our lobby and lounging area are comfortable and can offer free and fast wifi to all our customers any time of the day! Our staff are delighted that you found their service welcoming and that on your return you should certainly sample the spa and steam room which is freely accessible to any guest from 8am-8pm. And of course the outdoor seating area is spacious and perfect for relaxing during the summer season.

We look forward to seeing you again in the summer here in Provence at Le Calendal.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at Le Calendal! We didn't take advantage of either of the restaurants but they looked lovely. Couldn't ask for a cuter room. We took a fabulous wine tour of the region and were picked up at the hotel. It was centrally located.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennie3747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that our location made your general stay in Provence easier and that the area around the hotel provided pleasant views. We're lucky to be next to such grand Roman monuments.
We are also delighted that you found your room welcoming and we suggest that you return to take advantage of our light dining service or our summer restaurant in the garden for lunch. We would love to have you again!
We hope to see you again soon in Provence at the Calendal.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautiful, spacious, well appointed family room that slept our family of 5 - featured 3 beds for the kids in their own room, so there was no fighting and lots of room for play + we had a queen bed, large bathroom & outdoor space. Overall great hotel, perfect location, lots of amenities, outdoor dining area & wonderful service. When our daughter left her stuffed hippo behind, the staff emailed us to let us know they had the toy & arranged to ship it home to Canada (life saver). Only downside was that the parking was impossible, so we parked in a lot about 10 minutes away - not a big deal in France. Will stay again if in Arles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelchTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your message. All the staff here at the Calendal are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are glad that our rooms, open areas and amenities were to your liking! Furthermore, we are happy to hear that our light counter OLIPAN concept dining service and dining areas made your stay that bit more enjoyable! We ensure that we deliver fantastic food and service throughout the year.
We are also very delighted to hear that we managed to return your possession to your daughter. We make sure that any item left at the Calendal is returned to its owner no matter where they may be in the world.
Of course we take every concern into consideration and therefore we will assess our accessability by car to make it easier for all customers travelling by car to park by the hotel with more ease. The easiest way to deal with the car is either not bring one or if necessary plan and pre-reserve the closed municipal parking for 8 Euros per 24 hours.
We look forward to seeing you and your family again here in Provence and at the Calendal.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is located close to some beautiful roman history. The spa was a nice treat - the steam room was worth it. The room was cosy - had two beds. Breakfast was offered with our rate and that was Ok. Did not like that the only way to get to the rooms was by stairs - the staff helps with luggage but having to wait for staff to be available to get your bags up to the room or from the room. The hotel also had a little deli that was open 24 hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
This hotel is located close to some beautiful roman history. The spa was a nice treat - the steam room was worth it. The room was cosy - had two beds. Breakfast was offered with our rate and that was Ok. Did not like that the only way to get to the rooms was by stairs - the staff helps with luggage but having to wait for staff to be available to get your bags up to the room or from the room. The hotel also had a little deli that was open 24 hours.

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We're glad that our location beside beautiful Roman monuments was to your liking and that the spar and steam room made your stay more enjoyable! We feel that every one of our customers should have free access to the spa and steam rooms from 8am-8pm.
I am thankful for your concern on the availability of our staff to assist with carrying baggage. We have taken this in to account and shall ensure that our staff attend immediately to each arriving guest!
We hope to see you again soon in Provence and at the Calendal.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
192 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This very friendly hotel has a great location right opposite the Roman Theater and Arena, in Arles. It has a very comfortable and welcoming cafe for breakfast or afternoon tea or an evening drink (and they even provide board games). They have a lovely patio/garden which would be wonderful in the summer season (but January was too cold to use it.)

Our room was clean, though not very modern. One small complaint on cold winter nights was that the heat pump/air con unit was mounted near the ceiling and the heat never reached the level of the beds nor the floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello Dear guest ,
Thank you for your comment and your emphasis on our great location between Amphitheater and Arena.
We took note of your concern about the heat pump and have checked this with the heating company . We hope to see you again in provence and at the Calendal.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#5 of 59 in Arles
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#6 of 59 in Arles
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#8 of 59 in Arles
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Property: Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. The Comptoir du Calendal is the perfect place to have simple homemade soups salads quiches gratins .... and wonderful organic bread sandwiches some even available for vegetarians. The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . Home away from home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing