We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff”
Review of Hotel Artea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artea
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated to walk to the best restaurants, quaint little shops and sections of town, and the best markets! The staff was very friendly and eager to help with any questions we had during our stay. Our room was comfortable but a bit noisy as we faced the boulevard, and we did need to request that the bathroom be cleaned and restocked. However, these requests were honored immediately. Parking was convenient, but be prepared for many adventures driving throughout France.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    205
    83
    31
    22
See reviews for
80
167
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for its situation ; very close to the HISTORICAL part of AIX; rooms are O.K, and the quality of windows on the street side, makes the traffic on boul. DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE, TOLERABLE.Breakfast is well furnished ; the reception is a little weak; you almost can't park to take your baggage to the 2nd. floor; there is only one space and it is usually occupied. No elevator makes it difficult for seniors;

Room Tip: tTo visit AIX, enPROVENCE, it's a good spot for a vouple of days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLAUDEMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Decided to stay in Aix without previous planning and found Hotel Artea last minute by accidental internet searching where decision was based mainly on its central location in tonn. Two stars (as rated on street signs giving directions) is in our opinion to low for this friendly, clean and easy going place with smiling staff, good-sized rooms and general good atmosphere. Our family of five had two rooms and were all happy with the Artea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for a night whilst on our trip around the south of France. The hotel is very central, maybe 5 minutes away from Cours Mirabeau and a few minutes away from the shopping area. The first room given to us reeked of cigarettes. But when we told the receptions she immediately changed our room to an even larger one. The room was nice, large tv, warm and quite large. The bathroom was very clean too. We didn't eat here but chose to have breakfast with the locals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikibon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed there for two nights in December. Rooms were bigger than expected, clean and well equipped. It was freezing thise days in Aix and the room was a bit cold if the electric heaters were not at maximum level. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel. There is a staircase to reach the reception and I didnt see a lift, I wouldn't stay there with little children or elderly people. The staff was amazing, very nice and they were so kind that they even found a charger for my husband's mobile. I'd definitely go there again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpviguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed at the Artea hotel with our friends end of August 2012. And we all agreed that we would definitely go back to this hotel. It has a perfect location right at the center of Aix and it has a private parking right behind the hotel. The staff at the reception were very polite, resourceful and efficient. The hotel building itself is rather old (its in perfect condition though) and really has a quite a character of its own. The hotel has a nice bar as well. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Our friends even had a large terrace that they could go out to from their room. Bathrooms are large and well equipped with amenities. We definitely want to go back to Aix to explore beyond the city itself and when we do we will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gurselsedef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
350 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

You are looking for a hotel near the Cours Mirabeau and the hundreds small restaurants in the city-center? Then hotel Artea is a good pic.It is on the second and third floor of an house with no elevator and the entrance and staircase are outdated. But the rooms are very spacious and have all comfort.Breakfast is ok and the reception friendy and helpfull.
There is a garage for a supplement of 12€. To use it you have to have good driving skills.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrusselsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#31 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#22 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#32 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Rotonde
Hotel La Rotonde
#23 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artea

Property: Hotel Artea
Address: 4 Boulevard de la Republique, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artea 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private 3 star townhouse hotel, l'Artea captivates with its Mediterranean spirit and its discreet and elegant décor. Located in the heart of Aix-en-Provence, this friendly hotel was once home to Darius Milhaud, famous composer of classical music. It was in this former private townhouse, one of the most beautiful in Provence, that Darius Milhaud composed magnificent symphonies, operas and other musical pieces. L'Artea offers an interesting and rich cultural access through its proximity to the tourist office, the Rotunda Fountain, and the Grand Theatre de Provence. Within the historical quarter of Aix-en-Provence the hotel unveils its 48 comfortable rooms. The hotel l'Artea offers a pleasant well-equipped meeting room for up to 50 people. Have a relaxing stay in one of our comfortably well designed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artea Hotel Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing