We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still recommend if don't have car”
Review of Hotel le Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel le Belvedere
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The hotel is simple and right in the city center. Room is clean and comfortable.

They don't have lift and the stairs are very high.

If you're driving, really not recommend this hotel becos they don't have private parking. Public parking is just near the hotel but it's definitely unsafe. Our car was broken and some of the stuffs including GPS were stolen.

Arles is not a safe city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Legless_Birdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 198 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in this hotel in April.
The location is excellent if you want to be in the heart of the old city within walking distance to the arena and river. We had our own car and managed to find street parking each night. Be careful (the night before market day) not to park on the street where the weekly market is held.

The room was spacious for the price and the balcony was lovely overlooking the square which had a number of bars and restaurants. We weren't worried by any noise but then we were pretty tired at night.

Our bathroom was fine although the shower was treacherous - tiny, slippery and with nowhere to put soap etc.

Our air con and safe did not work and we reported to reception each day but in five days no-one bothered to assist. There is a claim English is spoken (and even a little Union Jack outside) but the ladies at reception said.."no English". In desperation I wrote a note for the manager on the second night but to no avail. The room was over warm even in April so we left the door open at night for some air! If you expect any kind of service in a hotel then I would not recomend this hotel unless you can get a room at a very good price!

We loved Arles and it is a wonderful spot from which to tour the surrounding area including the Camargue and mountain top villages. We even watched a feria in the arena.

Room Tip: Check if safe and air con work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great affordable, small hotel only 5 minutes walk from the train station (easily managed with a heavy backpack). Situated on a plane tree filled square in the old town. Easy to walk around the best parts of Arles from the hotel. Staff is friendly and offer a breakfast in the morning at an additional price. Room was clean, simply decorated, modern tiled floors and bathroom and a big window. Other rooms have balconies looking over the square but mine was at the back so no view but nice dark curtains to sleep off the jet lag. Free wifi in the room and air-con should you want it but my room stayed cool and fresh with just the window open while the temperature was 27C outside. As noted by other reviewers there is no elevator and narrow stairs to the upper floors but it wasn't a problem for me and the price is so good you can't complain!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n0madartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel was a great find. We had a good size room on the top floor (303?) facing the square. The room was clean, well laid out, had air-con, a safe and its own small private balcony. As a light-sensitive sleeper the black-out curtains worked very well. This hotel is great value for that part of the world at 90 Euros. We were forewarned about the lack of a lift so knew what we were in for. The staff were friendly but had very limited English. Do note that breakfast must be booked the night before though. We didn’t know this and couldn’t get breakfast but given that there are a number of places to eat right on the square outside this didn’t really matter. I’d love to go back for a longer stay...

Room Tip: Try top floor square facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truereviewer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed one night in the le Belvedere prior to boarding our Uniworld river cruise in Arles. To our surprise, we were told we had to carry our bags up the stairs to the third floor--but our initial shock was pleasantly overcome by the immediate offer by our hotelier, Frederic, to carry all bags up the 3 flights--what a true gentleman! He didn't stop there, and provided us with all sorts of tips on what to see and where to eat during our brief stay. The room was small but extremely comfortable and clean. The bed was huge, especially for a small room and equally comfy! The experience got even better with a perfect view of the Place Voltaire from our comfortable balcony, and the delicious beakfast served the next morning. The hotel is in the heart of the main city center of Arles and only 2 block walk to our cruise ship. Would recommend this to all...especially if Frederic is on duty!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the square, and a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairfield_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Hotel Belvedere is a good choice for us in Arles when we dont hire a car in France. It is a little unpretentious Hotel and the price is also very reasonable for France. We stayed here two nights last year and enjoyed sitting on our balcony which overlooks the Place Voltaire with its lively cafes and leafy plane trees. The little balcony makes a little room bright and airy as you can open the doors and watch the life in the square. As we are passing through Arles again on our way to Southern France we are going to stay at the Hotel Belvedere again this year. The convenience of being able to walk to the station to catch a train, and also walk to all the beautiful sights and lovely restaurants of Arles is fantastic. The arena and the beautiful little St Trophime with its beautiful Romanesque Tympanum is a must to see.

Room Tip: I prefer a room looking over the square Voltaire, maybe a little more noise (we heard the garbage tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minoumex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

A tiny but comfortable and newly-refurbished room, and a great breakfast for the money if you eat a lot! Each of us scarfed up a croissant, pain-au-chocolat, and hunk of baguette with cheese and ham every morning. Two cups of coffee -- yes, you have to ask for the second one, which is not standard in Europe -- juice, yogurt, cereal, all that would cost you 25 euros in a cafe, if you could find it at all. (And we lost a kilo each on our trip.) If you breakfast on a croissant and a cup of coffee, go to any cafe instead. Young, attractive, English-speaking staff make up in charm for what they may lack in experience. Our rooms were on the ground floor to accommodate our handicapped traveling companion, and they were peacefully quiet.

Room Tip: There's just one room with handicapped access, so book it in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nazzyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acacias
Hotel Acacias
#17 of 56 in Arles
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Regence
Le Regence
#16 of 56 in Arles
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arles Plaza
Hotel Arles Plaza
#10 of 56 in Arles
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Arles Palais des Congres
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Atrium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Belvedere

Address: 5 Place Voltaire, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Price Range: $64 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Belvedere 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a contemporary and baroque design, come to have a restful stay in the heart of the old city, near the Rhone river and arenas. Ideally located on a plaza, in the heart of the old Arles, our hotel offers you a free wifi hotspot connexion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel le Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing