We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jaybee”
Review of Hotel Artea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Artea
Ranked #38 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Situated in the centre this hotel was easy to get to. It was delightfully old world. The Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean. The bathroom was beautiful with a bath as well as a shower. The room was air conditioned. It had a balcony with double glazed sliding doors and then another double glazed door leading into the room so although it was in town it was very quiet guaranteeing a good nights sleep. The excellent breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice. I would be happy to go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janiembee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelartea, La direction de l'hôtel Artea at Hotel Artea, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Janiembee,

Thank you for your comment and interest in the hotel Artea. We are happy to know that your stay went well.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

The hotel management Artea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 462 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the center of Aix en Provence, so it is very confortable to visit downtown whenever you want. But the service is less than avarage. Our room was not ready even we came later. One towel for two people? I was asking for one more and nothing happend hole day. I don't need x-star hotel, but...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZdenekVesecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The location was good and rooms were spacious and quiet. The beds were very hard and they had very soft pillows. ( stiff neck and backs both mornings we stayed) The aircon basically didn't work which meant the rooms were really hot! There was no lift either and reception is the the first floor our room on the second. The tourism office said our room was expensive and thought it should have been around 80-100 euro not the 128 we paid.

Room Tip: First floor or not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We selected to stay at this hotel given the other reviews on Trip Advisor and the charm of it having been the renovated house of a former composer - we were most excited about our stay. However, we were very unimpressed. While the location was excellent and the rooms were spacious, these were the only positives.

We were disappointed by the following:
1. The cleaning of the room was very poor. For several days, all the cleaner seemed to do was replace the towels. Other basic cleaning was not performed - the toilet paper was not refilled, the bins were not emptied, the bed was not made. We complained about this for three consecutive days and it was only until after the third day that there was a marginal improvement.
(While waiting to discuss our matter with reception on one of the days, we note that two other guests also had issues. The first guest was angry as there appeared to be a previous guests' dirty clothes in his room so he had brought the dirty clothes to reception. The second guest complained that his room had not been cleaned. The receptionist responded by saying that the cleaner "could not open the room", but the guest refused to believe this as he said that he had left his key with reception for the entire day. The receptionist responded by saying "the cleaner would not lie", but in my opinion, this was not an appropriate way of managing the situation as it implied that the guest himself was lying.)

2. When we initially checked in and showed the receptionist our paperwork, we were told about where to have breakfast and the times it was available. On closely questioning whether breakfast was extra, she only reiterated where to have breakfast and gave off the impression that it was. So we were in for a rude shock when we checked out and found that breakfast was extra and amounted to 12 euros per day. So for us, this amounted to an extra 120 euros which we certainly would not have chosen to do if we knew. On communicating this, we again felt that the situation was dealt with inappropriately. Reception did not appear to care or even offer an apology for the miscommunication.

We were most unsatisfied and disappointed, and will not be returning in future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Narlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelartea, La direction de l'hôtel Artea at Hotel Artea, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Narlotte,
We are really sorry that you had a very bad experience. However, we would like to clarify some points that you point out in your comment.
Automatically maids clean the rooms, they empty the trash, clean the bathroom, refill soap, shampoo and toilet paper, making beds change towels when the client reports. Indeed inside the bathrooms of our housekeepers have a brochure which is explicitly written, we quote: “Dear guests, can you imagine how many towel are unnecessarily washed every day all over the world and what huge quantities of washing powder therefore also pollute our water? With your decision to use the towels once again, you are contributing to a cleaner and better environment. - Help your environment! - Towels on the floor in the basket mean: “please change the towels.” – Towels on the rack mean: “I am still using them””. In addition, the rooms are checked daily by a governing service.
All incidents within the hotel are reported to management. Who has never heard of the incident you are talking about. Our staff is trained in any case would have an attitude like you describe.
Breakfast is always advertised as a supplement when the receptionist offers the customer upon arrival.
We would like to apologize for caused during your stay genes, and hope you come back so as not to remain in a negative impression of the hotel.
Sincerely,
The hotel management Artea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We picked this hotel for three nights of a 12-night stay in Provence for its location near the historic part of the city. We were only a few blocks from the old city. The room was clean, spacious, and ours had a nice terrace. Breakfast was very nice. Downsides - the hotel is one flight up, with no elevator. We were travelling by car and they advertised a private garage, but it was full when we checked in so we had to park in a nearby public garage. Otherwise this was a very good pick.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jupisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I agree with previous reviews that this place is underrated as a 2 star hotel..it should be at least a 3. Newly renovated with modern bathrooms and comfortable beds, it was an excellent choice for our short stay and very conveniently located to the centre of town. Whilst there was no passenger life, there is a goods lift behind the building which they will use to take your bags to your room for you. Service was fine. If you speak a little French they will appreciate the effort.

Room Tip: You will have to ask for the air-conditioner remote, and make sure it's working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated to walk to the best restaurants, quaint little shops and sections of town, and the best markets! The staff was very friendly and eager to help with any questions we had during our stay. Our room was comfortable but a bit noisy as we faced the boulevard, and we did need to request that the bathroom be cleaned and restocked. However, these requests were honored immediately. Parking was convenient, but be prepared for many adventures driving throughout France.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#34 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Galice Centre-Ville
Best Western Le Galice Centre-Vi...
#25 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#35 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artea

Address: 4 boulevard de la Republique, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $78 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artea 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private 3 star townhouse hotel, l'Artea captivates with its Mediterranean spirit and its discreet and elegant décor. Located in the heart of Aix-en-Provence, this friendly hotel was once home to Darius Milhaud, famous composer of classical music. It was in this former private townhouse, one of the most beautiful in Provence, that Darius Milhaud composed magnificent symphonies, operas and other musical pieces. L'Artea offers an interesting and rich cultural access through its proximity to the tourist office, the Rotunda Fountain, and the Grand Theatre de Provence. Within the historical quarter of Aix-en-Provence the hotel unveils its 48 comfortable rooms. The hotel l'Artea offers a pleasant well-equipped meeting room for up to 50 people. Have a relaxing stay in one of our comfortably well designed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Artea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artea Hotel Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing