We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Comfortable B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos Des Freres Gris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

What a wonderful bed and breakfast! Caroline and Hubert are lovely, lovely people. Welcoming, friendly, and very knowledgeable about Provence. The B&B itself is located just outside of Aix, so you have access to great restaurants and city life while being secluded enough to really experience Provencal life.

Caroline has done a beautiful job with the rooms, garden, and- of course- her fabulous breakfasts... a peach/apple tart one morning and cheese pastry the next. Hubert pours wine every evening and the garden is a lovely setting for conversing with other guests.

We only had about 48 hours in Provence (far too little!) but Caroline was determined to make the most of our short stay. She gave us maps of the Luberon region with a route charted out where we could visit vineyards and see lavender fields. She also made a dinner reservation for us at L'Epicurien- a great recommendation for our last night :)

Lastly, Caroline's vintage textile and fabric workshop was amazing (definitely ask to see it!) My boyfriend bought one of her fabric bags as a gift for his mother- a great memento of our trip. It was also nice that Caroline and Hubert speak fluent English (I heard her speaking Italian and French too!). We were, at last, able to communicate and have help in planning our day/meals.

If you want a more authentic and charming experience of Provence than a hotel can give you but at an affordable rate, I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in Le Clos des Freres Gris for 3 nights in the Lavender Room, which Caroline kindly put an extra bed into for our daughter. The room easily accommodated the extra bed, without loosing the nice side table and chairs. The room has two big windows so is really bright (when you open the shutters - the everlasting battle to keep the heat out in hot climates), so along with the bathroom window provides a nice cross breeze in the room. Nice touch to have a small bottles of water beside the bed, replenished each day.

The bathroom was well stocked with L'Occitane products, bathrobes and swimming pool towels. Do use the pool it is really nice, and long enought to get in a good swim.

The garden is really well screened from the adjacent properties. It is great to wander around Caroline's vegetable garden and even try your hand at boules, or just sit in the shade at a number of seating areas around the property.

The guests lounge is full of useful information, especially the dining options folder complete with menus. There is a well stocked English library and some board games - all of which we used.

The kitchen corner is useful and allows you the option of assembling simple snacks and eating them in the courtyard seating area usually used for breakfast. A communal fridge is great too and allows you to chill drinks and keep a small quantity of food in.

Breakfast as other reviewers have attested to is really good. Lots of choices and something special prepared by Caroline each day.

The location is easy for accessing the centre of Aix, 5 minutes on a straigh road into the centre, but when you are at the property it does not feel like a suburban location. The best of both worlds.

We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we return to the area. Caroline, Hubert and their 2 cats and 2 dogs were all wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grainnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Le Clos Des Freres Gris for 3 nights in early June and really enjoyed our time there. Every aspect of the Caroline and Hebert's farmhouse turned B and B and surrounding grounds were exactly as we had hoped they would be for our first trip to Provence. We stayed in the Moine room the first night and it was quaint and comfortable. We had the pleasure of staying in the lovely Lavende room the last two night and loved it. Caroline was a wonderful hostess making her guests a delicious breakfast each morning, recommended great areas to visit while we drove around Provence each day and gave us restaurant recommendations were wonderful. If you plan to be in the Aix En Provence area I would highly recommend staying here and experiencing this special place and kind people.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwhenwecan5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We recently took a driving trip through southern France and had a lovely stay at Caroline and Hubert's place about 2 miles outside of the central city. As independent travelers we rely a lot on guidebooks and Tripadvisor, and in this case we were not disappointed.

The building is an old French farmhouse with a lovely garden; breakfast in the morning and a glass of wine are served in the garden and both are a feature that you won't want to miss. The rooms are nice and well-appointed, though to be sure this is not a modern farmhouse. The retrofitting for today's travelers is well done, though there is a stairway that could be a little tricky for older folks--we witnessed a couple struggle a bit with the luggage. Their is wifi in the lovely sitting room which we took full advantage of, but for local advice Caroline and Hubert are more than helpful and very knowledgeable.

We also learned that Provencal rose wine is not at all like other roses, much more delicious than I expected, and we are happy to have had the chance to meet a lovely wine and a hospitable couple at a great spot to stay for a few days in France.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguinblue8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We spent nine days in this fantastic property of Caroline and Hubert's. It was so easy to make the reservations and deposit from the states. After arriving we felt and were treated like family. Each day, after an incredible breakfast on the patio, we were given ideas on where we might like to visit; and each day proved to be a wonderful one with Caroline making reservations for us at different restaurants for the evening meal.
Caroline is also into quilts and has a beautiful chapel ,part of the old monastery, as her studio, covered in exquisite quilts. Each bedroom has incredible quilts in it and every corner and nook and cranny has been decorated so tastefully that it is a joy to just sit and be surrounded by beauty of what has been created just for your pleasure!

Room Tip: Every room is a winner!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in late May. The reservation process was super easy. Caroline gave us perfect driving directions and we kept in touch with text and email as our arrival got closer.
We arrived in time for evening wine and snacks. Later Caroline called and made us a dinner reservation. She also inquired about vegetarian options for me. We do not speak French and it was a joy to have someone from the US help us communicate.
Every day she helped us with planning our day trips.
We stayed in the very "Provence" Lavender Room. It was a charming room with a large modern bath. The bed was perfect and we had a great sleep with the sent of lavender in the air.
Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Beautiful place, very clean, great breakfast! Caroline the owner is a wonderful person. She is helpful and generous. Located in a beautiful setting. You will not want to stay anywhere else when you visit Aix en Provence.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetoshop_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
684 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
766 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Mas d'Entremont
Le Mas d'Entremont
#13 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,140 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
10.3 mi away
Chateau de Fonscolombe
Chateau de Fonscolombe
#1 of 3 in Le Puy-Sainte-Reparade
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Des Freres Gris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Des Freres Gris

Address: 2240 avenue Fortune Ferrini | Ferrini, 13080, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $195 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos Des Freres Gris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Des Freres Gris Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing