We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, and very friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This very friendly hotel has a great location right opposite the Roman Theater and Arena, in Arles. It has a very comfortable and welcoming cafe for breakfast or afternoon tea or an evening drink (and they even provide board games). They have a lovely patio/garden which would be wonderful in the summer season (but January was too cold to use it.)

Our room was clean, though not very modern. One small complaint on cold winter nights was that the heat pump/air con unit was mounted near the ceiling and the heat never reached the level of the beds nor the floor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hello Dear guest ,
Thank you for your comment and your emphasis on our great location between Amphitheater and Arena.
We took note of your concern about the heat pump and have checked this with the heating company . We hope to see you again in provence and at the Calendal.
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We loved the ability to have a relaxing breakfast and then walk to the colliseum and amphitheater, market and best restaurants all SO close. Amazing value and one of my favorites in all of Europe... If you are considering staying in Avignon or Arles; stay in Le Calendal in Arles!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Directeur général at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Le Calendal. We are happy that you managed not only to relax but also to visit the numerous sites in Arles.

We hope to greet you another time

THE MANAGEMENT AND THE FULL STAFF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Terrific location directly in front of the amphitheatre and for exploring Arles..

The hotel had provided great directions when we booked, and it was very easy to find. It is in the middle of a pedestrian-only zone but no problem - after unloading the hotel staff accompany you to the municipal parking building nearby. You don't need to drive back to the hotel until the day you depart - because the parking building is nearby - just through a park and across a main road.

The room was spacious and generally quiet (noisy revellers at 1 pm one night outside) and was nicely appointed - with a heat-pump that warmed the room up quickly and I am sure the room would have adequate air-conditioning in summer. The bed was super-comfortable. Bathroom was OK but typical French plumbing - where washbasins etc took an eternity to drain.

When we arrived hardly any restaurants were open (Monday night December) but the hotel has a lively coffee shop with a good selection of food.

Breakfast was very nice. Love that French bread!

Recommended and we would return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigmadelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My daughter and I stayed and I can't begin to tell you how much we enjoyed our time in this lovely hotel. It was perfect in every way. The staff helped us in so many ways we had just gotten our car and were new in driving in France. The location could not have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spe4ech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had another hotel owner call to make us reservations here, so happy he did. We got their wonderful room up on the top over looking the ruins just across the way. Room was large, nicely decorated, great bathroom. Food at the hotel, especially breakfast was very tasty, and the people working were all very nice, as well as helpful. If you have a car they set you up in a garage just a five minute walk from them. Restaurants are all around, so that's not an issue.
Arles is a nice place to spend several nights, and I'd highly recommend staying here if there are rooms available.
All the Best, Salida1048

Room Tip: would recommend the room that is on the top front of the old building, there really isn't any no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This charming hotel is right by the Arena. It occupies several connected buildings, with a courtyard garden. Our room faced the courtyard so was very quiet. Amenities were all modern. The staff were pleasant and helpful with tips on places to see. The self-serve breakfast in the hotel was good, with a variety of choices.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Coming from London, I am used to high standard resorts and hotels whenever I travel around the world and I was impressed by the level of services offered by Le Calendal.
First when you reach there, the staff is smiling at you and speak very good English,which is for me comforting ans also because I have friends and business colleagues meeting me over there, coming from various part of the world.
The rooms are clean and cute, very 'Provencal' I guess, very charming.
The garden is amazing, the food served is excellent from the local sandwiches to their local or salad specialities.
They have an amazing Spa and what a view towards the roman amphitheatre!!
Also, they have laptop available for you to read your emails, web surfing and wifi for free!!!

Have to say, it's an amazing location with amazing staff, amazing service...

It was worth taking my precious time to write this review.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msoopramanien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arles Plaza
Hotel Arles Plaza
#10 of 56 in Arles
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#9 of 56 in Arles
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range: $110 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. The Comptoir du Calendal is the perfect place to have simple homemade soups salads quiches gratins .... and wonderful organic bread sandwiches some even available for vegetarians. The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . Home away from home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing