We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VFM”
Review of O Zen Le Passage

O Zen Le Passage
Ranked #478 of 853 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: After the success of La Valentine, La Mer and La Republique from Marseille, O Zen has decided to export its expertise and its unique atmosphere beyond Marseille. So, true to its brand image resolutely innovative, the group has chosen to locate its new restaurant in Aix-en-Provence, it takes the address of the mythical establishment "Le Passage", a monument in the landscape of the ancient capital of Provence.Located in the popular Mazarin district in the donwtown, opposite the cinema Cezanne, and near the main attractions of the city such as the famous Cours Mirabeau, which is by far the busiest artery by Aix, this former factory calissons offers an exceptional setting at the recent flagship of the group. Thus, between high ceilings, steel beams and mezzanine loft, beautiful canopy and shaded terraces, places are themselves an invitation to exoticism that reinforces the key of success "O Zen" with its sober and contemporary stained keys exoticism.In the kitchen, fans of the buffet, which O Zen secret will not remain. Indeed they will find all flavors in Aix Franco-Asian who have the reputation of other institutions, and could be enjoyed at the discretion in a very trend.As for food lovers, they will be happy to test the new concept of bistronomie consisting offer them, on the floor, a more traditional control with the menu, always in a friendly and a great price .Given its original offer, no doubt that the restaurant O Zen Le Passage will soon become a must for all those who cross around this beautiful neighborhood Mazarin.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“VFM”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The restaurant serves Asian - Oriental food which was really decent. The spread was good infact a bit too much and desserts were OK. Atmosphere was also nice. The lunch buffet was really reasonable at around € 25 per person.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gazeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    154
    99
    64
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lourmarin, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“take your kids and have fun”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

There should be nothing to complain about - the buffet is so sumptiously furnished that everyone should find food to make him happy. Even if you don't like some things or they are not top - who cares? There are so many others, so many... We had a wonderful evening trying this place and went out really satisfied. And the rosé from chateau la coste is perfect with their food!
Next time we go we'll take our boys who are in their early twenties and can a lot...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamburgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went there for NYs. It was a set menu of 4 courses and a glass of champagne for 95 euros. Venue was spacious, looks like a transformed factory. Fusion cuisine. Average service. Great drinks. Food was ok, but the main course was the size of half a sausage ... Outragous! Wouldnt say it was worth the money

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Avoid, Avoid, Avoid”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The title of my review should say it all. Service - unfriendly, I think even by "stereotypicall" French standards. Atmosphere - blah to terrible (you felt like you were at the upstairs of a chinese buffet) - food decent. Prices OK. So many better choices in Aix. Don't waste your money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cingitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just wrong!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Le Passage had got a very good review in our travel book so we were keen to try it. Unfortunately the book was slightly out of date and the chef who had been reviewed had since moved on. We hadn't noticed when we went to book that it was on the upper floor of an all you can eat Chinese restaurant. Le Passage was arranged around a balcony which looked down into the two floors of the Chinese restaurant below which was very busy. The noise and smell of fried food didn't really add to the ambience but we decided to persevere. On arrival we were greeted by a very stony faced waitress and realised later the reason for that was probably because she was run off her feet. Running the service on her own. Good job it wasn't busier. We had booked a tasting menu which although a bit pricy we thought would be justified due to the excellent reviews. How wrong we were,! The food was beautifully presented but it was definitely a case of style over substance. Some of my food was cold and some flavour combinations were just plain wrong. Definitely an unforgettable experience- but for all the wrong reasons. Just don't go there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Zen Le Passage also viewed

Les Milles, Aix-en-Provence
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to O Zen Le Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing