We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential B&B in the heart of beautiful Provence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos Des Freres Gris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2010

My husband and I had the great pleasure of being guests at the beautiful Clos Des Freres Gris located five minutes from the center of Aix en Provence. Caroline and Hubert's passion for the beauty of Provence and ensuring that guests enjoy the good life in Aix is abundantly clear from the moment you step foot in Le Clos. Rooms are impeccably decorated in the traditional colors of Provence and a delicious breakfast is served daily on the sun filled morning patio. Caroline and Hubert graciously helped guests to make dinner reservations and offered invaluable advice on what to see while in Provence. For months to come I will be daydreaming of the Saturday market in Aix and Caroline's amazing savory French toast. Many thanks to Caroline and Hubert for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lthornton81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2010

The owners Caroline and Hubert make this a home away from home. They make you feel like family. Caroline is the ultimate hostess and a great cook. Her breakfasts are complete with homemade jams, honey, french bread and pastry and always a special breakfast dish she would make with wonderful herbs from the garden.

The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, and well maintained. We loved the shower and the great lotions, shampoos and moisturizers.

The pool was a delight late in the day after sightseeing all day.

The location in Aix en Provence is a perfect location. We spent two weeks and were able to get to all the major cities in Provence within 20 minutes to an hour's drive from Aix

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

great B&B. beautiful rooms. breakfast was good. hostess was very helpful with local knowledge. pool nice and not too busy. only downside was that it is a bit out of town so you do need to drive to go out for dinner. also quite couple-ey.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloJoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I wanted to wait a month since our 10 day France trip to gain perspective. Not only was the building and grounds meticulously reflective of what one would imagine provence is; the proprietors, including their daughter and staff, were the most knowledgeable, friendly and helpful folks I met throughout our trip. Plus, as you have read from the other patrons, our day and evenings were organized and discussed with Caroline and Hubert not only prior, but after the fact. Each morning and evening, I looked forward to find out what the others did and tell them of our adventures to Cassis, Aix, Marseilles, Avignon, Orange, Nimes, Arles, Les Beaux, Equalieres, Toulon, etc...Winery tours, boat tours, cliff climbing, walking trails, market days, solstice festivals. One Night, Hubert even had me into his residence to watch the world cup with him, so I would not need to go into town. We were in France for 7 days after we left Les Clos des Freres Gris and the whole time I wanted to return. The room was the most comfortable of any for my 15 year old son and my wife. And the patrons (Aussies,Thai, Germans, Britons and Americans) were the most interesting and friendly folks we encountered throughout our travels. We also stayed in Avignon, Paris and Caen in Normandy. Finally, besides incredible local breakfast (most ingredients out of her garden!!) cuisine, Caroline gave me directions everyday and evening, made reservations AND I did not miss a turn the entire time. Her country French restaurant recommendation was so remote, so local (no foreigners) and the owners LouLou and Suzie have already sent us a note. Next trip, I might just stay there the entire time and do day trips. C'est Formidable!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

If comfortable rooms, good location and delicious breakfasts matter to you, then this is the place. Caroline and her family are the most amazing hosts, helpful, interesting and welcoming. Even their lovely dogs are pleased to see you on your return from a day's outing. The 7 p.m get together with other guests is a nice touch as is the wine and canapes on arrival.The fact that they speak perfect English might be a bonus for some travellers, but I enjoyed the repartee en francais.Finding the location was easy with a GPS, otherwise take note of the number as you could miss the entrance.
Just clicked with this charming lady ........you will too!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We spent two relaxing nights at Le Clos de Frere Gris and quite enjoyed our all too brief visit. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The large guest lounge was delightful and complimentary wine is served each evening at 7:00. Breakfast is available on the patio when weather permits and we enjoyed a great selection of breads, fruit, yogurt and a special dish which Caroline prepares each morning. The guest computer in the lounge was a real bonus. Although the location isn't close to the city centre we were given excellent directions as to how to get there and where to park. Parking in Aix can be difficult and we recommend using the large parking garage near the fountain. The suggestions we were given for restaurants in Aix were also excellent. We truly enjoyed Le Clos des Freres Gris and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomedicMunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My husband , teenage son and I stayed as guests of the gracious LeCompte family and couldn't have been more pleased. Caroline, Hubert & Charlotte made our stay so comfortable that we were spoiled for the rest of our trip. Every detail was perfect - we wished we could have stayed longer! Wonderful relaxed breakfasts with delicious food and coffee allowed us to ease into our day. The rooms were spacious, lovely, very clean and beautifully decorated. Also, we really enjoyed all of the restaurant recommendations and excellent directions. I hope this lovely family continues to run this B&B for a long time. Others could learn from them. We would definitely loveto go back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
2.4 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
749 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
671 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Gallici
Villa Gallici
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
909 reviews
10.3 mi away
Chateau de Fonscolombe
Chateau de Fonscolombe
#1 of 3 in Le Puy-Sainte-Reparade
29 reviews
4.4 mi away
A La Maison
A La Maison
#3 of 5 in Saint-Marc-Jaumegarde
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Des Freres Gris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Des Freres Gris

Address: 2240 avenue Fortune Ferrini | Ferrini, 13080, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $192 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos Des Freres Gris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Des Freres Gris Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing