We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend the Hotel Le Calendal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend the Hotel Le Calendal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We loved the Hotel LeCalendal. The location was terrific next to the Roman arena and within the old town. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were larger than we expected and nicely appointed. We liked the convenience of the cafe and the breakfast buffet had quite a few selections. The free local bus stop is right outside the hotel and it is a short walk to the regional bus stop. We would absolutely recommend this hotel and spa, although we didn't use the spa facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our facility.

Your are so right tin explaining and reminding us and future tourists of the FREE LOCAL BUS SERVICE "THE STARLETTE". It is nice to get around and going to either train station or museums.

We hope to see you soon !

Regards THE MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    438
    81
    24
    9
See reviews for
251
670
70
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Azille, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here in December. It was a bit like staying in a rabbit warren. The room was like something out of the sixties and was a definite need of a refurbishment. It was also very small. Bathroom was ok as was the spa.
The location was also good

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear guest ,

We have received your review and wish to apologize first
* for not having noticed your disappointment and miscontentment upon arrival . Our front desk clerks should have been more aware and notice your negative feedback concerning the room .

You have taken the time both yourself as well as your traveling partner to post 2 negative comments about our house ! We should have been much more aware and offer you the choice of room , size colour , view as all our rooms are DIFFERENT in these aspects !!!
My wish is to imagine that maybe one of our rooms would have been more appropriate for you.

Having not said a word about the staff, makes me think again that we should have upon arrival been much more careful for your hotel stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies .

We thank you for having rated positive not only location and spa .

THE MANAGEMENT-CECILE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The parking is a little difficult but the position of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff made up for that. We had 3 single rooms and whilst not spacious, were perfectly adequate for one person, clean and nicely decorated. Did not have the breakfast (thought it was a bit pricey) but it certainly looked good. Hotel is within easy walking of everywhere and the staff could not have been more friendly or efficient.

Room Tip: Would avoid the rooms off the garden in summer as they might be a little noisy. In winter they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time in reviewing our property.

I am particularly pleased that you have talked about the staff ,as it is my pleasure to manage a team happy in giving good service to our guests.

Parking is yes sometimes an adventure for guests used to large avenues in their country as our roman streets are narrow and many one ways in Arles make it sometimes even more confusing.
My best advice to future guests is to print the itineraries either on our web site or ask us to send them by mail !!

THANK YOU AGAIN FOR YOUR TIME AND REVIEW
THE MANAGEMENT - CECILE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

We went to the Calendal last week, and it was absolutely pleasant. Comfortable rooms, nice and welcoming staff, perfect location in front of the arena, and a luxury spa. Small café for light lunch and quick snack. Parking and driving in Arles is a bit of an adventure ! Would definitely recommend . My mother came along and enjoyed as well. Reserve restaurants because most of them are closed or full in winter season

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margueritte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Really nice hotel with very helpful staff. Very good breakfast - if quite pricey. I found the room very dark but it was comfortable enough for 1 night. Very good bathroom. The reception and breakfast area were really nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajh1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We booked this hotel using Trip Advisor as a guide - listed number 1 in Arles. Very disappointed - the staff may have been helpful and the position good but the bedrooms were awful. Reminded me of a 1970's B+B in the UK - very small room, carpet dark and old, bed cover dark and old, tiny double bed, bathroom out of date, furniture scruffy.
Bottom line - would not stay again even at half the price. Nowhere near worth 100Euro

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear guest ,

We have received your review and wish to apologize first
* for not having noticed your disappointment and miscontentment upon arrival . Our front desk clerks should have been more aware and notice your negative feedback concerning the room .

You have taken the time both yourself as well as your traveling partner to post 2 negative comments about our house ! We should have been much more aware and offer you the choice of room , size colour , view as all our rooms are DIFFERENT in these aspects !!!
My wish is to imagine that maybe one of our rooms would have been more appropriate for you.

Having not said a word about the staff, makes me think again that we should have upon arrival been much more careful for your hotel stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies .

We thank you for having rated positive not only location and spa .

THE MANAGEMENT-CECILE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We booked in for 1 night and ended up staying for 3. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful,
Rooms were comfortable and very quiet.Nice ambiance throughout. Excellent value. Great location next to the old Roman arena inside the old town. We were there in November so had no problem parking outside the hotel, otherwise it not a bad walk (uphill) from the municipal parking near the tourist information office,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Jules Cesar Arles MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#8 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Property: Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. The Comptoir du Calendal is the perfect place to have simple homemade soups salads quiches gratins .... and wonderful organic bread sandwiches some even available for vegetarians. The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . Home away from home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing