We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Clos Des Freres Gris
Nearby Hotels
Boutique Hotel Cezanne(Aix-en-Provence)
$190
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Villa Gallici(Aix-en-Provence)
$543
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Augustins(Aix-en-Provence)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel(Aix-en-Provence)
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$124
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$189
$168
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aquabella Hotel(Aix-en-Provence)
$191
$169
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Maison d'Aix(Aix-en-Provence)
$596
$424
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Mas d'Entremont(Aix-en-Provence)
$213
$205
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$362
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
239
15
11
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
15
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender roomother guestseach morningwonderful hostsrose wineyogurtshort drivebeautiful propertyearly junedowntown aixhome baseour room was spaciousstayed nightswonderful staylovely poolcarolinehubert
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 266 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at Le Clos des Freres Gris during May 2011 for two nights. Caroline and Hubert were lovely hosts and very helpful with ideas for places to go and places to eat. Nothing was too much trouble for Caroline.

Breakfast was delicious and the beautiful scent of lavender filled the home. The gardens are also beautiful.
Rooms are decorated beautifully to provide an authentic Provence experience with some modern touches in the bathroom including L'Occitane toiletries and Ralph Lauren towels.

Le Clos des Freres Gris is a short drive to the centre of Aix, however parking is easy in the multi storey carpark.


Highly recommend Le Clos des Freres Gris and two nights was not enough!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights and loved every minute of it. The minute you walk in and see it, you are in love. The guest house common area and the rooms themselves are so beautiful. The pictures don't really do it justice.
We stayed here as a home base for touring around, and it was the perfect location. Most places you would want to visit are within an hours drive.
Caroline and Hubert are amazing people, and have truly found their calling in life. They are extremely well informed and know the area so well. Their recommendations for places to see, things to do, and places to eat, were all perfection. They know what they're talking about, so trust them!
This was my first trip to France, and I can truly say that Le Clos Des Freres Gris was my favourite part of our trip. I dream of the day when we can come back here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caringtraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Le Clos des Frères Gris is a wonderful place where everything is perfect from the beautiful garden, to the warm welcome of the hosts and their precious advices, to the decoration of the house and the rooms, to the home-made and succulent breakfasts,... We stayed there 2 nights only but would have loved to enjoy a few more days. The bed & breakfast is about 10 minutes away by car from the center of Aix-en-Provence but situated in a quiet area where you can relax after a day of visit in Aix.

We would definitely go back there if we travel again to Aix-en-Provence and recommand this place to anyone looking for a delightful bed & breakfast with very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline-Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Staying here was a great decision and made for a week that we thoroughly enjoyed. The owners of this beautiful B&B are wonderful hosts. They have renovated this old monastery with great attention to detail and as visitors we got to enjoy this magnificent property in Luynes, just outside of Aix. The rooms are decorated perfectly, each one given distinct and individual attention in provencale style; the grounds are gorgeous- take your bathers so that you can swim in the large, heated pool; the inside & outside sitting areas are homely and invite great conversations as you meet new people from around the world; and last but not least the breakfasts are c'est magnifique! Caroline cooks something special each morning to complement the french pastries, bread, fruit and beverages. I think that Le Clos des Frere Gris is much prettier in real life than the photos on the website. We were lucky enough to be there in late summer into autumn and so we got to enjoy the changing autumnal colors. As well as doing as much sight seeing as you can with a car, you can also enjoy some down time just being at this beautiful B&B. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marg w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Quintessential Provence is experienced here. Gorgeous house, gardens and spacious charming rooms. All this coupled with the best, most imaginative breakfasts around, we had baked apples, herby quiche and three types of bread with jams that were utterly delicious. All this is due to Caroline who is more than a hostess. We had an emergency medical problem and she did everything to make it easier for us. There is simply no better place to chill out in Provence. Just go there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews