We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre food, weird place mats, and a cold entree = Michelin star?”
Review of Le Cilantro - CLOSED

Le Cilantro
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, weird place mats, and a cold entree = Michelin star?”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I have left behind my expectations of grandiose from Michelin starred restaurants a while ago. Today, in my humble opinion they are distributed like army brass and venues like Cilantro are the reason why I think so.

The menu displayed outside wasn't served in the restaurant that day. What a lure! Enticed with an interesting Mediterranean fusion at the door, we ended up eating traditional Arlesienne fare. Prices were outrageous for food you can find next door (without the star) for half the price. And nibbles were all but repeating themselves.

While eating main dishes the glass place mats make it so uncomfortable to eat, it immediately becomes a torture. To top it all, my main dish came up rather cold to be returned to the kitchen immediately.

The only positive in our experience was the sommelier and the wine selection.

One note: The picture on the wall showing a cilantro coming out of a fork is ridiculous, Michelin starred or not.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StratosMoraitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good, Michelin starred restaurant”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Easy to miss on the street, Cilantro is tucked down a little covered alleyway. Simple decor and tables, interesting food, good service, especially the sommelier.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MMLQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Had one of the best meals of our lives here, on a small terrace watching a superb sunset. Eye-wateringly expensive but justified: this is a very good restaurant with a Michelin star and an excellent choice for a special treat. Imaginative menu, beautifully cooked food (an artichoke puree was sensational) and worth splashing out on a bottle or two from their excellent wine list. Delicious amuse-goules served between each course. Service is somewhat formal, and we got an obviously new young waitress who was nervous but trained to perfection and gained in confidence through the evening to merit a generous tip!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerbilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bal Harbour, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, but Not Worth a Detour”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

There was nothing wrong with the restaurant. The garden was nice, not great, but not bad. The nibbles with the drinks were 50% good. My starter, les petits farcies, was very good. Both of our main courses, fish and vea.l were very average. The cheese was well presented. The sorbets were fair. All in all nothing miserable, but nothing dazzling.

The service was attentive, but with only 5 tables in the garden it would difficult not to be. All in all a disappointment for a one star restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, but expensive”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is a tough one to rate. Pricing aside, the food was good, service professional (although a bit slow to start with - got the impression that our primary waiter was avoiding us initially due to a perceived language barrier), etc.

My only gripes were that we were seated in the back area which is pretty devoid of any atmosphere though not unclean or anything, and that the wine list had nothing particularly affordable which is tough in a foreign country where you might not recognise any producers.

A squadron of waiters served us during the evening. We went with the daily tasting menu of three courses with 2-3 choices at each course. Each dish was quite crafted and definitely tasty though small, as is not uncommon with this type of restaurant.

If you're looking for rustic, earthy, affordable, this is not the place. If you're not quite on a budget and want interesting food, give it a shot.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FightingPrawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cilantro also viewed

Fontvieille, Arles
Fontvieille, Arles
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing