We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The other reviewers were right! It is a gem.”
Review of Vintrepide

Vintrepide
Ranked #55 of 853 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $61
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The other reviewers were right! It is a gem.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

From the outside you wouldn't expect much. Going inside you still would not expect much.
However, the friendly english speaking host helped us with the menu. Each dish could have deserved a "Michelin Star" My favorite was the foie gras over apricot confit appetizer. All the desserts were beautifully presented. If they added a little atmosphere it could be a 5 star
establishment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    79
    13
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in Aix en Provence”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This little plainly furnished restaurant provided our best food during a six day visit to Aix. We ate at many fine, Trip Advisor recommended, restaurants in Provence....Vintrepide had the most interesting, though limited, menu. Don't miss this little gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
210 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A gem, a blessing, you owe it to yourself”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Almost everything about Vintrepide was wonderful. Our waiter was alert and helpful, and he recommended an excellent red Bandol (Tempier). Every one of our dishes was excellent. The price was moderate for a restaurant that offers an experience of this quality. At another restaurant, you could spend more and not have such fine food.

The bread was acceptable but not excellent. The décor is only OK.

We had the misfortune to be seated near a group of Americans who were speaking and laughing very loudly. But of course, this blight does not strike every night. Being a bit away from the center (at Bellegarde) means that not many tourists find it, and most tourists behave much better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
765 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Memorable Meal”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We thought this was an amazing restaurant and it represented exceptional value. The menu includes four entrees, four mains and four desserts every day which change according to what is available at the market. We enjoyed delicious asparagus, fabulous Sea Bream, rabbit and fine Provencal cheeses served by a waiter with a fine sense of humour and while the service was not fast it was appropriate to allow full enjoyment of the meal. and they have good wines too if our experience is typcal. If in Aix give it a go, I'm sure that if you enjoy good food you won't regret it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“biggest gifts come in little packages”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

First, the fish is named Bubbles - he is the boss.
from the first plate that came to the table to the last crumb left behind - everything was perfect. The food was incredible, the ambiance perfect and the service divine.
If you are looking for a place that you can enjoy the company you are dining with as well as the food, this is the place.
Tucked into a small side street, you may walk by it, keep your eyes peeled!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristenaR94523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintrepide also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Vintrepide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing