We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
243
15
11
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
15
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender roomother guestseach morningwonderful hostsyogurtshort driverecommend staying hereearly junehome baseour room was spaciouswonderful staystayed nightslovely poolcarolinehubertherbsprovence
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 270 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Caroline is amazing. The perfect hostess, chef, tour guide. Cried
when I left. Want to go back RIGHT NOW! The house is incredible,
the grounds great, our room exquisite. Breakfast on the patio to
die for, such a wonderful way to start the day. Evening rose and
nibbles a fun way to wind down before dinner. Everything about this
place is surreal, so over the top wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kardimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Le Clos Des Freres Gris strikes the right blend between comfortable service, very helpful staff, memorable rooms and authentic french surroundings so it feels like your own private home away from home. Just 5 minutes from the center of Aix-en-Provence we found it a great location that was just outside the hustle and bustle of the town center. Go!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbangirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

If you want the best breakfast in Provence, a beautiful room, and someone who takes a truly personal approach to her guests, stay with Caroline.

When we arrived at the beautiful house, we parked in the wrong place (at the neighbor's). Very mindful of her neighbors, Caroline made sure that we moved promptly and we felt like kids being reprimanded. But what we realized with every subsequent interaction is that she wants to take care of every detail and make sure that everything is perfect. After staying in several B&Bs throughout Provence and Cote d'Azur, I have to say that Caroline is the most personally involved hostess we encountered and we fell in love with her.

She absolutely has the best homemade breakfast we experienced during the entire trip. Her omelettes are divine, complete with homemade jams and freshly baked bread. And she provides excellent service in making dinner arrangements, providing maps, and general recommendations for whatever you would like to do. She even gave us straw baskets for shopping at the weekend market.

While we were there, we met a lovely couple who have stayed with her frequently, and now we know why. Every detail is perfect, including the L'Occitane amenities in your room. We stayed in the Lavendar room and it was just perfect.

The location is outside of town, so you have to drive a few minutes to get into Aix. That is the only downside. But if you don't have to be in the city center, you won't be disappointed!

Thank you Caroline! It was a beautiful trip with some special memories.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh_Ann_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Like the rest of the reviews I have only positive comments about Le Clos Des Freres Gris. Carolyn was a fantastic host and extremely helpful sorting out an issue with our rental car. The room was comfortable, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Oh.. and I can't forget to mention that the breakfasts were amazing! Four stars all the way!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancouver-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Le Clos Des Freres Gris, is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast located in Aix-en-Provence. It's a lovely old house which has been lovingly restored by it's owners Caroline and Hubert.

The house is in the most idyllic setting. It has it's own pool and Caroline grows her own fruit and vegetables. There are lots to do around the house if you decide to chill out, boules, internet, swimming, sunbathing, and reading. Caroline has put together a very comprehensive guide to the area of where to go and what to see.

We stayed for 2 night in May 09. We were in the Côté Cour room which was decorated in a rich blue colour scheme. The room has everything a top hotel room would have only with much more charm. Hair-dryer, bottled water, dressing gowns, a shower to die for and then there was the bed one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

Each morning Caroline provided everyone with a cooked breakfast. The two mornings we're were there we had omelette and quiche, both fresh, home made and delicious. The thing I enjoyed the most was her gorgeous home made jams and marmalade.

We got engaged while we were staying here and Caroline gave us our first bottle of Champagne to celebrate and as if that wasn't enough she gave us a very nice salt and pepper set the morning we left.

I have posted several items on trip advisor and I always score them out of ten. Caroline and her beautiful home scored 11/10 yes that is eleven. There is nothing this lady has forgotten.

The only thing I would have her include would be the opportunity to have an evening meal cooked by her and eaten on the homely patio. Now that would be an experience I would love to have.

.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waterloomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews