We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed and very disappointed - poor cleaning of room and even poorer customer service”
Review of Hotel Artea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artea
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unimpressed and very disappointed - poor cleaning of room and even poorer customer service”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We selected to stay at this hotel given the other reviews on Trip Advisor and the charm of it having been the renovated house of a former composer - we were most excited about our stay. However, we were very unimpressed. While the location was excellent and the rooms were spacious, these were the only positives.

We were disappointed by the following:
1. The cleaning of the room was very poor. For several days, all the cleaner seemed to do was replace the towels. Other basic cleaning was not performed - the toilet paper was not refilled, the bins were not emptied, the bed was not made. We complained about this for three consecutive days and it was only until after the third day that there was a marginal improvement.
(While waiting to discuss our matter with reception on one of the days, we note that two other guests also had issues. The first guest was angry as there appeared to be a previous guests' dirty clothes in his room so he had brought the dirty clothes to reception. The second guest complained that his room had not been cleaned. The receptionist responded by saying that the cleaner "could not open the room", but the guest refused to believe this as he said that he had left his key with reception for the entire day. The receptionist responded by saying "the cleaner would not lie", but in my opinion, this was not an appropriate way of managing the situation as it implied that the guest himself was lying.)

2. When we initially checked in and showed the receptionist our paperwork, we were told about where to have breakfast and the times it was available. On closely questioning whether breakfast was extra, she only reiterated where to have breakfast and gave off the impression that it was. So we were in for a rude shock when we checked out and found that breakfast was extra and amounted to 12 euros per day. So for us, this amounted to an extra 120 euros which we certainly would not have chosen to do if we knew. On communicating this, we again felt that the situation was dealt with inappropriately. Reception did not appear to care or even offer an apology for the miscommunication.

We were most unsatisfied and disappointed, and will not be returning in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelartea, La direction de l'hôtel Artea at Hotel Artea, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Narlotte,
We are really sorry that you had a very bad experience. However, we would like to clarify some points that you point out in your comment.
Automatically maids clean the rooms, they empty the trash, clean the bathroom, refill soap, shampoo and toilet paper, making beds change towels when the client reports. Indeed inside the bathrooms of our housekeepers have a brochure which is explicitly written, we quote: “Dear guests, can you imagine how many towel are unnecessarily washed every day all over the world and what huge quantities of washing powder therefore also pollute our water? With your decision to use the towels once again, you are contributing to a cleaner and better environment. - Help your environment! - Towels on the floor in the basket mean: “please change the towels.” – Towels on the rack mean: “I am still using them””. In addition, the rooms are checked daily by a governing service.
All incidents within the hotel are reported to management. Who has never heard of the incident you are talking about. Our staff is trained in any case would have an attitude like you describe.
Breakfast is always advertised as a supplement when the receptionist offers the customer upon arrival.
We would like to apologize for caused during your stay genes, and hope you come back so as not to remain in a negative impression of the hotel.
Sincerely,
The hotel management Artea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    205
    83
    31
    22
See reviews for
80
167
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We picked this hotel for three nights of a 12-night stay in Provence for its location near the historic part of the city. We were only a few blocks from the old city. The room was clean, spacious, and ours had a nice terrace. Breakfast was very nice. Downsides - the hotel is one flight up, with no elevator. We were travelling by car and they advertised a private garage, but it was full when we checked in so we had to park in a nearby public garage. Otherwise this was a very good pick.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jupisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I agree with previous reviews that this place is underrated as a 2 star hotel..it should be at least a 3. Newly renovated with modern bathrooms and comfortable beds, it was an excellent choice for our short stay and very conveniently located to the centre of town. Whilst there was no passenger life, there is a goods lift behind the building which they will use to take your bags to your room for you. Service was fine. If you speak a little French they will appreciate the effort.

Room Tip: You will have to ask for the air-conditioner remote, and make sure it's working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated to walk to the best restaurants, quaint little shops and sections of town, and the best markets! The staff was very friendly and eager to help with any questions we had during our stay. Our room was comfortable but a bit noisy as we faced the boulevard, and we did need to request that the bathroom be cleaned and restocked. However, these requests were honored immediately. Parking was convenient, but be prepared for many adventures driving throughout France.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for its situation ; very close to the HISTORICAL part of AIX; rooms are O.K, and the quality of windows on the street side, makes the traffic on boul. DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE, TOLERABLE.Breakfast is well furnished ; the reception is a little weak; you almost can't park to take your baggage to the 2nd. floor; there is only one space and it is usually occupied. No elevator makes it difficult for seniors;

Room Tip: tTo visit AIX, enPROVENCE, it's a good spot for a vouple of days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLAUDEMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Decided to stay in Aix without previous planning and found Hotel Artea last minute by accidental internet searching where decision was based mainly on its central location in tonn. Two stars (as rated on street signs giving directions) is in our opinion to low for this friendly, clean and easy going place with smiling staff, good-sized rooms and general good atmosphere. Our family of five had two rooms and were all happy with the Artea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for a night whilst on our trip around the south of France. The hotel is very central, maybe 5 minutes away from Cours Mirabeau and a few minutes away from the shopping area. The first room given to us reeked of cigarettes. But when we told the receptions she immediately changed our room to an even larger one. The room was nice, large tv, warm and quite large. The bathroom was very clean too. We didn't eat here but chose to have breakfast with the locals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikibon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#31 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#22 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#32 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Rotonde
Hotel La Rotonde
#23 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artea

Property: Hotel Artea
Address: 4 Boulevard de la Republique, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artea 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private 3 star townhouse hotel, l'Artea captivates with its Mediterranean spirit and its discreet and elegant décor. Located in the heart of Aix-en-Provence, this friendly hotel was once home to Darius Milhaud, famous composer of classical music. It was in this former private townhouse, one of the most beautiful in Provence, that Darius Milhaud composed magnificent symphonies, operas and other musical pieces. L'Artea offers an interesting and rich cultural access through its proximity to the tourist office, the Rotunda Fountain, and the Grand Theatre de Provence. Within the historical quarter of Aix-en-Provence the hotel unveils its 48 comfortable rooms. The hotel l'Artea offers a pleasant well-equipped meeting room for up to 50 people. Have a relaxing stay in one of our comfortably well designed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artea Hotel Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing