We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Easy to see why this is No. 1 on Tripadvisor (compared with some others we've stayed at). Location is superb, price is not bad (we paid €139 per night), nice shaded garden, good breakfast for €12 (although generally I just had a coffee & croissant out front), free wifi in rooms (but could get a bit iffy in the evening), aircon in the rooms, hairdryer, powerful shower, friendly staff - really everything you could want. Our bed was a bit low & soft for our liking but not a major complaint. We had room 4 which came with a terrace overlooking the Roman theatre. About 15 mins walk from the station.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

This charming hotel, furnished in Provencal style, is in a perfect location, facing the Theatre Antique in one direction and the Amphitheatre in another. Its location meant you could walk to all the interesting sites from the front door and dash back during the day for the loo or to freshen up after a walk along the Aylscamps! The staff were helpful and friendly and made parking the car in the city car park very easy. Le Calendal helped in our impression that Arles was a charming city to visit and so easy to get around on foot. I was also attracted to the hotel by the spa and my massage was excellent. Sadly the hot tub wasn't very hot - perhaps because it was more of a small swimming pool - but almost too small for much swimming. The steam room wasn't steamy at all and there was no sauna. What a pity as it was inviting and the herbal teas and robes made it very comfortable. Breakfast is best in the garden and is reasonable value at 12 euros. The choice was excellent and you could eat as much as you liked. As another reveiwer has warned - but we didn't realise this at the time - do not leave the hotel in the evening without your mossie spray! I have never had so many bites in my life. There are several lovely little restaurants in the hotel's street but be warned that many close on a Tuesday. We found one that night in one of the squares where we were entertained by musicians giving an impromptu concert.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Roman antiquities or the leafy garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

At the top of the hill in Arles, steps from the ruins. This hotel was both quaint and modern at the same time. Our room was very comfortable and had a connecting room for our teenagers. The bath was large and spa-like. The cafe in the lobby was a great place to grab a cafe and croissant before exploring. The staff was so helpful they even did 2 loads of laundry for us while we were at dinner (waiting for us when we returned) - nominal fee.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRTexasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

You literally walk out the door of this hotel and you are standing next to the Roman Amphitheatre, and Roman Theatre. A really great location. The staff were super friendly and really helpful. The rooms are also very nice. From the outside the hotel looks a little run down, but this is actually a really nice hotel.
There is parking available, although it's about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. However, as there is very limited parking right outside the hotel, taking the parking option is a good idea. There is parking in some backstreets, but it's hard to find (especially in the car).
The hotel is also a little hard to find. All the surrounding streets are one-way and our GPS was leading us all over the place before we finally found the hotel (I think we even drove across a public courtyard).
Nevertheless a good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jungl3Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

So pleased we opted to stay here - the service was impeccable, the room was lovely, and the location was superb. You know it's a good sign to arrive at a hotel in the early evening, after a long day of travel, simply tell them your name, and they just hand you the key and help get your luggage up to your room. No need for formalities! The room was great - a triple - room 17, and had a small terrace. The bathroom was also nice and spacious.

The location, as others have mentioned, is a huge plus to this property. We truly enjoyed the strolls in Arles, meandering without clear plan or destination - and we lucky enough to be there for the Saturday market! Also, try out the Le Criquet restaurant just down the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourismspecialist88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Got into Arles after dark. Very friendly and helpful staf. Woke up the next morning to the Roman ruins just outside of our balcony! Great little hotel within walking distance to almost anythin in Arles. Great value in a country where it sometimes is hard to find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Roman ruins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wineho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We spent a wonderful night here at the beginning of June. Le Calendal is tucked away behind the old walls accessible through a narrow road through the old town. The hotel itself overlooks the Roman arena. Our room - the family room - faced out to the old town. It was large enough for the four of us, perfectly chilled (it was over 32 degrees outside ) and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was stylish and modern with an oversupply of soft and fluffy towels. The staff were amazingly attentive, from accompanying me down with the car to the car park, to providing advice on Arles itself. Breakfast was outside on the terrace with the sun shining across the arena. Perfect.

Room Tip: Family room - perfect for two I adults and up to three children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotogate20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arles Plaza
Hotel Arles Plaza
#10 of 56 in Arles
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#9 of 56 in Arles
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range: $112 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. The Comptoir du Calendal is the perfect place to have simple homemade soups salads quiches gratins .... and wonderful organic bread sandwiches some even available for vegetarians. The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . Home away from home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing