We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh take on fresh seafood”
Review of Toinou

Toinou
Ranked #97 of 929 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $61
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We had an incredible experience here. We ordered the seafood tower, salmon tartare and large oysters and to say that we were absolutely thrilled with our experience would be an under statement. The house white wine is priced really well and is very good. The ambience is modern but fun, the service is flawless, the food presentation was impeccable and the food was delicious. I highly recommend this place for a couples dinner (like ours), but they also have space for a large group. I encourage anyone who enjoys seafood to make every effort to dine at this fine establishment.

Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toinou13000, Gérant at Toinou, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 658 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

we knew how good the restaurant is in marseiile. in aix we were taken by surprise: the restaurant is very elegant and the food is the same excellent sea food, the prices are the same, we had the menu of clams with beer and it was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank milesdavis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Exceptional 'Les Fruits de Mer' for all seafood lovers who like fresh seafood - lobster, clams, oysters, modules, shrimp, crabs, etc. - in beautiful Aix-in Provence. While there is a Toinou in Marseilles, why travel there when one can enjoy the same exceptional fare while in Provence. Prices are reasonable ... Ambiance is exceptional in a new facility with patio deck ... No reservations so come early (before 8:00PM) and stay late ... Great for large or small groups since facility is spacious. While cold seafood platters are unique and very, very popular, there is a limited menus of prepared or cooked seafood platters. If you eat there once, you definitely will want to return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wlern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toinou13000, Gérant at Toinou, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is near the autoroute, but you won't hear anything of it.
Design is great, cool and functional.
Service is very good.

Consider that you get only seafood for main course - the also have some fish as an alternative but the location is really for seafood. There you have every choice imaginable, in highest quality.
Lots of local french people there. The even sell seafood on the outside there.

A great experience not to be missed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reise21at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toinou13000, Gérant at Toinou, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Thank you for your advice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We drove to Marseille to try to go to the highly rate Toinou but found that it was closed till September. As we were staying in Aix-en-Provence we went instead to the Aix Toinou, and were very pleased. The restaurant is on the south side of Aix, very close to the A8, however the location is quiet. The setting is very contemporary and tasteful and the service was excellent.
We had one of the seafood platters for two - with oysters, lobster,..... and this was very good. We also had dessert - the creme brule and chocolate mousse - which were also good. The vin de table was very pleasant. The only slight criticism was that the cappuccino came with a large amount of thick cream - which made the coffee cool quickly and which also made the drink more like another dessert.

Overall - an excellent place to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doug8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toinou also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Toinou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing