We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What luck!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Zinc d'Hugo

Le Zinc d'Hugo
Reserve with
Le Zinc d'Hugo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 834 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Cuisines: French, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What luck!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were passing by one lunchtime and found ourselves attracted by the plat du jour and the humble entrance to this small restaurant. We were delighted by our discovery. The fish was excellent and beautiully presented the service was prompted but never hurried and the ambiance was very pleasant in a rather cave like setting through which the chef would pass from time to time.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank avoiretetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    152
    53
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Rémy de Provence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible! Don't waste your euros!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Quite frankly one of the worst value for quality experiences of my life. Reheated and oversauced food for 27 and 25 euros a main course! Ridiculous. I followed the advice of the très branché "Fooding" guide... I am now convinced their reviews are mere mockeries of their audience. Don't waste your euros. The food, atmosphere and greeting in this pathetic little restaurant are all pitoyable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank La P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible!!! Must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

The ambience, the service, and especially the food - all were perfect at this family-run gem. The crumbed scallops were incredible - one of the best meals I've ever had. The menu is completely in French, but the server/owner explained it in detail. We paid 79 euro for a salad, two entrees, a bottle of wine and dessert. Worth every penny!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne and London, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Top notch cuisine is ex working man's cantine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stumbling upon Le Zinc quite by accident, we went to this restaurant as a party of seven (including three children) on a searingly hot day in the middle of August. The children's menus were generous and fully consumed and we adults either had the plat du jour or in my case, some excellent veal sweetbreads preceded by the best gazpacho I have had in years. Service was prompt, efficient and polite from a knowledgeable waiter (and sommelier combined). With wine, deccerts and coffess, it all came to around 170 euros. Yes, 170 euros for seven.....and no you don't have to tip in France. It's a civilised country.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cteague1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good quality tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

I ate at Zinc D'Hugo on a Friday for dinner. The service was friendly, the waitress answers all my questions and offered to put the sauce on the side. Although starters were not ordered, the food came in good time.

It was clear from the restaurant and the menu that their speciality was meat cooked on a wood grill. I had "porc noir" which was succlent and well seasoned with provencal herbs. I also tried the beef fillet, which was tender and cooked to perfection. The style of the food was rustic and the accompliments were simple, but effective. To finish I had tart tartin, which was delicious and a perfect finish to a lovely meal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwyneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Zinc d'Hugo also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Zinc d'Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing