We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice Aparthotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good choice Aparthotel”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Modern, very well equipped apartment, but no Wifi except in reception area full of loud people. A\c not working and reported twice, but nothing changed. Some very helpful personnel at reception from whom we got some excellent restsurant recommendations. Will look for this chain in other city locations now. Central for everything we wanted. Lots of apartments have balconies, but not ours, unfortunately. Underground parking a bonus. Large sofa bed with two singles. Black feet if you go barefoot on the floors though!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unimpressed749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6796_dm, Deputy Manager at Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion.
Regarding the WIFI, all the apartments will be equipped before next September.
My team and I are delighted your stay lived up to your expectations, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Mr Rémi POL
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    288
    57
    19
    13
See reviews for
212
222
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at the Adagio at Aix-en-Provence for two weeks in May, 2014. We had a very nice room, with a king size bed (two twins sided by side) which was exceptionally comfortable. The room had a refrigerator and facilities for cooking, including a microwave and stovetop. There was flatware and crockery, wine glasses and the like, and an additional folding chair in the closet. I wasn't sure if there was a dishwasher. It sounds stupid, but there was a panel that might have concealed a dishwasher, but I couldn't figure out how to open it. There was dishwasher soap provided, which led me to wonder if there was one.

The room had a casual chair and an ottoman, and a not very comfortable task chair for the desk. There was wired internet access - you need to have an ethernet cable or borrow one from the desk.

The internet was kind of annoying. You had to renew every day. There is an option to buy better bandwidth, which I did not use. The access was pretty slow. I turned on sharing on my laptop so we could use phones and tablets in the room. The first week we were there the access was solid; the second week it was problematic, with almost no access at all several days. Everyone was complaining. One member of our party was unable to get on line at all, even with a cable. The bad internet cost one star from my review.

The bathroom was very nice, but they only gave us one small, cheap, flimsy towel per person. This was hardly adequate, even with the hair dryer provided. The towel was changed out one time in the two-week stay. Some of our group bought towels at Monoprix. Another problem was that the tub had no non-stick capability, and a grab bar in kind of an awkward location. A bit dangerous, in my opinion. The towel situation cost another star in my review.

The hotel provides breakfast in the morning. It's basically the same every day. They have some nice pastries - we had a mini-croissant and a mini-pain-au-chocolat daily, and sometimes a boiled egg, or cereal, or toast. All do-it-yourself. The coffee was made fresh by a machine, but there was often a line for the machine, and it was off to one side when it probably should have been more centrally located. The double expresso was my favorite.

We had no car and so had no experience with the garage.

The hotel is not far from the Cour Mirabeau and is an easy walk to town. A Casino supermarket is a few steps away.

We were on a package tour and so I can't comment on the value.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor, but on a cul-de-sac, which worked out. People who had rooms facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6796_dm, Deputy Manager at Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments.
First of all, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
We attach a great deal of importance to correcting any errors that occur, with a view to enhancing our quality standards and customer satisfaction levels, and your remarks regarding internet access have therefore been duly noted.
We shall make every effort to remedy these problems and ensure that your next stay with us proceeds smoothly.

Best regards,

Remi POL
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for four nights , and had requested a studio apartment with twin beds rather than a double, at the time of the booking itself. Since I wanted to make sure of this, I wrote an e mail through the website, and found it goes directly to the customer services centre of the Accor hotels group. There was no confirmation of the twin bed room in spite of repeated followup and this was very annoying, I therefore next went thru British Airways holidays though which I had booked the package, and the hotel themselves got back to me saying there is no twin bedded room available, but they will try. This was something I was not happy with as my request had been made well in advance, and I made the right noises in my response.

When we reached the hotel, we were upgraded to an apartment with a lounge with a sofa cum bed and a bedroom with a double bed. This was very nice, as we were two male friends travelling together. The apartment had a separate toilet and separate bathroom with shower and tub, and a full open plan kitchen with a large fridge, microwave, crockery cutlery electric hob etc. It was very well furnished and very clean. The biggest plus was the location, right in the heart of the old town, close to a huge supermarket and to the tourism office. Further, it was on a very quiet side street with zero noise , no traffic, a totally calm night every night. The check in was very easy and quick and the reception staff were always extremely helpful and pleasant.

The hotel also has a Laundromat if you wish to take care of your clothes, and offers a breakfast if you inform them the previous evening. There is free wifi , however the signal may not be good in all the rooms, in which case they give you an Ethernet cable, good if you have a laptop, not so useful if you have an iPad or an iPhone like I did,. but the signal in the room was excellent so we had no problems.

The hotel arranges excursions if you wish, we did not use this facility.

Remember there is no mineral water or coffee or tea in the room ,there is a kettle though. We missed the toaster.

The rooms are well lit, big French windows, a small balcony in every room with a table and chairs to sit out, a nice touch. The beds very comfortable, and the accessories generally of high order.

The only negative is that there is no sink in the separate toilet, therefore after using the toilet you would have to come to the bathroom to wash your hands....

In short, very good value for money, if you don't need a built in restaurant in the hotel. Buy food in the nearby Casino supermarket and stock up and cook if you so wish, the facilities are all there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RamjiRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6796_dm, Deputy manager at Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Customer,

The entire Adagio Aix staff team would like to join me in thanking you for your comment.
We were delighted to read that you appreciated the aparthotel concept.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to one of our aparthotels.
Best regards,

Rémi POL
Deputy manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Apartment/Hotel crossover property in a great, quiet, safe, area in Aix. Close to shopping and dining. Has mini-kitchen and a rather large refrigerator. shop at the daily market and enjoy supper on your private patio. Laundry facilities are nice as well. Underground parking is a plus. Close to supermarkets as well.

Room Tip: Ground floor has nice patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6796_dm, Deputy manager at Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Customer,

The entire Adagio staff team would like to join me in thanking you for your comments.
We do make sure we choose the best locations for our aparthotels and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in one of our Adagio aparthotels in Europe.

Looking forward to welcoming you.

Rémi POL
Deputy manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Booked the Adagio for a 5 week stay. Very nice and clean. Appliances are Electrolux and are wonderful. The personnel at the front desk very friendly and constantly helpful. The pillows leave a lot to be desired. I had an apartment with balcony overlooking the courtyard. I would recommend requesting overlooking the courtyard as that location is quieter than on the street. 2 blocks from Casino Supermarket - easy walking distance to Cours Mirabeau and all that Aix has to offer

Room Tip: Request balcony room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m1canine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have had some experience of apartment hotels before in Aix and elsewhere. We lived for two years in the Citadines in Aix (alas no longer there), and last year we stayed in the Citea. Both of which were much further out of the town. The standard of the Adagio is about average compared with similar properties we have stayed in. The décor is fine but not luxurious. Our general impression of the property was that it was reasonably well maintained.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

For those like me who can not do without internet access do not forget to take a network cable to use the Internet connection in the apartment. Wi-Fi is only available in the reception area for the moment.

I have to agree with the other reviewers about the underground parking. We had a rented Fiat Punto and we worried about getting it in and out of the garage. The access has three tight 90 degree bends!

We rented a one-bedroom apartment (without balcony) whose layout optimised the use of space. The apartment was large enough for two adults but would have been a squeeze for four people as two of them would have to sleep on a bed settee in the small main room. This room was also the kitchen and dining area. The bedroom was not much bigger than the firm bed (I have known worse in France). However, there was sufficient storage space in the form of two wardrobes (one in the bedroom and the other in the hall) and various shelves in odd corners.

The apparent was clean and reasonably well equipped i.e. bathroom towels, dish cloth, washing up liquid/tablets and enough plates, bowels, glasses, cutlery etc. There was a small dishwasher that dried the dishes better than our own at home, a combination microwave/grill, a four-hotplate hob, and a reasonably sized fridge with freezer compartment. Strangely, for France, there was no breadboard. However, there was a small but serviceable vacuum cleaner for picking up all those breadcrumbs generated by ripping the bread up at breakfast.

The bathroom was more than ample in size and was modern and clean. However we did not like having to walk through the kitchen to get from the toilet (located next to the door of the apartment), to the bathroom to wash our hands! This was an optimisation too far for us.

The location of the property is handy for the center of Aix. So you have the choice of eating out without worrying about driving, or, you can eat food bought in the many small food shops and markets in the town. Very close to the property there are also a number of bakers and a small supermarket. These come in handy especially on the first day, as there is no starter hamper of food with these apartments.

Overall all the one bedroom apartment was good value for a stay of one or two weeks but too small if you intend to stay for a long time.

Room Tip: If you are going is summer I would suggest trying to get one of the apartments with a balcony overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CumbrianFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

What promised to be a lovely hotel turned into a disappointment. The car park a nightmare to drive down if you don't have small/med car - don't know how we didn't damage the car! Despite stating they have air-conditioning the setting for heat/air/cold is controlled by the front desk and has to be the same hotel wide. A couple guests had complained they were cold so the hotel had turned the air-conditioning to heat. No fans available as they had already been given out because "it was hot". There was no wifi in the room - wifi was only available in the hotel reception/lobby.

The room very good and the shower/bathroom very spacious. Lots of storage space. Friendly reception.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank xLauzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#3 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#6 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#10 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre

Property: Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Address: 3 rue des Chartreux, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre is perfect for all types of stay and boasts a lovely setting in the city center, close to shopping streets and tourist attractions such as the Cours Mirabeau. This Aparthotel offers 89 comfortable apartments ranging from studios to 3-room accommodations, each with a fully-equipped kitchen, bathroom and living area, so guests can retain their independence. A car park is available as well as a range of services including free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Aix-En-Provence Centre Hotel Aix-En-Provence
Aix En Provence Adagio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing