We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most unprofessional Hotel I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The most unprofessional Hotel I have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you are looking at TripAdvisor wondering where on earth you should stay in Arles... please... don't stay at this hotel. I have stayed all over the world in all kinds of establishments from the Crillon in Paris to more humble [yet] wholesome abodes... but this one takes the cake. I booked for 2 days and once I had arrived... decided to stay for four. The booking was confirmed not once... but twice... by both the Receptionist and the Hotel Manager. Imagine my horror then... when I returned to my room on the fourth evening [after a glorious day touring the lavender fields] to find my room occupied by somebody else! My clothes... my personal possessions... my art gear... laptop and camera gear had all been hastily thrown into my luggage... my personal effects tossed into a shopping bag provided by the hotel... and left at reception for my return. Imagine my shock when I opened the door to my room to find somebody else's things there [another terrible situation - I should never have been allowed access to somebody else's room] By now in a panic I returned to reception where I was informed of the error... and then unceremoniously marched to a nearby hotel with the lame excuse that they had mixed up the booking and I would be offered dinner at their establishment in return for any inconvenience. Inconvenience? It was pure impudence. To add insult to injury a couple of my dresses which had been hanging in the wardrobe were missing from my belongings and had to be brought over to the new hotel upon request. I have not... in all my years of travelling the world... experienced such unprofessional and incompetent behaviour. Please... avoid this hotel at all cost. You can not leave for the day in confidence... knowing you will have somewhere to sleep that night.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Please. You will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JElizabethB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    49
    18
    15
    14
See reviews for
9
100
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A grande dame where lots of famous people have stayed, including Cocteau, Hemingway and Fritz Lang. Also bullfighters. There are some great photos by the elevator. They'll bring up breakfast and you can have it on the open terrace -- heaven. The location, on Place du Forum, a popular meeting place, can be noisy and touristy, but it's very convenient to great restaurants and places to visit. They have a restaurant but it's expensive: 27 euros for dejeuner, 18 for a simple breakfast of croissants, bread, coffee. A tip: If, like us, you like fruit and yoghurt and maybe eggs, not just croissants and coffee for breakfast, the Hotel D'arlatan, a block away, has a great buffet breakfast served in a lovely old courtyard, for 15 euros: non guests allowed.

Room Tip: We originally booked the cheapest type of room which was tiny, so we asked to see the superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corgipup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel is in a very nice spot, on place du forum in pittoresque Arles.
The downstairs area, lobby, bar, are spacious and has a typical Provence, kind of subtropical feel. Grand stairs lead to the upper floors where the rooms are.
We were in a Superior Room. And I would have rated the hotel Excellent if only the superiority of such room was to be felt.
The room was decorated in an eclectic style of diverse antique pieces. Nothing wrong with that.
But the room was crowded with all that furniture. But the bed was crap. It consisted out of 2 large antique beds, and a very soft matress. Not nice if you're a couple.
The bathroom could also use some refurbishment. It looked a bit run down, not in a cool provencale way.
Breakfast on place du forum is a good place to have breakfast: order the american breakfast, not the continental one.
The room didn't feel superior. The downstairs area did.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BartP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Helpful and friendly staff from the cleaner to the owner, great atmosphere, best location, secure parking in locked garage.

Room Tip: An upgrade from the basic room will get you space comfort and a view of the Cafe la Nuit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is where we first discovered L'Occitane beauty products in 2006. A pricey hotel but then so are they all in this part of France,but wow what a great ambience, even if the place is empty!Funky and very individual is how I would describe this hotel. We ate (drank to be exact!) across the road at the delightful yellow facaded Van Gogh Cafe where he painted Cafe Terrace at Night. Rooms are all different-ours was a standard and faced a side street but was very quiet. We had a gorgeous brass bed and a free standing bath which made for a really relaxing space.The bar area is very relaxing and gives off a 'Casablanca' vibe.We have such a longing to go back to this great town and to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariahTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The reward is finding this unique property after driving the labyrinth that is Arles! The public rooms and hallways display the rich history of the property, ESP. It's place in the culture of bullfighting. Rooms are individually decorated with eccentric touches that enhance the travel experience. Christine and Samarra were very obliging to our needs. Arles itself is a great base for excursions to the Pont du Gard, Nimes and Avignon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasteful_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Absolutely charming hotel, centrally located on the Place du Forum. Excellent staff and extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel has a unique character with wonderful art and plenty of history. If you're looking to compare this to a popular modern hotel (i.e. Marriott, Hilton, etc), this is not your place. If you're looking for a quaint, charming, historic, absolutely lovely hotel in a great location where the staff is very friendly and the rooms are spacious, this is your place to stay. We will come back anytime. The prices are a bit high but everything about this hotel makes it well worth it. The breakfast was excellent but there are also many other places to eat right there on the square. For us, this was PERFECT!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Particulier
Hotel Particulier
#17 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus

Property: Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus
Address: Place du Forum, 13200, Arles, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with Old World Charm in building dating from 1850; restaurant; multilingual staff; located in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nord Pinus
Grand Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing