We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, private, spacious - the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sous le Tilleul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aix-en-Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sous le Tilleul
shaker heights ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, private, spacious - the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spending a week in Aix is already a great thing - the food, the sunny late August weather, the music - but this second floor apartment makes it even better. It's clean, clean, clean, with large rooms, excellent closet space, a comfortable large bed and a nice view overlooking the garden. It had been a terribly dry summer in southern France, but the care taken in the garden was evident.The kitchen was more than adequate, with plenty of dishes/pots/utensils, and some basic cleaning supplies. Former residents had left items like tea and crackers. We left some too in appreciation. It's nice to have something in the cupbaord when you get there after a long trip. Ms. Ducros is a gracious woman who was very helpful and understanding. Our rudimentary French was not a problem as she welcomed us to the apartment and then guided us to the secure garage at the back of the property for our car. Just one warning if you drive - the streets are busy, often one-way, and it is difficult to find the apartment building without a good map pf the town. Directions on google map are not adequate!! We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

My new husband and I spent the first week of our honeymoon in the very comfortable second-floor apartment, and enjoyed our stay very much. I was amazed at how large it was, and how beautifully and elegantly decorated. We loved eating breakfast on the balcony overlooking the peaceful garden. It was a quick walk to the center of town, weekly markets, and many excellent restaurants, and an even quicker walk to the train station (for a convenient and fun day trip to Marseille!). We rented a car and drove to Nimes, Arles and Pont du Gard; we very much appreciated having convenient, designated parking in Aix!

Our hostess was lovely; helpful, gracious and welcoming. She was a wonderful introduction to southern France.

I hope you aren't in need of a doctor, but I was suffering from a severe sinus infection and was able to get prescription medication from a very friendly and helpful physician in an office directly across the street from the apartment.

We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

We stayed in the ground floor apartment which was spacious and full of lovely furniture and beautiful lamps etc. The garden was a real delight very peaceful, it was a joy to wander the markets of Aix and return for lunch in the garden. You really felt it was difficult to tear yourself away from the luxury of the apartment and explore Aix! It was our first visit to Aix we loved the place. Our hostess Marie was very helpful in our original telephone booking and when we arrived, however we were surprised when she advised us she was going away for a few days the day after we arrived. From the other reviews we half expected breakfast each day but perhaps we misunderstood. It wasnt a problem that our hostess wasnt there during our stay but could have been if we had needed assistance with trips/taxis etc. This however is a lovely apartment and would highly recommend to anyone and really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarneyBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

This is a 2nd floor apartment complete with a long balcony overlooking a garden in a building with a lift in the heart of Aix-en-Provence. The owner also runs a B & B and lives on the ground level. This apartment is a dream - spotlessly clean, comfortable, wonderful king size bed, great bathrom and modern kitchen. It is a modern, contemporary 1 bedroom apartment which would easily sleep four people and truly feels like home - fresh flowers were on the table for our arrival. Everything is tasteful and elegant and is very good value. Very helpful portfolio in the apartment to introduce you to Aix-en-Provence and everything worked wonderfully. We're promising ourselves to return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

Our 3 night stay at Sous le Tilleul was just excellent. Our host Marie was very friendly & kind, the suite was large, very clean and tastefully decorated, the garden is just beautiful and breakfasts were dellicious. The locaion cannot be beat with just 5 minutes away from the center of Aix, that combined with the car parking included made it just the perfect place to stay.
Marie also has great recommendations for restuarants & things to do.

During vacations we typically stay at good rated (and expensive) hotels, but this experience with B&B really couldn't be topped. Thanks Marie for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed in the Suite. From the moment we walked up to the building until we finished our first breakfast, this experience just kept getting better. Other reviews have said it all and we can only echo that one will not be disappointed with a selection here. Marie Christine is a most gracious hostess and obviously has an eye for what it takes to please her customers. The appointments in the bedroom, bathroom, sitting room, breakfast room, and garden were like eye candy for those looking for authentic Provence. Not only were we pleased with with everything at Sous le Tilleul, but also with Tour Designer in Provence, which we found through a link on Marie-Christine's web site.

We were traveling, making exclusive use of public transportation, and wanted to enjoy some of the more difficult-to-get-to locations while staying in Aix-en-Provence. Wanting to optimize our time, we chose to skip renting a car and went to Tour Designer in Provence. Catherine, the proprietor, worked with us and provided an outstanding level of service by offering suggestions to enhance the itinerary we requested. We customized tours for a full day and an additional half day and could not have been more pleased.

We spent two and half weeks in Switzerland and France staying in some very highly rated hotels, five in all. This bed and breakfast is every bit as good and charming as any of the other locations we selected. You would be doing yourself a favor to take advantage of staying here.

Proof positive that this place is top shelf ... We left a pair of shoes under the bed and Marie Christine graciously agreed to take the time to ship them to us in the States.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanchael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

I am not a fan of B&B places. My wife and I are very much hotel people with a lobby, phone and an establishment feel. However, I must say Sous le Tilleul completed our trip. It was beyond great! The service, the location, the cleanliness... perfect. The breakfast... homemade jams and a plethora of breads and other fresh foods. I can go on and on about this place but the other reviews say it all. Worth every penny even with having to pay via paypal and cash... I'm use to only using credit cards. Our hostess does not speak much English (something you will find in the Provence regions) and we could not find a phone to call home in the B&B. But that I would say would be our only complaint. So with that in mind... if you are thinking of Aix as a home base, this would be perfect. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfuenteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sous le Tilleul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sous le Tilleul

Property: Sous le Tilleul
Address: 2 boulevard du Roi Rene, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Sous le Tilleul" a place of peace and tranquility in the very heart of Aix, only a stone's throw from the famous Cours Mirabeau, with two luxury and charming apartments available for one day or longer. Apartment "Roi-René" on the garden floor - 120 sqm - with a spacious outside terrace and summer kitchen - quiet and air-conditionned - for 5 people - Private garage.Apartment "Reine-Jeanne" 2nd floor with a large balcony - view on gardens - light and peaceful contemporary design - air conditioned - for 4 people and equipped for baby. Private garage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sous Le Tilleul Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing