We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is Fine”
Review of Le Cafe La Nuit

Le Cafe La Nuit
Ranked #227 of 272 Restaurants in Arles
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bath, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This Place is Fine”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We spent five nights in Arles and walked by the Café de la Nuit everyday sometimes twice. It is located at Place du Forum alongside about five other café establishments including the Hotel Nord Pinus which was never busy.
Did these other places pay people to talk trash about "La Nuit"?
Can't figure out why all of the harsh criticism. It appears to serve typical Arlesian cuisine like all the others next door. We ate dessert here and had a pleasant time.
The conspiracy of one and two point ratings does not make sense to us.
So much vitriol towards any establishment is troubling.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bnc2oths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    41
    75
    98
    462
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tourists beware”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We thought we would take friends there as it was famous for being in Van Gogh's painting I suggest you take a photo but go elsewhere.
the menu board said cafe 1 euro 50. We had 2 capucinos and one cafe and one horrible hot chocolate and he tried to charge 20 euroes then said 18 euros then tried to short change me 15 euros. If you must go ask for a copy of bill. It may not be the owner's fault but I have my doubts about the waiter. I would choose any other restaurant over this one. I wish I had thought of reading the reviews first

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worse than ever”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Over the years, we've overlooked the only so-so food, the cramped tables, and the hustle and bustle of the setting to take a meal here. Today will be the last time. I went over in the afternoon to make a reservation, and the waiter told me the reservation would cost 20 euros. When we arrived, there was no table for us; another waiter told us to wait outside and we would be given free apéros; another waiter then told us that was wrong and we should wait elsewhere outside. Finally we were invited back inside, only to find our party spread over 3 tables. The service was rude, actively ignoring us, bringing five pieces of bread for six people, and on and on; the help also smoked inside, in violation of French law and to our annoyance. The food was as always -- unimaginative, not overly fresh, poorly presented. Extraordinarily disappointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AEW46637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arles, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“even more than terrible”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

such a nice place to see, but do mind stepping outside and only have pics of it, instead sitting for anything : food (or whatever they are pretending it to be...), drink (yes, it is liquid for sure, but what is it really, ...well ???), service (have a guess;) )

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arelate67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, IL
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The dog was friendly.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I feel bad about rating this place as a restaurant since it should probably be in the attractions category. We ordered coffees and shared a small pastry. The coffee was okay and so was the pastry. It was a little pricey, but hey, this place still sort of looks like the painting. There are clean restrooms upstairs but the lights are on a timer so beware. An earlier reviewer commented on all the tourists taking photos...I apologize. Since this place is on a main tourist artery it wouldn't hurt to stop and take a photo. Heck, get a coffee and use the facilities while you have the chance. We did have to wait for just a bit to pay our bill while the owner took her dog to the street for a potty break.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimHoopeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe La Nuit also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Cafe La Nuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing