We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Deux Garcons

Les Deux Garcons
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went here based on reputation but found it very disappointing. The plan had been to have a drink followed by a meal but the waiter was so disagreeable and the restaurant not nearly as full as those nearby so we only had a drink. It was actually quite difficult to pay - the churlish waiter seemed reluctant to make eye contact so it was almost tempting to walk out without paying! Of course we didn't and, to be fair,there were quite a few people eating outside who seemed to be enjoying their food but we just did not find it welcoming enough to stay. Such a shame - it is an historic place and has real potential.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    338
    292
    213
    259
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quaint place in a lovely town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

One of the oldest restaurants in the area so we had to try it! Sat outside in the warm sun and did what the locals do! We watched everyone walk by! Wine was good, service was good and the food was ok! Prices were way to high for what we had for a lunch meal. But we had to at least say we tried it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McCoolpurpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quintessentially French!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

You will not find a better people watching on the Cours Mirabeau in Aix en Provence. For lunch, we had a classic French sandwich with toasted bread on the outside, ham and cheese on the inside and and egg on top. You can stay for a long time at your table and not be pestered to leave. Just love this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lavatera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"The" place in avignon”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The oldest restaurant in Aix. The decor is sublime inside and the terrace is large so you always find a seat. Waiters are nice and friendly but food is somehow not to the expectation for such a terrific place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank phidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The real thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Have enjoyed numerous breakfasts coffees, snacks and lunches here. Can’t wait to return when in Aix – why, this IS Aix. I see I'm in the minority, but also see what goes wrong. For one thing, the place uses four main spaces, and there are more, and these evolve and subdivide through the day. The breakfast and then coffee crowd give way to table-cloths in certain sections for lunch, light lunches are down one end, and so on. Street watching tables are totally different from formal dining. Those many complications help explain varied responses to this genuinely historic institution. You must sit in the right space for the level you want. Just passing by once, and you’d never appreciate the areas and their timeless rhythms. Over the decades, the routines have got so settled that no-one can get in the way, so that’s another reason why some people don’t get the place. It's not going to change, so you have to. The waiters work long hours, have impressive memories for orders, load their trays amazingly, move quickly, remain mostly cheerful, but can also get to be a bit variable and erratic. Look carefully at the menu for weekday lunches, and find genuine bargains. Don’t look closely in the evening, and you pay much more. Okay, you’ve got to pay attention to this place, accept that it's seriously old, and follow it through the day, but it’s worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Deux Garcons also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Les Deux Garcons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing