We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great product but sort out your cleaning/painting”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great product but sort out your cleaning/painting”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is a great mix of old and new with fresh room design and clever use of space. We didn't have breakfast but it looked very good. Location wise it is very central on a bustling square great for dinner/drinks right in the heart of it all. Hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly.

BUT...

When you have walls which are paper thin (being kind) do not start painting and/or cleaning the public stairwells right outside the rooms at 6.30 am when people are trying to sleep! This is ridiculous and kept me awake from until typing this now from room 205 feeling tired, I intended to still be asleep. Also is the hotel being painted now in June? Surely you would take the opportunity to do this in the winter when it is your quiet period.

It is a shame his experience this morning ruined an otherwise good stay in a good product minus the walls, which may as well not been there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willybob186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    111
    37
    15
    18
See reviews for
21
137
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tripoli, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very welcoming, helful and friendly staff especially Elias. There still is some renovation but the work seems to be almost done. I was ill, they brought me medication, soup and fruits. Great location and functional place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Quaint old hotel in the center of Aix that has been remodeled. Ask for room 202. Nice size and great bathroom. Only one small item, there was no Kleenex.

Near to plenty of restaurants and night life. Great value

Room Tip: Ask for room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Its the third time for us at this neat hotel in the middle of everything in Aix. Room 300, from where |I am typing, this time - excellent! \Great view out onto the square in front of the hotel (one of these trips they will finish whatever they are working on and we'll be able to walk around in it).

Just finished breakfast, excellent as always, in the amazing ballroom and are getting ready to head off to the weekly open air market which is the purpose of our returning again and again. The hotel is located about a block from the street where the market sets up so, in addition to being a really nicely renovated, comfortable, small hotel, it is very close to the action. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the beds comfortable and the "Prestige" rooms are vaery spacious, by European standards.

We highly recommend this hotel for a stay in \aix!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine_David_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Can't beat the location. Clean rooms, pleasant staff. Will definitely recommend this hotel. The only drawback was parking, but even having to walk a block to a parking garage was a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We chose the Hotel de France based on the recommendation of the local Office de Tourisme. It being the low season (November), we were able to take advantage of a very good deal on a room for 2 nights. It was an interesting love/hate experience.

The hotel and our room were very nicely appointed. Our room was one level above the street. High quality amenities in the room, clean and comfortable bedding, beautiful art and decor. There was a modern-ness to the room which made it stylish and a pleasure to stay in. Bathroom facilities worked well and the room was spacious by European standards -- a King-sized bed, a separate and very comfortable reclined chair, plus a small desk area. Wi-fi was free and fast. Basically, we loved the room.

Until night fell. The Hotel is situated in Place Saint-Augustin, a VERY crowded and busy plaza just off La Rotonde, and which contains several cafes, bars, and shops. During the day, there was a decent amount of crowd noise, which was expected, but didn't bother us as we were out and about. We took a day trip to the Camargue (not to be missed!) and visited the Vasarely Foundation. When evening rolled around, everyone flocked to the cafes and restaurants to dine and chat, and the noise level grew steadily. Of course, the French dine late (as did we), but we found that the noise level continued to climb and climb throughout the night, being even louder at 12:30 AM than it was at 8:30 PM. We closed the shutters (which were in rather poor condition but were necessary in order to ensure visual privacy) as well as the windows. The windows cut out a good deal of the noise, but that is to say that the noise level went from a level I will describe as "standing next to a jet engine" (when the windows were open) to a level I will call "trying to sleep in the middle of a crowded train station" (after we closed the windows). Essentially, the windows did not cut out enough noise to make it possible to sleep well. By the way, Aix is filled with college-aged students (my French friends warned me about this), so anything you've heard about the French being quiet or reserved can be disregarded ... at about 1AM the whooping, screaming, and drunken hollering started, lasting until about 2:30-3AM. Finally quiet ... then the night workers started hosing down the plaza, then the trash truck came through ... it's a NOISY little square. After the first sleepless night, my wife bought earplugs and slept a little better. However, I highly advise you to consider the noise factor ... I am not sure if other rooms (possibly higher up or better windows) might provide better noise isolation, but I don't recommend room 1 if you are planning on sleeping before 3AM.

It's too bad ... the location is otherwise great, being right near La Rotonde and central Aix, walking distance to everything, and unlike Arles, the city was very much alive in November. And the room was very nice and comfortable. It's just that the location and the noise made sleep very difficult.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corniste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel de France after selecting it from the website and 3 star rating.

We have spent 5 weeks staying in 2-3 star hotels in France. This hotel provided the poorest facilities and presentation of any of our other accommodation all of which were priced lower this property.

Chips out of the wall, towel hooks torn out of the door of the bathroom, lack of even a cup or glass in the room, shower that leaked water all over the bathroom floor with no drainage, exposed wiring and holes in the ceiling of the stair well, holes in the ceiling above the lift. In fact, the whole place was more like a construction site than the lovely property that is portrayed on the website.

There were some good things about this property- the bed was very comfortable, great shower (until it flooded the tiny bathroom floor), the man at the front desk who was very helpful and the windows which were effectively double glazed (Centrally located in a very busy and noisy square).

Room Tip: My tip would be to not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12387609876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#21 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#27 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#32 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 63 rue Espariat, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing