We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Fabulous Tour"”

Discover Provence-Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 40 Tours in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our custom made small group(max 6 clients) tours are carefully designed for you to discover Provence at its best. We know Provence well and with our tour experience, knowledge, language skills and address book we can offer you a special insight into Provence. We will take you to wonderful locations in a comfotable vehicle explaining details of local history, culture and traditions. We are happy to design a tailor made tour for you or choose from 8 specially designed tours including a boat trip from Cassis to the beautiful calanques, wine tasting ,a visit to lavender fields,a walk around the Mont Victoire,visits to magical Roman and Medieval villages plus a Provençal cooking experience with an experienced French cook. We will take you to places off the beaten tourist track so that you can discover the real Provence.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Fabulous Tour"”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just recently returned from a short break in 'Aix-en-Provence" with 5 girlfriends. Sarah was a delight to have as a tour guide from meeting us at the airport to our two day private tour, it was great to have everything organised and planned for us. Day 1 was a Cassis a beautiful Port which included a lovely boat trip with stunning coves, followed by a road trip over the Cap Canaille the views were spectacular!! the next day we did the Luberon villages Cucuron was market day! that was fab followed by lunch in Lourmarin, my particular favourite, the little narrow streets with typical French shops could have spent all afternoon there. Sarah was full of local knowledge and great company, she recommened some great restaurants and places to see. Would highly recommend Sarah's Private tours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    11
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent tours to open the door to exploring this stunning area of France”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of experiencing Sarah Pernet's ('Discover Provence') excellent guiding services during a brief stay based in the lovely Aix en Provence. As well as taking our group of 5 ladies out for 2 day visits, Sarah removed all the stress of arriving at the airport laden with luggage by meeting us with her air conditioned car and whisking us door to door to our hotel! We spent our first afternoon in the coastal town of Cassis, which is stunning. Starting with a very good lunch in a restaurant recommended by Sarah we followed with a boat trip to the Calanques which are a spectacular sight. Our second day started with visiting the Val Joanis Winery where we enjoyed their beautiful gardens and an informative private wine tasting. The rest of the day passed extremely pleasantly visiting the villages of the Luberon. All were very attractive and interesting, the market in Cucuron was a delight as was lunch tucked away on the terrace of another recommended restaurant in Lourmarin. Spending our time under Sarah's care was a great idea - it meant that we got as much as we possibly could out of our visit, had the local history, geography and points of interest explained to us, ate in recommended eateries so we had great meals every time and enjoyed the advantages of Sarah's perfect French and charming company. I could not fault our experience and would recommend Sarah's custom tailored guided tours to anyone visiting this delightful part of France.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cassis and Aix-en-Provence tour”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Sarah met us at our cruise ship and gave us a lovely custom made tour. We visited the town of Cassis and took a boat trip to the 3 calaques - Port Miou, Port Pin & En Vau. Although the boat tour we took was in french, the scenery was beautiful. We continued to have lunch in the village of Cucuron in the southern Luberon hills. It was at lunch time and all the resteraunts were quite full, but Sarah finally found us a table. We ended up our day by taking a walking tour of Aix-en-Provence including the Quartier Mazarin, the Cours Mirabeau and the old town. We did feel that Sarah had a smaller vehicle for our group of 4 adults (2 older larger ladies, 1 tall teenager, and 1 regular size adult). I would suggest you request a van if you are a group of 4 or larger. Overall it was still a nice tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynnevanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Great Tour!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I were traveling with our two boys (12 and 9) and really only had one full day to tour Provence. We are so glad we found Sarah via Tripadvisor. After learning where we were staying (nearer to Arles than Aix-en-Provence), Sarah suggested some adjustments to the itinerary which minimized our time in the car and made the day far more enjoyable. She really gave us a great feel for the Region, stopping at the ruins of a Roman village, a winery, and an olive oil mill which were not on the original itinerary. She was knowledgeable of the Region and had the tour planned out very nicely. Most impressive, she kept my kids interested for the entire day! My only regret is that we did not have more time to spend. We definitely plan to return to Provence and would not hesitate to reach out to Sarah again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Day to Remember”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent a wonderful day in early July with Sarah Pernet on her Discover Provence Luberon Village full day tour.
We only had 2 days in Aix en Provence and wanted to see the hill villages of Luberon and we were not disappointed. They are spectacular and well worth the visit. The lavender fields we visited on our tour were in full bloom and smelled and looked wonderful.
Sarah is a very friendly, passionate about Provence and knows the Luberon region. It was an extremely hot day and she came prepared with the lots of cold water. The vehicle was comfortable and she is a very good driver and it was a pleasure to sit back and be driven around. Better than trying to drive yourself around getting lost, you just sit back and relax and enjoy the experience.
It was one of the highlights of our 6 week tour of France. A day to remember.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KRISTINE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Provence-Day Tours also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Discover Provence-Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing