We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Interesting and individual” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting and individual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very well located in the best square in old Arles. The Place du Forum is ideal for exploring Arles on foot as everything is close at hand. The square has a number of bars and restaurants including Van Gogh's subject, the Cafe la Nuit.

Our room was a straight forward double and adequate but not over spacious. The hotel has charming memorabilia of turn of the century bull fighting, and we also found the staff to be charming.

If you need to park at the hotel then youust reserve in advance. But the next advice is not to take your car into the old town, instead park by the tourist information centre.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty-casino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    49
    18
    14
    14
See reviews for
9
97
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel screams character. The first thing you see on entry is a cool antique conical chandelier hanging above a spiral staircase with wrought iron railings. You can virtually feel Picasso's ghost drinking in the bar downstairs. The hotel is in a great central location, facing the Place du Forum and its many outdoor cafes. The room we had was plenty spacious enough, as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the shower pressure excellent. And we can't say enough positive things about the staff, particularly the wonderful Christina, who instantly makes you feel as if you've been her lifelong friend. This is not a modern hotel, so if you're looking for a Westin experience stay someplace else. But if you want a charming, fun, comfortable hotel with great history and character, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Front rooms can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chester98115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Québec
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This Hotel is right in the middle of the old town, so don't expect the luxe of a newer hotel.
The rooms are small but clean and comfortable.
People were very nice from the desk person to the waiter at the outside restaurant and the food was great.
P.S.
We loved the feeling of being in the heart of an old city with lots of history.
We recommend it strongly

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

First, one dot rating is far too much. You offer me no possibility of less. Group of 8, all local residents, some well known professionally for decades in the area, tried to take after dinner tea and coffee on the terrace having agreed it with those operating the said hotel restaurant in the square outside. It is very difficult to describe our reception with polite language. The behaviour of the woman 'manager' was so hostile that had we not placed orders for tea and coffee already we would have accepted her invitation to just leave. She objected to staff arranging tables so 8 could sit together and from there it went down hill. All of us agreed that such rude treatment was extremely rare. The very sad truth is that this is a hotel-restaurant that has had an dreadful reputation for years-decades. We went there in the nineties and because of the experience and word of mouth have not been back until this evening!
We returned because we heard a young very good restaurant team had moved in to try a larger project. I wish them well but with that woman in the background I would advise them to move elsewhere as soon as they can contractually do so.
As to the Nord Pinus - avoid!
As to the so called 'GRAND' Hotel Nord Penus our advice is - admire the building, step in and admire the decore and that a coffee of what ever somewhere else!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivepicker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you are looking at TripAdvisor wondering where on earth you should stay in Arles... please... don't stay at this hotel. I have stayed all over the world in all kinds of establishments from the Crillon in Paris to more humble [yet] wholesome abodes... but this one takes the cake. I booked for 2 days and once I had arrived... decided to stay for four. The booking was confirmed not once... but twice... by both the Receptionist and the Hotel Manager. Imagine my horror then... when I returned to my room on the fourth evening [after a glorious day touring the lavender fields] to find my room occupied by somebody else! My clothes... my personal possessions... my art gear... laptop and camera gear had all been hastily thrown into my luggage... my personal effects tossed into a shopping bag provided by the hotel... and left at reception for my return. Imagine my shock when I opened the door to my room to find somebody else's things there [another terrible situation - I should never have been allowed access to somebody else's room] By now in a panic I returned to reception where I was informed of the error... and then unceremoniously marched to a nearby hotel with the lame excuse that they had mixed up the booking and I would be offered dinner at their establishment in return for any inconvenience. Inconvenience? It was pure impudence. To add insult to injury a couple of my dresses which had been hanging in the wardrobe were missing from my belongings and had to be brought over to the new hotel upon request. I have not... in all my years of travelling the world... experienced such unprofessional and incompetent behaviour. Please... avoid this hotel at all cost. You can not leave for the day in confidence... knowing you will have somewhere to sleep that night.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Please. You will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JElizabethB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

A grande dame where lots of famous people have stayed, including Cocteau, Hemingway and Fritz Lang. Also bullfighters. There are some great photos by the elevator. They'll bring up breakfast and you can have it on the open terrace -- heaven. The location, on Place du Forum, a popular meeting place, can be noisy and touristy, but it's very convenient to great restaurants and places to visit. They have a restaurant but it's expensive: 27 euros for dejeuner, 18 for a simple breakfast of croissants, bread, coffee. A tip: If, like us, you like fruit and yoghurt and maybe eggs, not just croissants and coffee for breakfast, the Hotel D'arlatan, a block away, has a great buffet breakfast served in a lovely old courtyard, for 15 euros: non guests allowed.

Room Tip: We originally booked the cheapest type of room which was tiny, so we asked to see the superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corgipup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel is in a very nice spot, on place du forum in pittoresque Arles.
The downstairs area, lobby, bar, are spacious and has a typical Provence, kind of subtropical feel. Grand stairs lead to the upper floors where the rooms are.
We were in a Superior Room. And I would have rated the hotel Excellent if only the superiority of such room was to be felt.
The room was decorated in an eclectic style of diverse antique pieces. Nothing wrong with that.
But the room was crowded with all that furniture. But the bed was crap. It consisted out of 2 large antique beds, and a very soft matress. Not nice if you're a couple.
The bathroom could also use some refurbishment. It looked a bit run down, not in a cool provencale way.
Breakfast on place du forum is a good place to have breakfast: order the american breakfast, not the continental one.
The room didn't feel superior. The downstairs area did.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BartP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Jules Cesar Arles MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Particulier
Hotel Particulier
#13 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#6 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Trophime
Hotel Saint Trophime
#51 of 56 in Arles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus

Property: Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus
Address: Place du Forum, 13200, Arles, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with Old World Charm in building dating from 1850; restaurant; multilingual staff; located in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nord Pinus
Grand Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing