We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel just outside of Aix” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles Aix en Provence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Styles Aix en Provence
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel just outside of Aix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

This is probably the best hotel I've stayed at in France. It was very clean and the decor is beautiful. There is air conditioning, a TV, a bathrobe, flip-flops, shower gel, hair dryer, magazines, booklets about Aix-en-Provence, tea and coffee with an electric kettle as well as yummy galettes (cookies) that are replaced everyday. The bed was extremely comfortable and the comforter smelled so nice. There's even a small place in the courtyard where you can lie in the sun on the lounge chairs.

There is a buffet breakfast available for 8.50 €, but the actual restaurant is closed on weekends so I never got to eat there. There is a mini-bar in the room as well, with pop and water for 2.50 € each. Half of the parking lot is closed and locked from 12-7 AM, so no worries about your car. Laundry service is available, but only Monday-Friday. Reception is open 24 hours a day though. There is free wifi as well as a computer in the lobby to use to get online if you don't have a laptop. It is located in a rather residential area, so you'd probably need a car to get there easily though I did notice some bus stops.

There aren't many restaurants in the area so you'll need to head more into Aix-en-Provence for meals. There is a pizza place next door that's open 7 days a week and it's rather cheap, but the guys who work there are a little mean when you want more napkins!! (You must ask for them; you can't just take them off the counter. It made me a little upset that they yelled at us for that.) The only bad thing I can say about this hotel is that the walls are a little thin because I could hear my neighbor snoring all night long. But the hotel is separated into 4 buildings so you don't actually have many neighbors. Apart from the unpleasant experience at the pizza place next door (which is pretty much the only place you'll find open on a Sunday in that neighborhood), I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ielanguages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    178
    103
    47
    24
See reviews for
109
153
20
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

as a stopover, this is a decent hotel on the outer edges of town, in a area with a bunch of apartments and residence hotels. There are not a lot of services close by, but it is close to the highway.

Good:
hotel decor attempts to add a bit of charm
free wifi
free parking
decent sized bathroom

Not so good:
small room. basically a bed and a small sleeping loft
didn't seem like the air conditioning was going to work if we needed it
a little wear and tear around the edges; dirty grout, gardens were a bit untended (lots of weeds)

skip meals here, dine in town if at all possible. Probably a good value in high season, but in other seasons, you may wish to stay closer to town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

We spent the easter weekend at this hotel and arrived late. The front desk is open 24h/24 so this was no problem and there were plenty of free parking spaces left when we came. The room was indeed small, the bed took up most of the space and on one side the wall attached ladder leading up to the extra bed was quite an obstacle. Moreover, one can't meet outside the bathroom, one has to wait in there until the next one has gotten in, and then the first person can exit; there simply was no room for meeting in the doorway.

The room and bathroom was however very clean and neat, a slight smell of basement though. We liked having a water boiler, tea, coffe, milk and cookies on the room, and there were refills every day. The bed was big but too hard. But what was the automatically charging fridge about? If one took one can out of its position in the fridge, it was immediately charged to the room and there was no way of putting the can back since another can had already rolled out to its position.

The walls are thin so we heard the neighbours quite clearly, especially when there baby cried. The breakfast buffet was definitly ok, yummy baguettes, croissants with butter and jam. There were also pre-pealed (!) eggs which had boiled way to long and some ham, plus some cheeses which weren't exactly representative to the normal french cheese standard.

The staff was very friendly and helped out every time we had questions. The bus is a few meters outside the hotel entrance and is just a 5 minute bus ride from Cours Mirabeau.

We think that this hotel is excellent for couples, or families if you like living crammed up, that would use a hotel just for sleeping and showering. The area around Aix is lovely to go vineyard hopping and one easily spends the whole day and the evening out before returning to the hotel. Look out for offers on the Kyriad website, we found it to be 12 Euros cheaper per night then the normal rate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

We actually did not ending up staying the night in the hotel!

Upon arrival and realization that the hotel is a reasable distance away from the city centre, we asked reception if we could cancel our reservation so we could find another hotel. They agreed to do this and not to charge us.

Unfortunately we were still charged for the room. Well, after 2 months in dispute the hotel is not willing to refund the room. Hotels.com have been helpful however the hotel is denying they agreed we could change hotels. This is very disappointing as we were on a tight budget.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooster02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aix-en-Provence hotels

Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

It was difficult finding this hotel even with a GPS. The hotel was situated in a OK area. It wasn't great and it wasn't the worst. The pictures shown on this site appear better than it really looks. We wanted and booked a non-smoking room but when we got there the room stank so much that I didn't think I could sleep there for four nights. The person in charge of the hotel (armed with a sarcastic French attitude) couldn't exchange rooms and stated that they all smelled like smoke. I tried to reached expedia to cancel the hotel but somehow wasn't able to reach them.
Besides the awfull smell (I am not exaggerating!!), the rooms were quite small and the linens didn't get changed for 3 days. One day they forgot to give us new towels.
Despite the negative, the food in the restaurant was very good and the menu quite diverse. The mediterranean breakfast costs about 8 Euros and is quite good. However, there is no cook on week-ends and they charge you about 20 Euros for breakfast/lunch which is only a small cold buffet.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — the intense and incrusted smell of smoke in the rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NickyYValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

The hotel was clean and pleasantly decorated. The rooms are in chalet style away from the main building, but don't let this put you off! (Although for those of you in the UK, I did have a few Hi-De-Hi flashbacks!)

The rooms have excellent air conditioning and are kitted with a kettle and drinks. The room was a little cramped, but excellent for the one night stay we wanted.

The surrounding rgounds have a car park which is locked at night and small tables and chairs in secluded little clearings in the gardens. There is a terrace for eating and relaxing on (although they reffered to it as the pavement in their literature!).

It exceeded my expectations and if you want to hear English and have a full spread of food (banquet style) you'll not get it here,but for a quirky, clean (and in summer cool) room, then this is the place.

I'm discerning but not picky: I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — The cat in the garden at night - sweet!
  • Disliked — Raw eggs for breakfast....that's just plain wrong.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Radioheadkiduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

The hotel is a two-star (by the French rating system) hotel located in the outskirts of Aix-en-Provence about a ten minute drive from the heart of downtown. We stayed in this hotel because it was one of the few options left as we made July reservations late and the rest of the rooms in town were booked for the arts festival.

The hotel seems to be a French businessman's hotel with some additional French vacation travelers. You will find no other Americans here. The only other English we heard was a British couple that came through one night.

The rooms are clean but small and spartan, somewhere between a Motel 6 and a Hampton Inn. There is free internet access which was nice. The rooms were quiet and air conditioned although the hotel disconcertingly piped in rather loud bird songs through loud speakers outside the room. Mercifully, they were turned off about 10:30 at night but then started up again first thing in the morning. Ironically, on one of the mornings when the bird songs were not piped in, you could hear the native birds singing away in the courtyard.

There is a modest continental breakfast available at nominal charge on site and there is a restaurant on the property that serves dinner although we did not eat here.

We used the hotel as a base for exploring the section of Provence around Aix. It was conveniently located near the A8 autoroute. Should you stay here? If you recognize in advance what you are getting, it will be fine. If you are expecting something a little more upscale, you would probably be happier elsewhere.

  • Liked — convenient to autoroute, free internet
  • Disliked — too spartan
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JRAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Campanile Aix En Provence Ouest - Jas De Bouffan
Campanile Aix En Provence Ouest ...
#23 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Aix en Provence
Ibis Aix en Provence
#13 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Novotel Aix en Provence Pont de L'arc Fenouilleres
Hotel Novotel Aix en Provence Po...
#28 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel le Galice
Best Western Hotel le Galice
#17 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Aix en Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Aix en Provence

Property: Ibis Styles Aix en Provence
Address: 3 Boulevard de la Grande Thumine | Jas de Bouffan, 13090, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Aix en Provence 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Styles Aix en Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Mas Des Oliviers Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing