We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos Des Freres Gris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Greetings!!! My husband & I took a 2 day break in Provence on our way to Paris for work.

I don't know where to begin in my praise for Le Clos des Freres Gris. Caroline & Hubert are 2 very warm, thoughtful and welcoming hosts. For the casual traveler, they run a great B & B, the bed (which is a very well kitted out, beautifully decorated & comfortable room) and a superlatively fantastic breakfast (which Caroline personally cooks).

For the avid traveler, you are in great hands. Caroline & Hubert spend time with each of their guests every morning, understand your interests and then point you in the right direction to explore the neighborhood of Provence. They have a ready supply of maps and information books and patiently run through the different agendas. They even ensure that you have dinner reservations at restaurants for your choice of cuisine!!!! All in all, staying with them has been an experience we will cherish.

Take a bow, Caroline & Hubert!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samya_MaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 265 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

After three weeks on the road this was the perfect accommodation for us to take a few days out and relax in a beautiful environment.

Caroline and Hubert have put together a beautiful B&B with enormous rooms, amazing decoration and facilities that provide everything you could want.

The evening Rose' was something that we looked forward to each day and provided a chance to discuss the approaching evenings events with restaurant recommendations, bookings and directions provided by Hubert and Caroline.

I would encourage everyone to stay at Les Clos Des Freres Gris.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful setting. The pool is stunning. The rooms are very nice and the breakfasts on the patio are super. Caroline is a good host. We found it very peaceful and a bit out of Aix en Provence which we liked but we had a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Spent two nights here while touring with another couple in late September. Just a brief drive from central Aix. Gorgeous property, beautifully furnished and appointed in the spirit of Provence. All amenities very well done. Gracious Hubert helped us get settled, even helping with bags. Caroline provided evening wine and great morning breakfasts both days, along with help on local restaurants by giving advice, making calls,etc. Weather was a little windy for the pool, but it looked great. Very positive experience and picturesque property. A highlight of our 14 day tour of Provence.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We could not have done Provence without Caroline and Hubert. Not only was Les Clos absolutely beautiful.. everything you dream about in Provence,.. gardens.. trees.. gorgeous and comfortable rooms with the smell of lavender and herbs everywhere, but Caroline and Hubert completely took care of us. After an amazing breakfast every morning, Caroline guided us on what to see in Provence, and we would have missed so many amazing places if it wasn't for her. Little towns nestled into the mountains, remarkable restaurants that were off the beaten path and market days that were absolutely extraordinary.. we are already planning our trip back for next year! We felt completely at home and comfortable and it was absolute heaven coming back from a day of exploring to take a dip in the pool or just relax in the hammock and soak up the gorgeous surroundings. Perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shanny_obryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent four nights in the Lavande room, which was very attractive and comfortable. The building is well restored and has a handsome outdoor garden area where breakfast and evening wine are served. The location is close to Aix proper but outside the city. So why were we happy to leave? Caroline is the primary party one deals with although her husband Hubert and daughter (a lovely and helpful young woman, home on summer break) were also around. Caroline managed to make us feel criticized and judged--she thought we had suitcases that were too heavy ("People come from Brazil with small carry on bags") so we were left to carry them up and down the steep somewhat spiral staircase on arrival and departure. On departure she stood at the bottom of the stairs and as we reached the last two steps said "Can I help?" My partner and I are 65 and 59.

She prides herself on her breakfasts and seemed displeased that my partner, who does not eat breakfast, slept in. On the second day she asked if we needed anything and when my partner asked for an extra bath towel (for drying her hair) she resisted. In front of other guests she asked why the two we had were not enough and suggested that we use the hand towels for this purpose. Give me a break--for an extra towel she had to get into a power struggle? There was more like this ---enough to set my teeth on edge. One of the other guests expressed that she seemed stressed and tense. The hospitality industry is hard I am sure. But we were really good guests. Followed the rules, checked out on time, left no messes, were appreciative of help, paid in cash as requested. We don't know what the problem was but we felt uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank newy0rkcitygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Le Clos des Freres Gris is an amazing place to stay. It's such a beautiful property you can't get enough of it.
When you arrive, you smell lavender all around the property. It's so good.
Caroline is a great host. She welcomed us so nicely. The room is absolutely gorgeous. Great bed, great bathroom. Breakfast is delicious and the whole house is amazing.
The B&B is a few minutes away from Aix-en-Provence city centre but it is not a problem at all. I didn't rent a car and I had no trouble getting around. There is a bus stop nearby the B&B that takes you to the city centre. The bus is fine and cheap.
I highly recommend it. It's a great place to stay. I stayed there with a friend but I recommend it for couples. The whole environment is incredibly romantic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
684 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
765 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Mas d'Entremont
Le Mas d'Entremont
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,140 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
10.3 mi away
Chateau de Fonscolombe
Chateau de Fonscolombe
#1 of 3 in Le Puy-Sainte-Reparade
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Des Freres Gris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Des Freres Gris

Address: 2240 avenue Fortune Ferrini | Ferrini, 13080, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $196 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos Des Freres Gris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Des Freres Gris Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing