We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully situated hotel”
Review of Hotel d'Arlatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel d'Arlatan
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderfully situated hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Wonderful hotel. Have stayed here twice and loved staying in the new section overlooking the courtyard. Both times we were lucky to get a balcony. The pool is amazing and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. I was also pleased to see that they put in showers in the rooms. I did find on my second visit that it lost a little of its charm it used to have as they carpeted over the glass floor that used to show the Roman ruins below. They have also removed the old family crests in the common area. Feel that they are modernizing the hotel too much and taking away too much of its charm.

Room Tip: Try to get the new section overlooking the pool...ask for a balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristiFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    95
    51
    12
    10
See reviews for
34
145
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Center of town, right off principal square, this is simply a unique property. Very old buildings, crafted into authentic, no-two-rooms-alike hotel. Not cookie cutter, not Marriott. Gorgeous courtyard, beautiful small pool, lovely breakfast, pleasant staff. Nice bath, hot water, good A/C, fine bedding. Steps from everything old town about Arles. A terrific "find."

Room Tip: Narrow, one-way streets making driving to it a challenge. Perhaps GPS helps?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randywdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My parents have stayed at Hotel d'Arlatan for 30 years and my dad took me back after a 10 year break this past month. From the delicious breakfast of such a wide variety - eggs, meat, cheese, yogurt, fruit, pastries, etc - to the charming garden areas and pool, our stay was incredible. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are totally quaint; they have old furniture that has so much history and beauty. The hotel has been renovated recently and I believe it has more plans to upgrade. The hotel is located right off the center of town on a beautiful little cobblestone street and accessible to every part of Arles. This was by far the best hotel on our euro trip and we plan to go back for years.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elle_lambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were here for a week and found the staff to be amazing. We liked having cheese and wine in the beautiful courtyard...we bought our own. The location was perfect to walk every place. The room was large and appreciated the elevator and parking.

Room Tip: If a stand up shower is important to you, be sure to ask for an updated room as some rooms have tubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for four nights. I found the hotel to be quite good and the location in Arles about perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was quite large. I believe Rick Steves used the term "faded elegance" and I would concur. This is not luxury but it was very functional, clean, and true to its location and history. I was very pleased with my stay. One word for drivers: the hotel location is challenging for drivers. VERY narrow streets with corners you can barely make. A small car is wise. Your GPS is useless and will lead you in circles, down dead ends, and cause you much grief if you ignore my advice. The hotel directions are perfect (they will email you) - do what they say. Then enjoy this nice hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I did a thorough research of in-town hotels and really wanted to stay at this one mainly because of it's rich history and interesting rooms. The perplexing issue however was not being able to choose and book directly online. I had booked the Hotel Ampitheater online as a backup in case my attempts at choosing a specific room at Hotel d'Arlatan did not pan out.
I finally called directly to the front desk to book and to ask questions. Luckily everyone who works there can speak some English; enough to accomplish a reservation.
We booked a suite for a higher price as opposed to a larger standard room. There are several sections to the hotel--all are old but some older and more charming. Our suite had a nice, walkout terrace with patio furniture and a view toward the Place du Forum but no stone walls or tall ceilings. The bathroom was a fair size with tub and double sink.
The room had exterior windows as opposed to the courtyard it was fairly tranquil at night. Stayed for 5 nights and never had the noisy early morning garbage trucks. In general, if you have issues with noise at hotels, I suggest downloading the "sleep pillow" app which provides a mild sound machine of sorts.
Our room, #46, was on the fourth floor with only one other room on this level with a very convenient and almost private elevator. A blow dryer is available at the front desk if there's not one already in your room.
The breakfast at 15euro is very nice. A spacious location with many options to dine in various rooms or outdoors. Fresh fruit, great yogurt, croissants, pain au chocolat, eggs to boil to your desired doneness, quality juices and teas are all part of the buffet.
The staff is very accommodating and willing to work with you. They share a nice camaraderie and sense of humor.
Wifi seems to be difficult to get in some rooms; best solutions is to do all of your computer tasks on the main floor either in the comfortable common rooms or the outdoor patio.
The whole town is pleasant and compact. You can walk from one end to the other in ten minutes.
The market on Wednesday and Saturday mornings is extensive and runs along the perimeter of exterior town border. There is a nice Monoprix in this same area to pick up small items of the variety store kind.
Renting bikes is challenging. You can ride to the Van Gogh bridge but beyond the town limits is congested and frustrating depending which direction you choose. We did not try the direction of the Camargue; it may be less busy.
Overall, there are many hotels in Arles. This one has a very pleasant location and staff. Just try to be clear about room choices as to not disappoint your expectations. Oh, and as far as the ancient ruins underneath the floor in the lobby, understandably, they had to cover it up as it was becoming too big of a distraction to outside tourists. You can still see the ruins from outside by peering through a street level window.

Room Tip: It's tough since no online booking option or precise room descriptions/photos. Maybe they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnc2oths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Is that a museum? is it an hotel? it is both, an hotel museum who can propose quite good size room for an affordable rate as a three star hotel within the old roman city of arles.

Parking is small but there is a valet service taking care of your car, nice.

breakfast is simple, a bit exotic, but good pastries, bread and coffees..

well done, I understand the hotel is under huge renovation and has been re-open a few days ago only...

Room Tip: choose the room on first floor for easy access to lobby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 946WELDONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#6 of 56 in Arles
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#8 of 56 in Arles
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Arlatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Arlatan

Property: Hotel d'Arlatan
Address: 26 Rue du Sauvage, 13200, Arles, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Arlatan 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel d'Arlatan is currently closed for total renovation works. Re-opening scheduled for 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel d'Arlatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Arlatan
d Arlatan Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing