We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Saturday night choice in Aix”
Review of Le Cardeur Bacchus

Le Cardeur Bacchus
Ranked #387 of 1,037 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Reviewed August 15, 2018

I have read some of the reviews about rude staff and lack of eye contact / service but you have to remember this is one of the busiest bar restaurants in Aix - and for good reason. It is excellent. I believe the staff are trying to please all the customers simultaneously, you have to have some patience. I loved it! Be wary of ordering too many bread-based tapas dishes as you're already given a basket of bread to begin with. We had the sardines (gorgeous), the charcuterie and the baked camembert which was delicious. Super good vibes, good music and we didn't reserve, just walked up and had a drink at one table whilst they cleared one for us.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rhianmprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 114 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely bar/bistro in a fabulous location overlooking the square. Wonderful for people-watching. Great selection of wine and other drinks. You need to book on a Friday or Saturday as it’s very popular. We had drinks the first night but returned for drinks and food on a Sunday. The entrôte and magret de canard were both nicely cooked. The pepper sauce served with my steak was wonderful. Both served with delicious fries and a green salad. Special mention to our wonderful waiter JUSTIN who was very helpful, charming and friendly. He also spoke excellent English. He’s a credit to your bar/bistrot.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JJJBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

We will not return to this restaurant. The waitress who came to our table needs training in customer service and basic manners. Very rude. I understand this is a tourist trap and people come through on a conveyor belt but this doesn't mean the owners should give up on the basics of good service.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank M3274IKwilliamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

We sat for 20 minutes whilst the waiter (who was aptly wearing a Mr Grumpy jumper) ignored us. He put a menu on the table, avoiding eye contact, at which point we ordered the drinks we wanted and he walked off. Another 10 minutes passed and finally he deigned to speak to us at which point he stated the tables were all for eating only, despite the majority of the tables around us just having drinks, as one would expect at a wine bar. Needless to say we left and had a drink in a cheaper and friendlier venue. We have been in France for 10 days and had amazing service throughout this was certainly a let down.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank spatraveller3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017

Located in the main square, this facility has a great menu of local and regional wines as well as light food and tapas.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cardeur Bacchus also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Cardeur Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing