We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Feast for the Senses”
Review of Farmers' Markets

Farmers' Markets
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Feast for the Senses”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

While in Aix, I visited the market every morning. If you go early enough you can see the street being hosed down, the stalls being set up, and have first pick of the freshest most delicious fruits, vegetables, meats, and cheeses.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good Provencal experience”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Food and flower markets are always a highlight in my trips and those ones in Aix-en-Provence did not disappoint ! Not only was there one, but a handful of markets spread out in this tiny pedestrian village. It was feast to the five senses for my husband and I as we preused the assortment French cheese, herbs and spices, macarons, soaps (savon de Marseille of course !), olive oils aside from the staples of fresh produce and flowers... We especially loved the setting in the one near the Hotel de Ville. Nibbling on a piece of local pastry and perched on a seat by a fountain as soaking the ambience of old Aix is simply heavenly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tiramisu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The perfect place to spen Saturday morning and absorb Provence”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and myself got recommendation that we can find everything from clothes to food in this market. And we did, there are tens of alleys filled with sellers selling clothes, jewels, towels, perfumes, bags, blankets and on the other side all the goodies of Provence food - spices, take aways of rice\lobsters, salads, fish, meat and of course all kinds of breads.
The smells, the atmosphere and the variety are intoxicating, just wanted to inhale more and more...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aa1a1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were in Aix-en-Provence on a tour from our cruise ship and ended up in the middle of their 3 day farmers market. This was more fun than the tour. The Farmers Market happens several times a year and it is worth it to plan your trip to see it in progress.

The farmers market is more than just food being sold. You will find dozens and dozens of new clothing dealers. Art work, tourists nick nicks, you name it, it is being sold. The market stretches
for at least a couple of dozen blocks. Be careful and note where you are as the streets are winding and not straight and it is easy to get lost.

In addition to the market, there are dozens of great French cafes to stop at to people watch on the main street. When we got into town at 8:00 am we were wondering who was going to fill the over 1000 empty out door cafe seats that day. When we left back for the ship around 11:30, there was not an empty seat to be found

We positively plan on visiting this area for a longer stay to catch the Farmers Market. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmers' Markets also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Farmers' Markets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing