We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
243
15
11
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
15
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests each morning wonderful hosts short drive fresh fruit recommend staying here early june home base our room was spacious wonderful stay stayed nights lovely pool caroline hubert herbs provence garden
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 270 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The owners Caroline and Hubert make this a home away from home. They make you feel like family. Caroline is the ultimate hostess and a great cook. Her breakfasts are complete with homemade jams, honey, french bread and pastry and always a special breakfast dish she would make with wonderful herbs from the garden.

The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, and well maintained. We loved the shower and the great lotions, shampoos and moisturizers.

The pool was a delight late in the day after sightseeing all day.

The location in Aix en Provence is a perfect location. We spent two weeks and were able to get to all the major cities in Provence within 20 minutes to an hour's drive from Aix

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

great B&B. beautiful rooms. breakfast was good. hostess was very helpful with local knowledge. pool nice and not too busy. only downside was that it is a bit out of town so you do need to drive to go out for dinner. also quite couple-ey.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloJoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I wanted to wait a month since our 10 day France trip to gain perspective. Not only was the building and grounds meticulously reflective of what one would imagine provence is; the proprietors, including their daughter and staff, were the most knowledgeable, friendly and helpful folks I met throughout our trip. Plus, as you have read from the other patrons, our day and evenings were organized and discussed with Caroline and Hubert not only prior, but after the fact. Each morning and evening, I looked forward to find out what the others did and tell them of our adventures to Cassis, Aix, Marseilles, Avignon, Orange, Nimes, Arles, Les Beaux, Equalieres, Toulon, etc...Winery tours, boat tours, cliff climbing, walking trails, market days, solstice festivals. One Night, Hubert even had me into his residence to watch the world cup with him, so I would not need to go into town. We were in France for 7 days after we left Les Clos des Freres Gris and the whole time I wanted to return. The room was the most comfortable of any for my 15 year old son and my wife. And the patrons (Aussies,Thai, Germans, Britons and Americans) were the most interesting and friendly folks we encountered throughout our travels. We also stayed in Avignon, Paris and Caen in Normandy. Finally, besides incredible local breakfast (most ingredients out of her garden!!) cuisine, Caroline gave me directions everyday and evening, made reservations AND I did not miss a turn the entire time. Her country French restaurant recommendation was so remote, so local (no foreigners) and the owners LouLou and Suzie have already sent us a note. Next trip, I might just stay there the entire time and do day trips. C'est Formidable!!!

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

If comfortable rooms, good location and delicious breakfasts matter to you, then this is the place. Caroline and her family are the most amazing hosts, helpful, interesting and welcoming. Even their lovely dogs are pleased to see you on your return from a day's outing. The 7 p.m get together with other guests is a nice touch as is the wine and canapes on arrival.The fact that they speak perfect English might be a bonus for some travellers, but I enjoyed the repartee en francais.Finding the location was easy with a GPS, otherwise take note of the number as you could miss the entrance.
Just clicked with this charming lady ........you will too!

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We spent two relaxing nights at Le Clos de Frere Gris and quite enjoyed our all too brief visit. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The large guest lounge was delightful and complimentary wine is served each evening at 7:00. Breakfast is available on the patio when weather permits and we enjoyed a great selection of breads, fruit, yogurt and a special dish which Caroline prepares each morning. The guest computer in the lounge was a real bonus. Although the location isn't close to the city centre we were given excellent directions as to how to get there and where to park. Parking in Aix can be difficult and we recommend using the large parking garage near the fountain. The suggestions we were given for restaurants in Aix were also excellent. We truly enjoyed Le Clos des Freres Gris and would return in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomedicMunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews