We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dinner to begin our France Adventure”
Review of Le 18

Le 18
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 6/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #39 of 1,045 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: French
Description: Geoffrey and his father welcome you in a comfortable and friendly room of 16 seats. Cozy, nice terrace in summer and beautiful vaulted room in the basement to host groups. Traditional homemade cuisine made exclusively from fresh products. You will discover new flavors with dishes like salmon with bacon, crispy shrimp rolls or duck breast with a cider sauce ... And many more depending on the season. For more traditional gourmets, we propose the roquefort sauce piece of beef with a homemade potato gratin. To ensure quality cuisine we propose a menu at the size of the restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: Geoffrey and his father welcome you in a comfortable and friendly room of 16 seats. Cozy, nice terrace in summer and beautiful vaulted room in the basement to host groups. Traditional homemade cuisine made exclusively from fresh products. You will discover new flavors with dishes like salmon with bacon, crispy shrimp rolls or duck breast with a cider sauce ... And many more depending on the season. For more traditional gourmets, we propose the roquefort sauce piece of beef with a homemade potato gratin. To ensure quality cuisine we propose a menu at the size of the restaurant.
Reviewed May 29, 2017

Thanks to Brigitte and Yves for a perfect evening. My husband and I were beginning our 15 day adventure in France by having dinner in Aix! Le 18 was a find on tripadvisor and we are so glad we did. Yves made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in and Brigitte's masterpiece dinner was unbelievable.
Thank you for a special night!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DV0622 V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 452 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

14 seat restaurant you need to book. Run by a couple. He is actually Irish.
Daily menu. No rabbit if he cant source that day!
Simple veg based entrees or starters for u yanks....but v good I had asparagus with vanilla and caramelised balsamic

Mains we had seafood risotto and
Lamb
Free fizzy white he is proud of

Gem !

Irish Mike

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank mikemA62NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2017 via mobile

We walked by Le 18 twice and were lucky enough to get a table with no notice. First off, the proprietor Yves is a very nice person and works hard to speak English as wall and to explain the menu. He even apologized about the glasses being older and hazy, and not dirty
The food was awesome. It seems that the menu changes often and that you can maybe even order favorite past dishes ahead of time?
It was mostly just a nice, romantic and memorable experience in the South of France.

Date of visit: April 2017
2  Thank 448timd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

This little restaurant was a real surprise. The proprietor Yves was gracious. We started with a complimentary glass of sparkling rose. We finished with a complimentary cognac. In between we had a wonderful dinner. The service was impeccable and the food delicious and the price reasonable.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank oshaughnessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

Le18 Restaurant:

While walking through Aix-en-Provence yesterday, we came across Le18, a very small restaurant that seats no more than 16 customers. We liked the looks of it, so we booked a lunch reservation for today. A super choice! First of all, it's a mom and pop operation, and the guy is so gracious and welcoming and serves us two complimentary glasses of cold rose. He obviously thinks that we speak French, so he explains today's minimal menu in French.
Then, the magic begins. He serves us the amuse bouche, two tiny plates of very small white beans in an olive oil and tomato sauce. We taste the beans with tiny little spoons that accompany the amuse bouche. Tasty!
Next, the burrata starter arrives. This is a "mind blower" entree. There's a large, round mound of burrata with delicately grilled, green asparagus and dots of balsamic vinegar on the black, slate plate. It's the burrata that makes your head spin! Every bite tastes like very soft, delicate, tasty "cream."
Then he serves us the plat principals. We order the salmon papillote, which has a thin pastry skin wrapped over salmon with a little bacon inside. On the side is iceberg lettuce with a light vinaigrette and cinnamon is lightly dusted on the slate.
We also order the veal which is cooked in a square ramekin in a "rich" cream sauce with sautéed snow peas on the side. Both dishes seem to be examples of simple Provençal cuisine, but elevated to a sophisticated level.
Before we leave, we tell the owner to thank his wife for a beautiful meal. This is one of the top three meals we've had on our four week European trip! He thanks us and puts his hand on his heart in appreciation of our choosing his small restaurant for lunch.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank Worldfoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le 18 also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing