We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Clos Des Freres Gris
Nearby Hotels
$201
$168
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Boutique Hotel Cezanne(Aix-en-Provence)
$158
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Mozart Hotel(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Concorde(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
$102
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Aquabella Hotel(Aix-en-Provence)
$178
$167
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Aix en Provence(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
$76
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
238
15
11
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
15
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender roomother guestsb beach morningwonderful hostsrose wineyogurtshort drivebeautiful propertyearly junedowntown aixhome baseour room was spaciousstayed nightswonderful staylovely poolcaroline
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 265 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We just stayed at Le Clos for 11 days this May which marked our third stay in the past 5 years. We kept coming back because of the incredible hospitality of Caroline and her husband Hubert as well as the amazing setting and feel of this B&B.

It felt like coming home to family, where we were taken care of and nurtured. Caroline has an incredible and uncanny sense of what each visitor needs and is ready with all types of information and guidance on how to spend your day, what restaurants you should eat at and details about how to get there and what to see and do. She will make any reservations that you need which is helpful as you are likely to receive great service as a result.

Her breakfasts are unique and wonderful- home cooked/baked with either a savory or sweet each day. I didn't want to leave- our time was idyllic and everything we could have dreamed of. We would return again and again!

Room Tip: The web portrays them well.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spivko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was our third time staying at le clos de frere Gris. We stayed for eleven days to enjoy the charming setting and thoroughly explored Provence. The hospitality offered by Caroline and Hubert was beyond compare. They graciously sent us each morning well nourished, with helpful suggestions for the days activities, then welcomed us home to a glass of wine!
The rooms are lovely and reflect the Provençal region. The grounds and common area are relaxing, comfortable and inviting.
But the piece de resistance is the chapel.....full of fabric and textiles from both North America and Europe from years gone by. Quilts grace the walls and samplers abound. A great place to visit and drool at the art of the past.
Can't wait to return for a fourth time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wonderful hosts! Excellent accommodations, beautiful property, amazing breakfasts and such good suggestions on restaurants and day tours. A delightful time. Caroline and Hubert were top notch hosts and advisors. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This a truly excellent Bed and breakfast with every amenity. Our hosts Caroline and her husband Hubert could not do enough for us. The bedrooms and bathrooms are superb and breakfast on the Terrace a delight. A glass of wine is served each night at 7pm. We thoroughly recommend coming all the way from Australia or anywhere else to spend time here in Aix.

Room Tip: Get the Bus or a Cab/Taxi into town. Do not drive there as there is limited parking and if you miss it you are in for a long drive around the city centre.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jexthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three days during our honeymoon in August, 2013. Le Clos des Freres Gris was our favourite stop on our trip. Our hosts Caroline, Hubert, and their daughter are incredibly kind, warm, and welcoming. Although I speak French, my wife does not but this was no issue as they all speak perfect English, too.
Breakfast every morning was delicious, and every evening a glass of wine is waiting for you on the terrace before you head out for the evening. As they knew we were on our honeymoon, a glass of champagne was left in our room on the first night, and they then recommended and made reservations at a fabulous restaurant in Aix, Mitch, where we were treated incredibly well, welcomed with champagne, and ate one of the best meals.
Despite being slightly outside the city centre, getting to and from downtown Aix was no issue as the bus passes by regularly (and is usually right on time) and taxis are available later at night to come back home. Being a bit removed from downtown gives it a bit more of a country feeling which is very nice.
This is a beautiful place to stay and we hope to visit again soon. We highly recommend it!
Paul & Natalie
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews