We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and Aix.

The hotel's location was an easy walk to the city's historic center, shopping and restaurants.

By the end of the day, we were tired from exploring the city. We stopped at a pizza stand (Pizza Capri) in the old town and brought home two pizzas. The pizza was delicious (far cheaper and better than our meals at the touristy restaurants) and it was nice to have a "home" atmosphere for dinner. The following morning we purchased our breakfast at the bakery just around the corner and had another meal at our apartment. We not only had great meals but we saved a lot of money and enjoyed a home-like atmosphere.

I think our three year-old enjoyed our stay the most: he had his own bed and room (he slept in the living room in the fold out bed). I don't think we've ever had such an easy time in getting him to go to sleep.

The only word of caution is for the garage: it is clean, well lit and feels safe. But even in a Renault Megane it can be a tight squeeze. I am not just referring to the parking spots but driving in and out of the garage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    286
    57
    19
    13
See reviews for
211
219
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A missed train connection in Paris led to a late arrival into Aix TGV station, a half hour wait for a taxi, (price 36 Euro on a Sunday evening), with an arrival time at the hotel at 11.15pm . The front door was locked but with knocking we were able to attract the attention of the one person on reception duty, who let us in. He seemed somewhat surprised to see us, despite an earlier text informing them of our late arrival. We had prepaid.

It was cold when we arrived; possibly our room could have done with more heating. However things only got better. We were allocated a disabled ground floor studio apartment (number 21), which was large and spacious with very comfortable beds, a flat screen TV, and plenty of plug sockets and storage space.

The bathroom was great. We had a bath and shower with a clothes drier above the bath, a very useful heated towel rail with plenty of capacity and lots of storage space. Had the weather been warmer, the apartment had its own patio with table and chairs overlooking a large communal courtyard .

Kitchen facilities were excellent - a large fridge, microwave, two hot plates, kettle, dishwasher, plenty of cupboard space and sufficient cooking utensils, crockery, glasses and cutlery. A small point, but it was good to see washing up liquid provided together with a sponge, cloth and tea towel. There is a Casino supermarket 5 minutes walk away; so we were able to have some evening meals in.

As we stayed 6 nights, the apartment was not cleaned during our stay. However it was spotlessly clean on our arrival and adequate cleaning materials were supplied so this was not an issue. There are rubbish bins in the large basement car park for guests' use and reception happily replaced the towels after my son managed to flood the bathroom floor. The room also had an iron and ironing board; again very useful.

The hotel has a breakfast room. I appreciated being able to boil eggs to my requirements and there was a good and varied selection of cold food. A minor criticism is that they only brought out small quantities of food at any one time, which quickly went, so there could be a short wait for fresh supplies. At 10 Euros I would have appreciated fresh coffee rather than from a machine.

Daytime reception staff were very helpful. There is free internet access in the reception area for people like me who travel without a computer. My son would have liked WiFi in the room for his games console but it is a wired connection only.

The location is good; just on the edge of the city centre. The old town, Cours Mireabeau, the central station, (as opposed to the out of town TGV station), and bus station are within 10 to 15 minutes walk. The immediate surroundings are nothing special but the hotel is in a quiet location on a side street.

I could have gone by bus back to the TGV station, (price 3.80 Euros). However I decided to treat myself to a taxi again - on a Saturday morning this was cheaper at 32 Euros.

I would happily return to the Hotel Adagio on a future visit to Aix en Provence. I really appreciated having the large room and the self catering option. The hotel would also be good for extended stays.

Room Tip: I really liked my ground floor room (number 21), which was inward facing onto an internal courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bountycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not bang in the centre of all the historic must sees but it is VERY close and way better than the more central hotel we moved out of the previous day.
New clean quiet family room with lounge, well serviced kitchenette and two bedrooms. Great value.
Disappointed they did not have a European adapter to help with either my American or UK plugs (left mine in Avignon). Oh, and the entry to the car park reminded me of a recurring nightmare of mine. The drive in snaked so tight I got a headache by the time I made it through. Horrible. And i paid €10 for the experience. Park on the street if you can!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Large rooms with kitchen, which is nice if you want to stock the fridge for midnight snacks or early breakfasts. Good way to save money, especially on an extended business trip. There is cleaning service available at a fee for stays longer than 3-4 days, but I prefer to NOT have cleaning service, so I can leave my papers around, etc.

Convenient to the Casino market (less than 500 meters away) and the Cours Mirabeau.

On a quiet street, so no traffic or late-night partying noise.

Balconies on the rooms in back with a nice view of the town.

I give it four stars only because you sometimes hear chairs moving around through the floors and the TV remotes always seem to need batteries. They might consider installing sliders on chair legs. I am, however able to stand up and change channels.....

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor to avoid "chair noise." If travelling with young children, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of the city in walking distance from Cours Mirabeau. The hotel is modern and the rooms are spacious. We had a small kitchen in our studio. One can cook breakfast or dinner if you are on a budget. There is a Monoprix store on Cours Mirabeau and many small places around were you can by food. The apartment is spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious and modern. The hotel staff was pleasant and they helped us book a tour. I also recommend a visit to Cezanne studio.This hotel was a pleasant surprise and at an affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Horea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a great little hotel (or serviced apartments really). Thoughtfully designed, from the double door entrance for quietness, to the basin, equally elegant for brushing your teeth or perhaps a little washing? The apartment has absolutely everything you need for a great stay, and only a few minutes walk from the centre of the city. The woman at the desk was friendly, very helpful, well organised and courteous. As well as the rooms being very well equipped, there are laundry facilities off the foyer, which was very useful during an extended European holiday with kids and only carry-on 'capsule wardrobes'. Parking is available under the hotel, which was also very useful (corners are tight, yet we managed with a medium sized car).
After staying at gorgeous chateaus, historic houses and abbeys during our holiday, what it lacks in history and charm for the area, it makes up in convenience, affordability, cleanliness and considered simplicity.
I would happily stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisaW393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently refurbed and 'as new' - got a large ground floor room with our own courtyard!! Service was good but even tho as we were staying 5 nights we couldn't get our room cleaned unless we paid!!... had to ask for clean towels too... but the room was huge so was the bathroom and everything seem 'un-touched'. Good location only 5 mins walk from the centre of town.

Room Tip: As the for 'courtyard' - if on the ground floor be prepared to be 'right on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherF514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#3 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#6 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
1,023 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#10 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#9 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre

Property: Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Address: 3 rue des Chartreux, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre is perfect for all types of stay and boasts a lovely setting in the city center, close to shopping streets and tourist attractions such as the Cours Mirabeau. This Aparthotel offers 89 comfortable apartments ranging from studios to 3-room accommodations, each with a fully-equipped kitchen, bathroom and living area, so guests can retain their independence. A car park is available as well as a range of services including free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Aix-En-Provence Centre Hotel Aix-En-Provence
Aix En Provence Adagio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing