We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'autruche

L'autruche
Ranked #22 of 255 Restaurants in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Anchorage
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We drove to Arles on the spur of the moment and decided to stay for dinner. Using a guide book, the first place we tried was out of business. Second was not serving dinner. Couldn't get into the third and called L'Autruche who invited us to come right over. Place was nearly full but service was perfect, friendly. We are Alaskans and picky about our fish but the cod was the best my husband has ever had. My lobster appetizer and risotto were delicious and beautiful as was the apple crumb dessert. My husband's starter was a lentil salad with poached egg--fabulous. Loved the Traditional country music in the background. Great local rose. Wonderful find. Wish we had better luck FINDing our car when we finished.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    64
    15
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner and service at L'autruche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner here. The food was delicious; the hostess (waitress) was lovely; the service was food, and the price was reasonable. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALHMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Simply the best meal we have had in France (been here 4 nights). Waiter was amazing (spoke awesome English, even joking around with us). He selected the wine and accommodated my wife who is vegetarian (trust the chef, he said), I had tartare with fois gras which was great.

Make reservations as they had 8 tables.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jkauf1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just left behind the excellent cuisine of our incredible hotel La Bastide de Marie in Menerbes, my husband and I had our doubts possibly topping our food experience. We were lucky to have gotten a table at this small restaurant not only because it was the Festival de Riz but more so because of its popularity among the locals. The waitress and host made us feel very welcomed and helped in English when my little French run out. The few tables, the excellent food (prix fixed) and the atmosphere makes this restaurant a true French gem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unprofessional”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked a table at the restaurant but the waitress simply forgot us!
When we arrived, all the tables were taken and when I told her we had booked for 9pm, she said "Oh, it is already 9pm?, well, come back in half an hour!" I answered it was not a serious behaviour and all she could say was that she could not ask people to leave... She repeated she could not believe it was already the time and that we should come back later. She never apologised nor offered a compensation for her forgetting.
Of course, we didn't come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosePoudre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'autruche also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'autruche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing