We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for reasonable price”
Review of Le Galoubet

Le Galoubet
Ranked #30 of 271 Restaurants in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food for reasonable price”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had a lunch at the outdoor terrace there. Enjoyed mesclun salad with tomates confi and asparagus as entres and sliced beefstake with mushroom sauce as a main dish. Very delicious!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitaliy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    127
    37
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant, delicious meal”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

On May 4, 2012 we visited Le Galoubet on a little back street in Arles. This is a restaurant reportedly frequented by Van Gogh. What a delightful meal we had. I had steak with mushroom sauce and frites. Wow, was it tasty. I'm still dreaming about it. My husband had chicken and he said it was the most tender melt-in-your mouth chicken he had ever tasted. We definitely recommend this restaurant if you visit Arles.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food - Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The interior was warm and just felt more like you were in someone's home than a restuarant. The food was great.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank crawley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Experience a good cusine in Arles”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Great quality/price balance! Regardless the limited selection (4 starters and 4 main courses), the menu may offer you a pleasant taste of the french ;light) cusine.

Good atmosphere, great food, good wines, excellent price: I had a mushroom vellute and fillet steak, followed by a nice dessert. A couple of bottle of local wines has helped the dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mau-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended Good French Cooking”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our Hotel, Le Nord Pinus, suggested this restaurant. We swung by in the day to make a reservation, and definitely agree that this restaurant was worthy of the recommendation. It was the best place to eat in Arles by a long way. Fresh, tasty, well presented food, and by no means a tourist trap. We had the 27 Euro menu and although this was slightly more expensive than some of the other restaurants in Arles, it was because the quality was so much better. The starter of a simple salad, was the best salad we have ever tasted ! It was amazing, and must be down to the quality of the ingredients and the home made dressing. I had a fish dish for my main course, which was inventive, creative and delicious. Even the side order of mashed potato was sumptuous. My husband had Onglet steak and chips, which was cooked to his taste perfectly. The waitress spoke enough relevant English to ensure it was cooked exactly to his liking. The house wine in a carafe was not on the wine list, but available at a much cheaper price than the bottles, and the red was spot on. The cheese plate and Plum and Meringue dessert we ended with were both perfect. We sat outside, the terrace is covered with shrubbery so its contained and very pleasant. The staff were efficient and friendly and just the right level of attentive, the atmosphere was good, the diners a mix of tourists and locals. We ate elsewhere in Arles and nowhere was as good as Le Galoubet, it was the culinary standout and I'd highly recommend it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LexH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Galoubet also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Galoubet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing