We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Three Days in Provence”

Discover Provence-Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 42 Tours in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our custom made small group(max 6 clients) tours are carefully designed for you to discover Provence at its best. We know Provence well and with our tour experience, knowledge, language skills and address book we can offer you a special insight into Provence. We will take you to wonderful locations in a comfotable vehicle explaining details of local history, culture and traditions. We are happy to design a tailor made tour for you or choose from 8 specially designed tours including a boat trip from Cassis to the beautiful calanques, wine tasting ,a visit to lavender fields,a walk around the Mont Victoire,visits to magical Roman and Medieval villages plus a Provençal cooking experience with an experienced French cook. We will take you to places off the beaten tourist track so that you can discover the real Provence.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Perfect Three Days in Provence”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I am not normally one to take tours and I debated long and hard about renting a car and driving around the Provence countryside (as they did in all of those books). Boy, am I glad that I ditched that idea!! I decided to go with Sarah and Discover Provence and take her three-day tour. She was wonderful at helping us arrange everything, keeping in touch to make sure that we arrived from Paris, and was wonderful at communicating. We had Sarah for two days and Janicke for one day. There is no way that I would have found half of the things in twice the amount of time by myself. Sarah and Janicke took us around (only 4 on tour which was fantastic) showed us where to eat locally, sometimes eating with us, and gave us good historical information. They are both passionate about what they do and that enthusiasm was apparent.
The only thing missing was the wine country and Avignon, as I lamented to Sarah. No problem she said. They work with Romain of Provence and Wine (see his tour) and he agreed to take three of us on a full day tour of the Chateauneuf du Pape wine region and Avignon. He even picked us up from our hotel in Aix and we spent the entire day with us. This was a wonderful surprise and I left Provence feeling that I had seen all of the major highlights that I wanted to see.
If you want a small tour (max 6), want to avoid the crowds, and want to see up close and personal the area with smart and knowledgable guides, then ditch the car, write Sarah, and hire her for as many days as you have. Let her perform her magic and sit back and relax and enjoy (and take tons of pictures).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tcoz1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    11
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful day in Provence.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I spent a day with Janicke visiting the Luberon hilltop villages. We have been in France for 4 weeks and booked a number of tours but this was by far the best. Janicke was a wonderful companion rather than just being a guide and her knowledge and passion for the area gave us a wonderful experience of what Provence has to offer. This has been our most rememberable day of our trip.
If you only do one thing in Provence then make sure you book a tour with Discover Provence - you will not be disappointed. I hope we have the opportunity to return to the region and another tour will be the first thing on our list.
Thank you Sarah for your suggestions on what tours we may like and Janicke for spending the day with us and sharing your passion for such a beautiful part of France.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Phenomenal set of "tours" arranged by Sarah/Discover Provence”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

First of all, there would be no way to adequately put into words how fantastic we thought both "experiences" we booked with Sarah truly were, and they were both totally different and thoroughly Provencal! The first was the cooking demonstration with Marie-Helene (and Sarah) in Marie-Helene's own kitchen and home. It was the perfect introduction for the two of us to not only Provencal cuisine,but even more importantly the Provencal home life and atmosphere. It was not the least bit intimidating, but rather we got to pitch in and help prepare dishes and learn about Provencal family customs and traditions in a very comfy and relaxed environment. Marie-Helene's home is beautiful and Sarah was spot-on with her facilitation of everything, from picking us up at the prearranged meeting place to enjoying the day with Marie-Helene with us and then getting us back to our drop-off spot without a single hiccup.

Our second tour was with Romain, for a guided tour of the Chateauneuf-du-Pape wine region. Again, this was more of an immersion in the vineyard/winery sensibility and history of the region and not in the least bit a stuffy or formal wine "tour" or "tasting". Romain picked us up at our rental home, and drove us to the region and back, so no concerns about driving! We toured an actual vineyard and got to learn about the soils and cultures and winemaking processes unique to the area, and then got to visit and taste at two perfectly diverse wineries; one a local, family owned smaller winery and the other a massive chateau-based operation, but each was a perfect example of the Chateauneuf-du-Pape winemaking style. Romain was an impeccable host for the afternoon, and wonderfully engaging, not only with us but with the winemakers as well. His knowledge and passion for the area shone through, and the time flew by!

We can't say enough good things about Sarah's attention to detail, both in advance of our tours and during the time we were in Provence. She also provided some completely unsolicited advice for certain restaurants, cafes, day markets and viewpoints, that all turned out to be exactly as described and very easy to follow, find and enjoy. We will look forward to our next opportunity to try some of the really exciting experiences with Discover Provence!

Peter and Liz Herreid
Bellevue, WA
USA

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“Our very own personal guide to exploring the spectacular delights of Provence.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My friend and I had limited time to explore Provence and did not want to drive in Europe. We were so glad to discover Sarah from 'Discover Provence' who designed a brilliant itinerary for our two days that exactly matched what we wanted to see. The first day was spent exploring the famous Van Gogh sites and the second day was spent visiting beautiful perched villages of the Luberon. Being a local, Sarah knew of little places, off the tourist trail, that we could visit in addition to the best of the most well known towns. We also visited markets and delicious little eateries. Having lived in France for over twenty years Sarah had extensive knowledge of the history and could explain all about the customs. In two days we saw more than we could have, and in such a relaxed friendly situation, than if we were driving ourselves. Our two days with Sarah were very special.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful guide to Provence”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Janneke worked with us for 3 days, and helped us "see" Provence through her eyes. We toured Arles, Aix, and Cassis. She blended history, culture, art and a great sense of humor. We felt like we were friends of her family, and she was showing us the land that she loved. Highly recommend their services!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank paesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Provence-Day Tours also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Discover Provence-Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing