We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“somewhat disappointing”
Review of Le Mas d'Entremont

Le Mas d'Entremont
Reserve with
Le Mas d'Entremont is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #145 of 864 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $62
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“somewhat disappointing”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

As a group of friends we met here for lunch outside on the terrace. The gardens are beautiful and the terrace was shaded from the hot sun by trees. We had to ask about 5 times for water to be brought to the table and after a 15 minute delay we eventually got four jugs. Lovely canapés accompanied the aperitifs. However, the meal itself was very disappointing with very slow service, the meals all arriving at different times. In order to enjoy a hot meal, some of us had to start eating some time before the rest of the table had received their meals. I had the gambas starter; the prawns were very dry and overcooked, but the rest of the dish was pleasant enough. I then had the lamb that was nicely cooked, but spoiled by a huge tomato stuffed with some kind of cheese on the side of the plate. A small quantity of ratatouille was nice as was the mashed vegetable. A friend had to send her duck back to the kitchen as it was very overcooked and not pink as requested. There was also a slight problem with the wine as they tried to serve us a 2010 rose which is not acceptable. We did not have dessert but the coffee was served with good petits fours. Bill for the above with a glass of wine was €52. There are much better places to eat in Aix for that special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hjwaix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    52
    26
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kandahar
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beautiful location: quiet, surrounded by gardens. Food was excellent, service very good. All local ingredients. Put on a shirt and tie and do justice to this restaurant

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BladeKandahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, USA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

All of the splendid reviews that I read here and on other forums were absolutely spot on. This place is fantastic- food, service, ambiance-all great! Don't go to Provence and miss this jewel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Searaymim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, mixed feelings about food and service”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The restaurant is part of a hotel set in an old building with some charm. It is quiet inspite of being near a busy road. We had a nice time at dinner on the terrace. Welcome and service were friendly but lacking style and sometimes a bit intrusive.
Food was of interest and somewhat creative, however low in quantity (especially main course, I had 3 small langoustines and a piece of vegie) and not precisely cooked (they were way overcooked and lacked taste).
There is a single-price menu (43€). Wine is adequately priced.
Overall a nice time if one is not too much concerned about the shortfalls I mentioned.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank flyingFrenchman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Peaceful spot near Aix”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in one of the self-contained rooms, with its pleasant patio area. The grounds of the hotel are cleverly arranged, with nice water features and shady zones. The service was very good. The restaurant is in an attractive courtyard, and gave us a good meal, well served.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thonemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mas d'Entremont also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Mas d'Entremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing