We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
243
15
11
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
15
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender roomother guestseach morningwonderful hostsyogurtshort driverecommend staying hereearly junehome baseour room was spaciouswonderful staystayed nightslovely poolcarolinehubertherbsprovence
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 270 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2009

My significant other and I stayed with Caroline and Hubert in July 2009. We were on a much needed vacation from high stress jobs in the states and Le Clos Des Freres Gris was a wonderful place to rest up and enjoy the sites of Provence. The Inn was very well appointed.. the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean, and the property is gorgeous! The breakfasts were lovely out on the patio, with the wonderful breads, fresh fruits, homemade jams and egg bakes. Caroline and Hubert gave us great tips on places to drive to in order to see the lovely hill side towns, the lavendar and sunflower fields, the wonderful markets and the quaint restaurants in Aix en Provence. They even gave us a great recommendation on where to hang out to see the Tour De France come thru... just a few miles from the Inn. How cool was that?? To see all the bikers just a few feet in front of us! Definitely one of the highlights of our trip! And then there was Lucy... the sweet Beagle that gave us our morning "puppy fix" while we were away from our own pooch. We loved every minute and wished we could have stayed longer. The only downside was the heat... which they can't do much about! But otherwise, it was a wonderful visit and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WPSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

This was our second visit to Le Clos in a year, which says it all!

We had a 5 day visit last September, but this time we could only manage a short stay, arranged last minute with great assistance from Caroline. However, as we expected 2 days is just not enough, we found everything as perfect as we remembered, and so I expect another visit will be shortly arranged!

Caroline runs the perfect B&B, she provides for all your needs and is always available for helpful advice and yet never intrusive. You receive the personal attention only a friend could give and the service and faciliites you might hope for in a good hotel...Perfection.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asolare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Caroline is amazing. The perfect hostess, chef, tour guide. Cried
when I left. Want to go back RIGHT NOW! The house is incredible,
the grounds great, our room exquisite. Breakfast on the patio to
die for, such a wonderful way to start the day. Evening rose and
nibbles a fun way to wind down before dinner. Everything about this
place is surreal, so over the top wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kardimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Le Clos Des Freres Gris strikes the right blend between comfortable service, very helpful staff, memorable rooms and authentic french surroundings so it feels like your own private home away from home. Just 5 minutes from the center of Aix-en-Provence we found it a great location that was just outside the hustle and bustle of the town center. Go!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbangirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

If you want the best breakfast in Provence, a beautiful room, and someone who takes a truly personal approach to her guests, stay with Caroline.

When we arrived at the beautiful house, we parked in the wrong place (at the neighbor's). Very mindful of her neighbors, Caroline made sure that we moved promptly and we felt like kids being reprimanded. But what we realized with every subsequent interaction is that she wants to take care of every detail and make sure that everything is perfect. After staying in several B&Bs throughout Provence and Cote d'Azur, I have to say that Caroline is the most personally involved hostess we encountered and we fell in love with her.

She absolutely has the best homemade breakfast we experienced during the entire trip. Her omelettes are divine, complete with homemade jams and freshly baked bread. And she provides excellent service in making dinner arrangements, providing maps, and general recommendations for whatever you would like to do. She even gave us straw baskets for shopping at the weekend market.

While we were there, we met a lovely couple who have stayed with her frequently, and now we know why. Every detail is perfect, including the L'Occitane amenities in your room. We stayed in the Lavendar room and it was just perfect.

The location is outside of town, so you have to drive a few minutes to get into Aix. That is the only downside. But if you don't have to be in the city center, you won't be disappointed!

Thank you Caroline! It was a beautiful trip with some special memories.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh_Ann_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews